We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the "hood"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Studio do Carmo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #42 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This hotel was in a perfect place to enjoy the food, history and music of historical Salvador. Just up the hill from the Pelourino, walking the old city was very easy.
Add to that the excellent room (#5), and a very accommodating staff, and it was a great stay. Breakfast is in the lower garden, and was made fresh daily. And, it was available earlier than normal, by prior arrangement, when we had a reason to go out before the normal hour!
Our room was very large and sunny. The kingsize bed was very good. The bathroom modern. The fridge stocked with the basics. And, a working coffee maker. There was even a bottle of champagne (with a price attached).
A prefect place from which to visit Salvador.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ces032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of August (room 2 we think). Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean, colourful and whilst simply furnished did have rustic charm. The small kitchenette had a fridge and we were able to make fresh coffee as and when. We enjoyed the breakfasts and thought for a small establishment offered good variety - the cake was delicious and fresh.

The room safe was tiny and built into the wall! We did manage to squeeze what 'valuables' we had but for instance you wouldn't have got an Ipad in it. The only downside was the lack of hot water - it was luke warm at best!

Good location only a few minutes walk from the main part of the Pelourinho, the reception is manned 24 hours and the staff spoke english and outlined which streets were safe to walk along at night and we didn't deviate from the advice given.

Don't expect a lie-in - the locals rise early as do their firecrackers!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fromleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 for 3 nights.
Quaint, small boutique hotel in a great location in historic Pelourinho. The rooms were decorated with local art which was available for sale. Colors were very vibrant and the wooden floors were beautiful. Rooms were spotless, beds were comfortable. Although the rooms are air conditioned, we slept with the fan on and windows opened. Soaps and shampoo were provided.
Very friendly and helpful staff. We were situated on an upper floor and it was quite a challenge to get our bags upstairs with no elevator. However, they will take them up for you but you still have a lot of stairs to climb coming and going.
Free WiFi in your room.
Great complimentary breakfast each morning....Fresh rolls, ham, cheese, bread, variety of juices, fresh fruit, coffee, tea. More than enough even for a fussy eater.
Francesca and Joanice were both extremely helpful with recommendations on where to eat, what to do and what not to do while visiting. We do not speak Portuguese however both Francesca and Joanice spoke English which was great for us.
Francesca recommended a restaurant "Maria Mata Mouro" which was a short walk away. We loved the food, ordered a local speciality "Moqueca" (fish stew) which you should definitely try if you are there. Staff were great, more than enough food and great atmosphere.
Arrived on St Jean Baptiste Day and there was a huge street party nearby which was packed but at no time did we feel uncomfortable or unsafe.
On Tuesday nights, there is a free concert directly across the street on the church steps which you should attend. Music was great and everyone is dancing and having a great time.
Salvador is a very special place to visit. The Studio do Carmo hotel is a gem and we would definitely stay here again!!
Thanks again to Francesca and Joanice for making our stay in Salvador such a great experience!!
Dar and Ian
Nova Scotia Canada

Room Tip: If you are older, perhaps ask for a room on a lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Nice and centrally located hotel in an old building in pelourinho. My room had nice old wooden floor and three beautiful tall windows facing a baroque church, in front of which there are concerts every Tuesday night. As i was staying there exactly on Tuesday night i could listen to an excellent concert and watch the whole city dance right in front of my windows, all from the comfort of my bed (tried going outside but, as often in salvador, a teenager started bugging me for food, following me everywhere i went, so i retreated back to the hotel and had great fun while staying safe). The only complaint was a funny smell in the room, perhaps due to some humidity in the walls. Overall, great place for those who prefer characteristic places to standard hotels and can live with small imperfections due to the age of the building.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonila2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We loved this hotel which was beautifully decorated with lovely large rooms. We stayed twice so experienced two different rooms. Both were fine. Breakfast was great and served on a small open room at the back. The location is fantastic, just minutes from the main Pelourinho square. We were there during Sao Jao and although there was a lot of live music in the area, the hotel was not too noisy. Francesca and other staff were really helpful with lots of advice about where to go in Salvador. We had a great time.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ajl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My partner and I stayed at Studio do Carmo for 2 nights- we wanted to experience Salvador before heading over to the beautiful island of Morro Do Sau Paulo. We were able to experience the festivals first hand as it was just a short walk down to the main stage. The market was within walking distance and great places to eat and shop along the way. We enjoyed our stay so much that we returned for a night after our trip to Morro.
We wanted to experience a candomble (highly recommended) so that was arranged. Along with a shuttle to the boat and then one to the airport. Actually, Francesca (the owner) personally shuttled us to the airport!
Since we stayed two different times we were able to experience two rooms. They were both spacious and nicely decorated. Our fridge was always stocked and the showers were nice and warm. They both faced the front of the street with an amazing view of the church and street below. It does get a bit noisy if there are festivals going on- but that was part of the experience we loved!
The 1st room did not have american outlets- at least we didn't see any. So we went without plugging our electronics in. However, the second room did have the american outlets. So, if you are in need of that you might want to specify.
The breakfast is served on a patio on the backside of the hotel. Delicious fruits, breads, cheeses, meats and eggs. The bee's were out but one of the staff members literally stood there and swatted them away from us and the other guest as we ate.
Most of the staff spoke English- except the night staff but hand motions and a phrasebook got us what we needed!

All in all- it was a great place to stay with a friendly staff. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kendall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

we stayed here for 5 nights. Everything was great. The room was big and nice. The staff were very kind and the breakfast was tasty.The decoration is wonderfull. Perhaps the only problem was the noice, although our room was at the back. I mean the noice that come from the street, but if you want to stay at the heart of Pelourinho, you have to deal with it !!

Por si alguien no entiende ingles: estuvimos hospedados por 5 noches. todo fue de maravilla. la habitacion, grande , limpia y bien decorada. Todo el personal super amable y servicial. El desayuno, qye ya no se sirve en la habitacion, muy bueno. Si tienen el sueño ligero, tengan en cuenta que el ruido puede ser un problema. Pero si quieren estar en el corazon de Pelourinho..es inevitable !!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maecel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Pousada Colonial
#47 of 110 in Salvador
223 reviews
Pousada Villa Carmo
#82 of 110 in Salvador
53 reviews
Santo Antonio
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
#21 of 110 in Salvador
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada da Mangueira
#40 of 110 in Salvador
256 reviews
Solar do Carmo
#65 of 110 in Salvador
193 reviews
A Casa das Portas Velhas
#16 of 110 in Salvador
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio do Carmo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio do Carmo Boutique Hotel

Address: Ladeira do Carmo 17 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-410, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: £33 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Studio do Carmo Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Studio do Carmo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio Do Carmo Salvador
Studio Do Carmo Hotel
Studio Do Carmo Boutique Hotel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing