We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in Salvador”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zank by Toque Hotel
Ranked #29 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Those who seek a more intimate hotel in Salvador have at Zank a good option. Although it charges a high a mount of money for brazilian, and let's say most part of the world it has its worth. For almost $250 per night, small amenities, as a ipod/iphone music at each room or a bigger flat screen tv are essencial. The staff are gentle and friendly. Breakfast is also good. Everything is nice but we can't say it is a cozy place to stay. We arrived friday afternoon and were given a nice room. Only at checkout they told us each room were diferrent and there were other 2 that had better views that ours. As the Hotel was barely empty, we asked why they did not offer us. Overal is a nice hotel in a a nice city.

Room Tip: We stayed at the 16, which is a nice one, very modern. The staff says, the 19 and 20 are the best. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RHKRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

The hotel is modern, nice, functional. However, the rooms do not have balconies, Plus for some of them there is no privacy unless you draw the curtains which defeats the purpose of having a view... The pool is nice but small. However the view of the sea in the distance from up there is really nice. The breakfast is OK, nothing too special. Dinner is fine but do not expect a romantic dining room... it is a modern, rather cold dining room with no view of the sea or of the outdoors... The hotel is in a residential area on a very steep street. There is nothing around it that one can reach on foot like a decent restaurant, a nice bar, a shopping place. No complimentary bottled water in the room. The public areas are very small and there is no private corner, unless one lucks out to go to the upper floor with the pool and no one else is around. In my opinion a bit overrated, especially for romance and privacy.

Room Tip: For privacy ask for rooms on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mnogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

the hotel is located in a high residential area with a breath-taking views overlooking the ocean. old renovated and modernized Portuguese style house

the hotel is nicely decorated, has a very nice pool on the roof facing the ocean.. nice spa room and nice restaurant.

the service is excellent. the staff do their best to please guest, and for sure very friendly. i have to thank the staff for the efforts they made to prepare a very special dinner that meets my requirements, and they had to make lots of changes and move chairs and tables to do the setup i asked for.

the food is very nice as well.

Room Tip: for sure a room facing the ocean will be the best. make sure that the AC in your is working proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayrouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

this a very nice hotel - small but smart - peoples are lovely ans are prepare to help you .
breakfast is excellent , please try the diner .
we trecommend this adress however the hotel is not located in the center of the city but anyway

Room Tip: ask the room nbr 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jose g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We have been there for 3 nights in October 2011.
Never on our trip through Brasil we had such a noiseless aircon, never we had so friendly people, as in this hotel.
The hotel has a jacuzzi and a small pool on its roof overlooking the coastline.
It is really a charming place to stay in Salvador da Bahia.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank powersensi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

As stated in a previous review, this is a nice hotel. However, like most things in Brazil, it is way overpriced for what you get.

The rooms are a good size, but lack balconies. Also, no complementary water is supplied in rooms - c'mon guys. The pool areas is small and holds only four loungers, potentially this hotel could have over 20 guests. Tiny pool a little dirty. Free internet was good when it worked - annoying as this was needed for my work. Construction work was going on - bang, bang, bang. Location is not great, at the top of two very steep hills, quite a way from the restaurants and bars of Rio Vermelho - and not a great place to walk at night.

Breakfast was very good, with a nice selection of local cakes and dishes. Most staff on the desk were friendly and helpful. Service in general was good.

Take 30-40% off the price of this hotel and it would be spot-on. As it stands, the 'value for money' aspect would prevent us from recommending or returning.

Room Tip: Can see no real difference between the standard and higher tier rooms, other then they cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank stuayoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

The hotel is as stated and we had no disappointing issues other then pool was not functioning because of shocking pool to help clean it. The restaurant for dinning was a very nice unexpected surprise and the tenderloin was great. Rooms a well kept and staff is
friendly and helpful. Area is not safe at night and use your common sense and never wear jewelry. We had fun and recharged very nicely here.

Room Tip: Old section have bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EnjoyEveryday155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
3.2 mi away
Aram Yami Hotel
Aram Yami Hotel
#3 of 111 in Salvador
566 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fera Palace Hotel
Fera Palace Hotel
#19 of 111 in Salvador
203 reviews
3 mi away
Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho
2.8 mi away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#1 of 111 in Salvador
1,134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Bahia Lodge
Pestana Bahia Lodge
#60 of 111 in Salvador
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zank by Toque Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zank by Toque Hotel

Address: Rua Almirante Barroso 161 | Rio Vermelho, Salvador, State of Bahia 41950-350, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Salvador
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#18 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: £95 - £518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zank by Toque Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In harmony with the Brazilian way of life, elegance and sophistication, the Zank Boutique offers a personalized and exclusive service. Its indoor design reflects the Brazilian atmosphere, with furniture and objects made by Brazilian designers, sourced from the best antiquarians and studios. For these reasons, besides its perfect location and ocean view, Zank Boutique Hotel has its own identity and an irresistible charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Zank by Toque Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zank By Toque Hotel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing