We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great design, service below expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Trancoso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Best thing first: the design and feeling of the resort is absolutely outstanding. Having travelled a lot it's fair to say this is a truly unique and really nice location (see pictures). Don't be fooled: the hotel is at the quadrado and has a separate beach club (=bar and sun beds) at the beach, approximately 15 minutes by foot. In terms of beach club, we prefer the Etnia Club de Mare beach club, which is much more private and offers umbrellas for some shade! We also had dinner in the hotel and the food was also very good. My wife had a massage, which she also liked very much. What we didn't like was the attitude of the staff (reception, pool, restaurant and beach club). Given this is a very high price hotel for Brazilian standards (starting at BRL 1,100 per room / night PLUS 10% service charge), the service was way too relaxed and we oftentimes had the impression that we were served by "buddies" or "surfer dudes". While we appreciate a relaxed atmosphere when we are on vacation, we also expect a certain level of professionalism when paying prices like this. Nevertheless, if you like design, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Gloria is excellent (see pictures)
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank senator_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

This hotel was recommeded to us by our travel agent and it didn't disappoint. Upon arrival we were a bit nervous since it doesn't look like much from the outside, but once inside it was so beautiful. We absolutely loved this hotel and the staff here. We will be back for a week for sure. They also gave us a gift upon departure which was very sweet and memorable.

Pros:
Amazing staff! From the servers to the managers everyone is super helpful and friendly
Rooms - We stayed in estudio which was great. Located just steps from the pool on the lower level. We loved the indoor/outdoor aspects to the room. We were a bit nervous when Johnny said to leave the key in the door if we wanted service, but we didn't have any issues.
Pool - Stunning! We ended up poolside in the late afternoon for an hour or so which was nice to unwind from the day at the beach.
Beach - Loved that they reserved the front loung beds for guests of the hotel only. The guys at the beach were great. Food and drinks were outstanding! Note, it's about a 5-10 min walk to the beach from the hotel. The way home is it a bit uphill so save some energy.
Food / Drinks - Not a bad meal at this place. We loved it so much the first night we didnt bother eating anywhere else in town. We met some other guests who had tried local restaurants and said that Uxua was their favorite.
Quad: Great for hanging about at night, people watching, has local convenience stores, etc. Very quaint area that we really enjoyed.

Cons:
We didn't stay long enough!

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all beautiful
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holly620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Somehow its hard to believe this place exists. Its ages since a hotel really surprised me and made my heart jump, and I still catch myself smiling at memories of this stay

So many details, everything authentic, local, organic, and inserted perfectly into a tropical environment. I just never got tired of absorbing the beauty of this place and Trancoso

And while uxua was clearly created by a designer with a very sophisticated eye, there’s none of the pretension of a design hotel. Actually its one of the friendliest places I’ve been in the last years. The staff has loads of personality, very Bahian, engaging and warm and seemingly thrilled to be hosting you. They have a perfect balance of discretion mixed with curiosity to meet and chat and share their enthusiasm for life in Trancoso. Against my lazy nature I actually took a few classes of capoeira, convinced by uxua’s barman to try it. And he was totally right, I loved it

And while there was all the spa services and pampering we love, everything was delivered in relaxed and creative ways, making me feel like I wasn’t in a hotel at all. That’s what really stood out. This is one of the world’s great hotels, but can fool you into thinking you’re at the home of a friend

Just outstanding. We’ll be back with family in November, happy to share the discovery

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRIPPINGTASTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

There are about 50 employees to serve 11 suites that may house about 30 guests. We didn't meet all of the employees, but we were treated royally from the owner, Wilbert Das, to countless others: Marisio (GM), Carlos and Johnny (Concierge), Rafa and Hugo (sp?) (serving breakfast). We experienced two clear situations when the staff went above and beyond to help us out. The resort is not ON the beach. It is a 10-15 minute walk down that you have to go back UP to return. But, the beach is beautiful. UXUA maintains its own bar, lounges, and facilities on the beach. The "Quadrado" (the equivalent of a rectangle one block by three blocks) on which UXUA is located is peaceful with people dining outdoors each evening and a few horses lazily grazing. At one end is a white-washed church and at the other are daily markets for selling crafts. The UXUA suites were created with natural products with great imagination and no shortage of forethought. When you walk into UXUA you are surrounded by nature. Our "Tree House" suite was unparalleled in rustic luxury. A two bedroom suite we share with friends was equally well decorated in every detail and antique selection.

Room Tip: One night-Tree House 2nd & 3rd nights shared with friends-Two Bedroom Suite [Eugenia] Preferen...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rms11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at Uxua the 3rd week in November and I have to say it was one of (if not the most) incredible places we ever stayed. After a nightmare domestic flight experience involving extra flights and an additional half day of travel time, we arrived after dark and were greeted by Carlos-his enthusiasiasm and warmth immediately vanquished all stress as he showed us to our beautiful candlelit casa on the Quadrado. I actually had a tinge of sadness once we arrived and saw how amazingly perfect everything was because I knew we would have to leave!:) Our week was spent doing more activities than we normally do (horseback riding, a capoeira lesson, kayaking, cooking with Bernardo...), but we could not have felt more relaxed. Trancoso is a gorgeous, special place and Uxua embodies that beauty and uniqueness in an organic and respectful way. I could (but won't) spend days writing about all of the fantastic things about Uxua. The spectacular design and feel of Uxua are incredible, but, for us, the staff are really what made this place exceed our (high) expectations-they could not have been more pleasant, helpful and hospitable, always happy to make sure that we had everything we could possibly want or need and eager to share their love of Trancoso with personal recommendations for music, food and activities. The open and friendly tone that the owner has set for Uxua is reflected in his staff and he clearly leads by example-during a chat with the owner when we expressed our interest in construction, architecture and renovation, he offered to show us an almost completed (and AMAZING) casa with a rooftop deck that he designed using ceramics from local artisans. The casual tour just reinforced the laid back and friendly atmosphere of the entire place-I didn't feel like a guest at a resort (a word that I actually hate because it sounds so contrived)-I felt like a guest at the home of a friend of a friend of a friend (who has an amazing place and who wanted to ensure that we wanted for nothing)....although you do have to pay for it:) As to the food, we ate at a lot of good places in Trancoso, but Uxua was my favorite food by far. Normally, I do not revisit places frequently-there are just too many places to go, but all I can think of is how to get back to Trancoso and Uxua!

Room Tip: Stay in a casa on the Quadrado, especially if it is your first time in Trancoso-you won't regret...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We (myself, wife and our 7 year old daughter) stayed at Uxua for 5 nights in July 2013. Everything about Uxua is stunning. The location on the Quadrado is perfect since there are heaps of bars, cafes, restaurants and shops close by. The walk to the beach is a quick 10 or 15 mins where they have reserved seating for Uxua guests. The bar at the beach is wonderful as well. All in all Uxua is amazing on every level. Go there and you'll never want to leave! The saddest part of our trip to Brazil was leaving Uxua. We can't wait to go back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sri2346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

If you stay in Trancoso, stay here. Great location, beautiful bungalows/rooms. Carlos the concierge was brilliant. Breakfast was a feast and the restaurant first class.

Uxua was soooo relaxing and was one of the highlights of our trip to Brazil. It's a little pricey but go off-peak and it's so worth paying extra for this taste of luxury!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KiltedHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trancoso hotels
0.9 mi away
Villas de Trancoso Hotel
Villas de Trancoso Hotel
#1 of 13 in Trancoso
386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Estrela D'Agua
Estrela D'Agua
#2 of 13 in Trancoso
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Etnia Pousada & Boutique
Etnia Pousada & Boutique
#7 of 13 in Trancoso
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aldeia do Sol
Aldeia do Sol
#10 of 13 in Trancoso
181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casas da Vila
Casas da Vila
#12 of 13 in Trancoso
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada Tutabel
Pousada Tutabel
#9 of 13 in Trancoso
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa

Address: Acesso ao Quadrado, Porto Seguro, State of Bahia 45810-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Porto Seguro > Trancoso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Trancoso
#4 Spa Hotel in Trancoso
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Trancoso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Trancoso
#4 Family Hotel in Trancoso
Price Range: £455 - £1,216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa Trancoso, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing