We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Beach Vacation EVER!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas de Trancoso Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas de Trancoso Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Trancoso
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Beach Vacation EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

My family and I recently had the incomparable pleasure of staying ten days at this glorious resort. After similar vacations to Mexico, the Dominican Republic, Mediterranean Europe, Hawaii, and the Caribbean, I can say this was the most beautiful beach we have ever seen. Never were there more than 20 people per square mile, the beach and the ocean were pristine, the waves were ideal for tame body surfing, there were no jellyfish or other nasty aquatic life, and you could walk for two miles in either direction in complete safety. The room we had was nicely appointed, with excellent maid service, showers, and air conditioning. Dining was superb, and the staff was exceptionally friendly. We even got to meet Galen - the owner, who was as friendly, helpful, and down-to-earth as they come.
I would not hesitate to endorse this resort and its surroundings, particularly the nearby charming town of Trancoso, with its wonderful dining.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doctorjMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    32
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
130
174
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed at the Villas as the beach part of our South American honeymoon. After weeks of cities and travelling, this was the most idyllic place to relax. Amazing gardens, pool area and food. We often found we had the pool to ourselves and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Trancoso itself is not far and stunning with some nice restaurants. If you can bear to leave the incredible Villas that is! One of the best.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissywa84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethersden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

Booked Villas de Trancoso through Exsus, a travel company which was recommended to us by a friend - certainly the staff at Exsus were very knowledgable on travel options in South America and they got it absolutely right recommending this hotel. This is the kind of hotel which you always hope to find: intimate, relaxed and full of personality with lovely rooms, delightful staff (nothing was ever too much trouble), fantastic food and a wonderful beach. Would definitely return! Now we are very much looking forward to our next holiday with Exsus - a trip to Colombia in February 2013.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Looking to escape the crazy city life for a few days, I decided to book a quick trip to beautiful Trancoso, Brasil. I called (last minute) to Villas de Trancoso to see if I could get lucky a find an available room. I was happy to hear they has just completed a new expansion project, and added 4 new suites and an additional villa! I booked the new 2 bedroom "Villa Boa Vida" to stay with my Mom and Dad. Beautiful!! 2 big bedrooms both with full bathrooms, a giant living room, big flat screen TVs in 3 rooms, and an patio porch with a huge sofa chill area, looking out to gorgeous landscaped area as well as a small swimming pool. The villa was a 2 minute walk to the restaurant pool area, and of course next to the ocean beach bar area. WELL DONE VILLAS DE TRANCOSO!!

Room Tip: They have many rooms, suites, villas and even a spectacular house on the golf course as lodging opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

The articles describing the beaches at Trancoso as among the best in the world and the Villas as THE place to stay there, do not exaggerate. My husband and I stayed there after a business conference in Sao Paolo and were completely and totally thrilled by the experience. The gardens, plantings, design of the buildings, artwork, linens, and furniture are elegant and beautiful. The pool is smaller than I'd estimated from the photos (too short for laps) but it didn't really matter because we spent most of our time at the beach and in the ocean. The water was perfect--cool enough to refresh but warm enough to stay in, no rocks to make it tough to walk or jellyfish to deter you from swimming as far as you'd like. The beach cabanas and furniture were comfortable and provided plenty of shade. There was usually a cooling breeze and plenty of refreshments at hand served by the friendly and gracious staff.

We rode horses down the beach one morning and went into the very nice (and safe) little town two evenings but mostly stayed at the Villas. The food was fantastic and the only problem with the breakfast buffet was there were so many wonderful options, we didn't have room to try everything. The staff arranged special meals with Bahia delicacies one day and Feijoada another, which we wanted to try but couldn't obtain when we were in Sao Paolo.

We do not speak Portuguese so it was a little tricky at times though the staff was very sweet and good-natured about trying to figure out what we meant. Maria and Erica were great about translating and helping us sort out our requests and making special arrangements and recommending restaurants in town.

We ended up with one of the smaller suites because it was the only type of accommodation available on bookings.com. In fact, to stay in one of the villas requires contacting the hotel directly. That said, our room was lovely, well-appointed and designed for the tropical environment. Louvered shutters were opened in morning when the room was cleaned to allow the breeze to go through, then the turn down service closed them in the late afternoon and turned on the AC and released the mosquito netting around the bed. Given all the great places to hang out on the beach, around the pools, in the hammocks, or at the garden restaurant, we found we didn't miss having our own sitting area beyond the private patio.

We hope we have the opportunity to return.

Room Tip: The Villas are quite lovely. If you think you will be spending all your time on the beach, then one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uberlandia, MG
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Every year our family enjoys a vacation together. We chose picturesque places around the world. The past four times we spent our vacations in Europe and the States. We can say without any doubt that of all the places we stayed, Villas de Trancoso is the overall nicest place we visited.
Nature blessed this place but a skilled entrepreneurial hand transformed it into a paradise of leisure and rest.
The partnership of an American, Galen and baianos worked very well. All the employees provided us with excellent high quality service. To all of them and management we give our most heartfelt thanks for the kind and tender way we have been treated. One thing is for sure: WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMILIA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

The property, the staff, the beach, the food, the restaurant ... All sensational. Spent four lovely days with my wife and our 16 month old daughter. Couldn't have hoped for a better time. My family loved it and we hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: Get the Sky Villa. It's truly amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMGC_JMGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trancoso
1.8 mi away
Aldeia do Sol
Aldeia do Sol
#9 of 12 in Trancoso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estrela D'Agua
Estrela D'Agua
#2 of 12 in Trancoso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.9 mi away
UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa
UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Trancoso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Pousada Coqueiros
Pousada Coqueiros
#1 of 20 in Arraial d'Ajuda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pousada Samambaia
Pousada Samambaia
#6 of 12 in Trancoso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
16.4 mi away
Resort La Torre
Resort La Torre
#5 of 93 in Porto Seguro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas de Trancoso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Trancoso Hotel

Property: Villas de Trancoso Hotel
Address: Estrada Arraial D_Ajuda/Trancoso 192 | Km 23,5, Porto Seguro, State of Bahia 45818-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Porto Seguro > Trancoso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Trancoso
#1 Spa Hotel in Trancoso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Trancoso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trancoso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Trancoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villas de Trancoso Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful beaches in Brazil and just 1.5 kilometers from the historic "Quadrado" of Trancoso you will find our Villas. An oceanfront boutique hotel offering an extraordinary combination of manicured gardens, superb cuisine, attentive staff, world class golf and miles of endless golden sand. Recipient of Trip Advisors "Traveler's Choice Award" in 2013 as the #1 boutique hotel in Brazil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Villas de Trancoso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Trancoso Hotel Trancoso
Villas De Trancoso Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing