We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the place to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mata N'ativa Pousada
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Trancoso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2009

This was the third time I stayed at Mata Nativa and I tell what: nothing would make me staying somewhere else. Right in the way to the beach and pretty close to the Quadrado, the location is a plus. Also, the atmosphere is completely easy going and the owners are always ready to help. The rooms are spacious and clean, and perfect for those who travel with kids (ask for the suite Peroba Rosa). Overall, Mata Nativa is one of my favorite spots.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabio_rio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2009

Before we made up our minds staying at Mata Nátiva I was a little concerned about "the location" observations. The place is 6 minutes away from the "Quadrado", the center of Trancoso and 3 minutes away of an enourmous, fantastic beach!
The room was insane: we took the " suíte Jequitibá" with a jaccuzzi just for ourselves.
If you get impressed with the pics from the website, don´t! The place is 1000 times more beautiful then any pic or words can express.
The breakfast was very special: u can sit outside, take some bread, cake or cerelas and wait for ur scrambled eggs along with chees and ham and enjoy the absolutely amazing atmosphere that surrounds the place.
It is like being in a wild jungle, since the owners, the most nice and cute people we met in Trancoso, took care of every detail so it doesn´t feel like the pousada is " invading nature", but makes part of it in perfect harmony.
From massages till a very charming spa, evrthg that u need is there, so the only danger is willing to stay inside this little paradise and miss the city attractions ;)
For everything that we needed, Daniel was always there for us. Rastaurants tipps, locations and even shuttle to the airport!
Extremly clean, quiet, beautiful and worht it every cent are the best terms to define this place.
Thank you Mata N´ativa for making our stay in Trancoso the best option we could ever have dreamed of!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bert-ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

With respect to the pousada, we enjoyed very much our stay. The place is calm, beautiful, confortable and perfectly integrated into the surrounding forest. The staff is courteous and efficient; they made us feel at home all the time. Breakfast is delicious and enough to let us spend the whole day on they beach without lunch. Although there is a lot of mosquitos, ants and other insects around, we could easily sleep without any incident. I would not go there without protection though, specially if one is alergic to insect bites. We stayed at "Jequitiba" room and it was perfect for a couple, with a nice jacuzzi. We have not visited the other rooms but they seemed smaller.

Trancoso is the pefect spot for those that want to enjoy the calm, warm waters of southern Bahia and still be close to civilization. Personally I think that the neighborhood has become a bit too posh in the last years and, as a consequence, it lost a bit of its soul. But still, the tranquility, the sightseeing and the long, almost deserted beaches are worth the visit. It is a better choice than Porto Seguro, which has become too crowded after big tour operators have taken the city by assault.

Pousada Mata N'ativa is located about 5 minutes walk from the beach and 5 minutes from the "Quadrado". For us, this was convenient since we prefer to be close to the beach than to the buzzle of bars and restaurants. The only inconvenience was that we had to walk uphill every night in order to eat something, since the pousada serves only breakfast and some sandwiches at night. Besides being a steep uphill, the path to Quadrado was really dark and a bit scary at night. The locals say that there is no danger but we witnessed a robery one night and once we had to change our places on the beach because of a couple of suspicious guys that insisted on staring at us. I was born and raised in Brazil and my wife has been there many times so we don't tend to be scared without reason; my advise is, relax and enjoy but be aware that your spending might be worth a year's salary of a local family.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuizTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2008

After spending some time reviewing the options of staying either in the quadrado OR by the beach, we found Mata N'ativa. After speaking with the owners Daniel and Danella (both with excellent command of English) we were glad to hear the pousada was positioned ideally between both !

Mata N'ativa is not as expensive as some of the other pousada's in Trancoso, so i had adjusted my expectations - incorrectly.

This place is amazing - what has been created here is in perfect harmony with nature without compromising style or luxury. The pousdas are located and built around the existing (original) trees - the gardens carefully planted to blend in.

Breakfast is served in the tropical gardens, a feast of rich tropical fruit, homemade cakes, fresh juices, cereals, meats and cheeses. The only down side here is the weight you'll put on - be ware the food is very very moreish!!

Rooms are very very comfortable, cable TV (should you even wish to stay in !), fridge, air-con etc... Bathrooms have great showers - the room we had (IPE) even had a small garden in the shower room !! Also their range of shower and shampoo gels are organic and made locally.. Rooms are cleaned daily and are kept immaculate, as are all areas of the pousada.

It additionally offers a beautiful spa - located between the small villas and by the river (something unique to this place is that the river runs through their land and gardens). You can additionally have massages and if the urge to work out drives you there is also a small but functional gym.

Mosquitoes are a problem overall in Trancoso - what is refreshing at this pousada is that it exists within its own mini ecological system - birds, frogs, lizards etc all exist within this environment and eat the mosquito lava.

We will definitely be back - having spent 8 days here and being continually spoilt makes it very difficult to return to the London humdrum in life.
After spending some time reviewing the options of staying either in the quadrado OR by the beach, we found Mata N'ativa. After speaking with the owners Daniel and Danella (both with excellent command of English) we were glad to hear the pousada was positioned ideally between both !

Mata N'ativa is not as expensive as some of the other pousada's in Trancoso, so i had adjusted my expectations - incorrectly.

This place is amazing - what has been created here is in perfect harmony with nature without compromising style or luxury. The pousdas are located and built around the existing (original) trees - the gardens carefully planted to blend in.

Breakfast is served in the tropical gardens, a feast of rich tropical fruit, homemade cakes, fresh juices, cereals, meats and cheeses. The only down side here is the weight you'll put on - be ware the food is very very moreish!!

Rooms are very very comfortable, cable TV (should you even wish to stay in !), fridge, air-con etc... Bathrooms have great showers - the room we had (IPE) even had a small garden in the shower room !! Also their range of shower and shampoo gels are organic and made locally.. Rooms are cleaned daily and are kept immaculate, as are all areas of the pousada.

It additionally offers a beautiful spa - located between the small villas and by the river (something unique to this place is that the river runs through their land and gardens). You can additionally have massages and if the urge to work out drives you there is also a small but functional gym.

Mosquitoes are a problem overall in Trancoso - what is refreshing at this pousada is that it exists within its own mini ecological system - birds, frogs, lizards etc all exist within this environment and eat the mosquito lava.

We will definitely be back - having spent 8 days here and being continually spoilt makes it very difficult to return to the London humdrum in life.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GMMarylebone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2008

We have just returned from a month in Brazil - 10 nights of which were spent at the lovely Mata N'ativa Pousada. This is a real gem of a place - really well placed half way between the beaches and the gorgeous Quadrado, so quiet and tranquil. The walk up the hill to the Quadrado is not too bad, you don't really need a torch and it's all downhill back of course! Daniel and Daniela are lovely hosts and the staff are very friendly. Breakfast is scrumptious - all homemade and taken on the verandah watching humming birds and the Mico monkeys who Daniel is patiently and successfully encouraging to make Mata Nativa a regular haunt of theirs. Our room was great, but I am ashamed to say I don't know the name of it, but we were on the first floor and the only complaint I had, was the balcony was too small for both of us to enjoy at the same time - we should have looked at the rooms more closely when we booked - our fault entirely.
Jane & Ian, England

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneandOtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2007

We stayed in Mata N’ativa Pousada for 6 days in August 2007. We got the apartment called “Peroba Rosa”, which has two floors, upstairs there is a double bed (with a mosquito-net as a baldachin ☺), a balcony with two big armchairs, downstairs two single beds, a pretty bathroom and a hammock on the veranda. The apartment is becomingly furnished, very-very charming. The cleanness was immaculate, the apartment was cleaned every day.
Other areas can only be described in high terms, as well: the garden is gorgeous, the apartments are practically fully separated by enormous beautiful plants and there are nice little paths in between. The breakfast, which was already in itself miraculous (fresh fruits and juices, pineapple jam, home-made cakes …), was served on the veranda of the reception area, so we had a nice view to the garden and the river during breakfast (which really gives your day a fabulous start). There is a nice mini spa-island with a Jacuzzi. And there is also a TV in the apartments and another one with lots of DVD’s and international channels in the social area (but in such a beautiful place you will spare your time ☺). There is a free private parking and during nights there is a watchman.
The owners of the place really do their best: they are very gentle, (they speak excellent English!), Daniel gave us many useful tips on where to go, what to see, where to eat…
The location of the pousada is also very good. It is close to a beach (Praia dos Nativos) and to the centre of Trancoso. We came with a car, so we made use of it also, we visited a few places further on, e.g. Praia do Espelho.
The whole place is beautiful, homey, cheerful … it’s perfect!

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bandika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2007

This small hotel is a very comfortable, cozy and quiet place. The rooms are very nice with anything you need. We had appartement 'Jacaranda' with a BIG terrace where we loved to lay in our hummits and relax. The room was very clean and equipped with lots of fine details. At night there's a doorman who cares for silence and security.

Breakfast is great: fresh fruits and juices, excellent homemade cakes and anything you wish - jummy!

Mata Nativa Pousada is located right in the middle between the beaches and Trancoso's Quadrado, about 8 minutes away from each. To the Quadrodo you have to go up a hill and the way is dark - don't forget the maglite... But you should go there: food is terrific!

The owners Daniela and Daniel created a very lovely place. They are very eager to be there for their guests and try to help in any case.

Just go there and RELAX!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eva-maria140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trancoso hotels
1.4 mi away
Pousada Aldeia do Sol
Pousada Aldeia do Sol
#10 of 13 in Trancoso
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Etnia Pousada & Boutique
Etnia Pousada & Boutique
#5 of 13 in Trancoso
253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villas de Trancoso Hotel
Villas de Trancoso Hotel
#1 of 13 in Trancoso
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pousada Samambaia
Pousada Samambaia
#7 of 13 in Trancoso
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Estrela D'Agua
Estrela D'Agua
#2 of 13 in Trancoso
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa
UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa
#6 of 13 in Trancoso
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mata N'ativa Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mata N'ativa Pousada

Address: Estrada do Arraial S/N, Porto Seguro, State of Bahia 45818-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Porto Seguro > Trancoso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Trancoso
Price Range: £81 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mata N'ativa Pousada 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mata N´ativa Pousada is an ecolodge of charm very well located walking distance to the village center and to the beach. It was created in an environmental-friendly concept respecting the existing trees, the local ecosystem and wild live. The owners succeeded in developing this small hotel where you feel overwhelmed by nature. Triage of products, recycling, solar panels and energy system control, are part of our initiatives to lessen our impact on nature. Charming ambiances and attention to details are also key elements. The owners always around will welcome you in person. We organize trips in kayaks, bicycles, horseback ridings, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mata N'ativa Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata N'Ativa Pousada Trancoso, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing