We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great people”
Review of Barra Guest Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barra Guest Hostel
Ranked #24 of 154 Salvador B&B and Inns
Argentina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, great people”
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Highly recommended! Great hostel, great safe location. The English speaking staff will give you all the information you need to enjoy Salvador and its surroundings. Nice breakfast with fresh fruits and juices! They make your bed every day and give you free towels! It´s a good place to meet other travellers as well. I enjoyed my stay and felt like being in someone´s home. I know I will be staying here again and will recommend it to others as well.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelArgentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    27
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
24
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2010

I came to this hostel after reading the reviews about it. It sounded like a good place to stay, but i did not expect it to be that good!
The owner and the staff are super nice, helpfull, make you feel right at home, every problem was immediately attended to, and the best - excellent Caipenha, and for free :-)

Recommended. absolutely.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ittayke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We stayed at Barra for 2 nights prior to Carnaval, plus the first night of festivities. (Just watching the preparations in the streets was quite an event.) Russel and his staff provided great advice regarding camarate (boxes for viewing the parade) for a safe, fun-filled viewpoint very close to the hostel, as part of a group of other Barra guests. We are 60+ and had booked a private double room, which was absolutely perfect for our needs. But I can't really evaluate the dorm rooms. Everyone we met in the lobby and breakfast room seemed quite satisfied with their accommodations. Carnaval rates skyrocket in Salvador, but averaged with our first 2 nights brought the price to within budget. The location is great too -- beach, restaurants, bars and a shopping center all nearby.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Barra Guest Hostel was excellent and very secure. Russell was very helpful and informative, making sure we understood where the safe and not so safe areas are in the city centre. Our room was really comfortable, with good airconditioning. The breakfast was great, with fresh juices, eggs and cakes, and the pancakes were particularly delicious. Like the previous reviewer, we had also requested a transfer, but in our case this worked out really well with no problems. In fact the driver even helped us sort out some lost luggage. Yes the driving is a little frightening, but that seems to be the way it is in Salvador.
The free caipirinhas nightly were really good and a great way to meet other people in the hostel. We met some lovely people and even caught up with one of the guys later in Rio a few weeks later.
The free internet (and wifi) was really helpful and a lot quicker than in other places we stayed in Brazil. Many places don´t even have internet services!
I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz2010Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

we chose this guesthouse because of all the good reviews on tripadvisor...when we reserved a room by phone we were aks if we would like transport from the airport to the hostel ,but when we arrived on the airport there was no transport waiting.after calling 6 times to the hostel there was a transport coming to pick us up.this was the worst ride of our live!!the driver drove like an idiot and we had to stop for almost 1 hour on the highway in the middele of the night because the engine was overheated.when we told this to the owner ,Russel , he told us this was not his problem and we had to fix it ourselves.
the hostel itself was ok..2 computers for free use but very slow and old and a tv.The owner ,Russel,is a big joke!he told us first we could stay 5 nights but suddenly after 2 nights he told us that we had to leave the next day because there was no space...very strange!he taks a lot but nothing is happening...
the breakfast is very poor and the rooms are not cleaned very well.there was no door in the shower and we only had almost boiling water..very very hot.sometimes we even had electric shocks.the free caipirinha everyday is also very disqusting and very sour!
we would not recommend this to anybody and we dont understand why this is on number 1!!??go somewhere else!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank desmaale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Excellent location, good neighbourhood, nice restaurants very close to the hostel. The owner, Russell, is a very cool person and also all the hostel's staff. Monday nights they made a nice bbq and the guest go together to Pelourinho...is a nice experience. Nice rooms with private bathroom with hot water. Big lockers and a free caipirinha every night.

Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank BelkisA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Russel makes sure that you are save in Salvador, but he also uses clever tricks to get his guests to connect together, like free caipirinhas at 19:00. The Hostel is super clean nice and quite and the breakfast is marvelous. I made the best friends there, swam naked in the sea at night and took advantage of Russel and his staffs trip advises to explore the surroundings of Salvador. I stayed there twice and I will go back there.
P.S. don't forget to eat Mukeka mmmmh delish

Axé Luciano

Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Luciano-ABADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Othon Palace
Bahia Othon Palace
#29 of 111 in Salvador
2,409 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sotero Hotel
Sotero Hotel
#4 of 111 in Salvador
542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Petunia Pousada Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
To em Casa Hostel
To em Casa Hostel
#8 of 299 in Salvador
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bahia Prime Hostel
Bahia Prime Hostel
#4 of 299 in Salvador
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pousada Estrela do Mar
Pousada Estrela do Mar
#9 of 154 in Salvador
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barra Guest Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barra Guest Hostel

Property: Barra Guest Hostel
Address: Rua Recife 234, Salvador, State of Bahia 40140-330, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This FIRST and ORIGINAL Chill Out HoStel in Salvador da Bahia is perfectly located between the two Barra beaches.We're not at the Sea Front!! A short walk though!! so no buses and cars disturbing your sleep.We Don't have an artificial pool but you can enjoy a warm NATURAL pool made by Mother Nature having cute little fish as your company.Grab our umbrellas and chairs and feel like a local.Staying here you won't feel like a tourist but as a traveller sharing the day by day of the local's routine,getting familiar to the bahianian way of life.On a charming residential street famous for trendy bars, restaurants and nightlife you have everything you need in a walk distance.Shopping Barra has been refurbished and the best ice cream of Salvador is just around the corner!! Comfort :Metal beds that have large safe stairs to access the upper bunk.A large secure locker that will hold all your baggage is located under your bed.Each room is climate controlled with modern silent split air-conditioning + fans and have private bathrooms in your room. LocationLocated in a safe and charming district of Salvador (Barra) you will find Barra Guest Hostel. Nestled in a quaint tree lined residential street right next to one of Salvador's most fashionable squares Jardim Brasil which boasts some of the best restaurants and music bars in the area. A five minute stroll from the HoStel and you will find yourself on the beautiful Porto da Barra beach with its own Naval fort or the Farol da Barra beach beneath its ancient Light House (First Light House in South America) where you can play in the warm Atlantic surf. Access to the old Historical City of Pelourinho is 10 min by taxi or 15 min bus ride awayYour comfort and safety is the most important thing for usWe are fluent in English, Portuguese, Spanish and German.Accommodation:All rooms have air conditioning and are en suitePlease note payment by cash on arrivalWe do not accept credi/debit cards or checksIf your arrival time is after 22:00 you must produce a hard copy of your booking confirmation before you will be permitted onto the premises.Other Hostel FacilitiesA large fully fitted + equipped guest kitchen with microwave, cooker, fridge and storage space. The HoStel is spacious and has several relaxed social areas both inside and out. We have preserved the colonial style of this old property with its high ceilings and large rooms so you will never feel like you are cramped. Spacious lounge, outside area for chill out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Barra Guest Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barra Guest Hostel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing