We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Thai we have ever eaten!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thaicoso

Thaicoso
Ranked #11 of 86 Restaurants in Trancoso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$23
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: ThaiCOSO serves authentic Thai food in the heart of the Quadrado in Trancoso. Our dishes are always prepared with the freshest possible ingredients and we insist on using the most authentic Thai products like Thai fish sauce, galangal, lemongrass and palm sugar to flavour our food. The menu at ThaiCOSO changes daily and always offers our diners a meat, a seafood, a vegetarian and a salad option. We make everything from scratch; curry pastes, sauces, dips and chutneys. You can find us at the QUADRADO 13 store; a little blue and pink house situated on the right side as you walk towards the church.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Thai we have ever eaten!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I can not believe we had to go all the way to Trancoso to experience the best Thai food we have ever had. The menu, setting and service were all so special and we are very grateful to be one of the lucky few who get to come to this restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CandsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    14
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Loved everything about this place - the food, the atmosphere, the service. What an unexpected find in such a small fishing village! The food was simply amazing - thai but a bit of a brasilian twist here and there. Felt very peaceful eating here - must have something to do with the buddha statue.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Light, tasty, creative and romantic=> my favorite in Trancoso”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very romantic atmosphere right on the historic square of Trancoso (quadrado) The food is amazing, staring from the salad over the main dish to the desert. You have to try it all!!!
The service is wonderful. They have a decent wine selection and their caipirinhas are out of reach.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Inihoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely place, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We spent a few days in Trancoso and ended up having three dinners at this cosy Thai/Brasilian restaurant. The location is perfect, a small, quiet corner in the Quadrado and the food is fresh, light, tasty and very well presented. Last but not least the two owners are adorable, they speak excellent English and Italian and gave us plenty of information and tips on the surroundings. We loved it and would definitively go back should we visit Trancoso again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paolamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Männedorf, Switzerland
2 reviews
“The best dinning out experience of my life.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This restaurant has three tables outside, and, in case it rains, three tables inside too. Service doesn't get more personal than this. It starts with a very friendly young man who speaks very good English. The choice of food is very small, one meat dish, one fish dish, and one vegetarian dish. Just after we ordered it started to rain so we picked up our drinks and moved inside. What a surprise, a beautifully decorated tiny room at the back of a small shop, next to the kitchen. I cannot tell you what a delightful experience it was to eat here. Delicious food, a lovely decorated room, and a great atmosphere with really interesting people occupying the other two tables. We couldn't help but have a fantastic evening. We'll be going again in a few days and I'm praying I'll enjoy it as much. If you decide to go, pray for rain. A truly great experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank retzbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thaicoso also viewed

Trancoso, Porto Seguro
Trancoso, Porto Seguro
 
Trancoso, Porto Seguro
Trancoso, Porto Seguro
 

Been to Thaicoso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing