We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place, Great Location, Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mata N'ativa Pousada
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Trancoso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We stayed at Mata N'ativa for four days during our honeymoon in Brazil and simply loved it. Conveniently located between the Quadrado and the beach and with a small river flowing by it, this is a great pousada to stay in. Pedro, the current manager, was extremely friendly, attentive, and helpful. The entire pousada is nestled in greenery and the photos on the website don't do it justice. It is also quiet and has enough privacy given the separation between rooms. And yes, don't miss the breakfast. The spread is great and vegetarian friendly!

We got one of the rooms with a private jacuzzi and really enjoyed our time there. I would definitely recommend this for people dropping by Trancoso. You do have an uphill walk to the Quadrado but we really liked it. Taxis and mototaxis are always available if you don't want to walk though.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ntolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2010

Execelent breakfast, cozy, charming, good swimming pool, well located, near excelent beaches and the Trancoso "Quadrado".
However, bedrooms are much smaller than they look like on the website and the mattress is old and does not smell good. The hotel should replace them immediately.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RBFBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We were very pleased with our stay at Mata N'ativa from the room (Jacaranda) which was a decent size and included a great patio with two hammocks, to the pousada grounds which were immaculately maintained and full of interesting flowers, plants and trees, to the awesome breakfast (possibly our favorite part), which included fresh juices, great coffee, freshly baked pastries and breads and eggs/yogurt on request.

I couldn't finish without mentioning how great the owners, Daniel, Daniela and their lovely daughter were. They made us feel very much at home and had lots of reccomendations if we wanted them, but did not push any tours/trips/restaurants on us at all. The one seafood reccomendation Daniel gave me (Jonas' Barraca on the beach) was spot on! the best fish I had on the trip.

Also, the massages we got were out-of-this-world. I believe her name was Beatriz.

We can't wait to go back to Trancoso and stay here again. nest time we'll try the room with the private jacuzzi!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ambassador77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

This was the third time I stayed at Mata Nativa and I tell what: nothing would make me staying somewhere else. Right in the way to the beach and pretty close to the Quadrado, the location is a plus. Also, the atmosphere is completely easy going and the owners are always ready to help. The rooms are spacious and clean, and perfect for those who travel with kids (ask for the suite Peroba Rosa). Overall, Mata Nativa is one of my favorite spots.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabio_rio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Before we made up our minds staying at Mata Nátiva I was a little concerned about "the location" observations. The place is 6 minutes away from the "Quadrado", the center of Trancoso and 3 minutes away of an enourmous, fantastic beach!
The room was insane: we took the " suíte Jequitibá" with a jaccuzzi just for ourselves.
If you get impressed with the pics from the website, don´t! The place is 1000 times more beautiful then any pic or words can express.
The breakfast was very special: u can sit outside, take some bread, cake or cerelas and wait for ur scrambled eggs along with chees and ham and enjoy the absolutely amazing atmosphere that surrounds the place.
It is like being in a wild jungle, since the owners, the most nice and cute people we met in Trancoso, took care of every detail so it doesn´t feel like the pousada is " invading nature", but makes part of it in perfect harmony.
From massages till a very charming spa, evrthg that u need is there, so the only danger is willing to stay inside this little paradise and miss the city attractions ;)
For everything that we needed, Daniel was always there for us. Rastaurants tipps, locations and even shuttle to the airport!
Extremly clean, quiet, beautiful and worht it every cent are the best terms to define this place.
Thank you Mata N´ativa for making our stay in Trancoso the best option we could ever have dreamed of!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bert-ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

With respect to the pousada, we enjoyed very much our stay. The place is calm, beautiful, confortable and perfectly integrated into the surrounding forest. The staff is courteous and efficient; they made us feel at home all the time. Breakfast is delicious and enough to let us spend the whole day on they beach without lunch. Although there is a lot of mosquitos, ants and other insects around, we could easily sleep without any incident. I would not go there without protection though, specially if one is alergic to insect bites. We stayed at "Jequitiba" room and it was perfect for a couple, with a nice jacuzzi. We have not visited the other rooms but they seemed smaller.

Trancoso is the pefect spot for those that want to enjoy the calm, warm waters of southern Bahia and still be close to civilization. Personally I think that the neighborhood has become a bit too posh in the last years and, as a consequence, it lost a bit of its soul. But still, the tranquility, the sightseeing and the long, almost deserted beaches are worth the visit. It is a better choice than Porto Seguro, which has become too crowded after big tour operators have taken the city by assault.

Pousada Mata N'ativa is located about 5 minutes walk from the beach and 5 minutes from the "Quadrado". For us, this was convenient since we prefer to be close to the beach than to the buzzle of bars and restaurants. The only inconvenience was that we had to walk uphill every night in order to eat something, since the pousada serves only breakfast and some sandwiches at night. Besides being a steep uphill, the path to Quadrado was really dark and a bit scary at night. The locals say that there is no danger but we witnessed a robery one night and once we had to change our places on the beach because of a couple of suspicious guys that insisted on staring at us. I was born and raised in Brazil and my wife has been there many times so we don't tend to be scared without reason; my advise is, relax and enjoy but be aware that your spending might be worth a year's salary of a local family.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuizTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2008

After spending some time reviewing the options of staying either in the quadrado OR by the beach, we found Mata N'ativa. After speaking with the owners Daniel and Danella (both with excellent command of English) we were glad to hear the pousada was positioned ideally between both !

Mata N'ativa is not as expensive as some of the other pousada's in Trancoso, so i had adjusted my expectations - incorrectly.

This place is amazing - what has been created here is in perfect harmony with nature without compromising style or luxury. The pousdas are located and built around the existing (original) trees - the gardens carefully planted to blend in.

Breakfast is served in the tropical gardens, a feast of rich tropical fruit, homemade cakes, fresh juices, cereals, meats and cheeses. The only down side here is the weight you'll put on - be ware the food is very very moreish!!

Rooms are very very comfortable, cable TV (should you even wish to stay in !), fridge, air-con etc... Bathrooms have great showers - the room we had (IPE) even had a small garden in the shower room !! Also their range of shower and shampoo gels are organic and made locally.. Rooms are cleaned daily and are kept immaculate, as are all areas of the pousada.

It additionally offers a beautiful spa - located between the small villas and by the river (something unique to this place is that the river runs through their land and gardens). You can additionally have massages and if the urge to work out drives you there is also a small but functional gym.

Mosquitoes are a problem overall in Trancoso - what is refreshing at this pousada is that it exists within its own mini ecological system - birds, frogs, lizards etc all exist within this environment and eat the mosquito lava.

We will definitely be back - having spent 8 days here and being continually spoilt makes it very difficult to return to the London humdrum in life.
After spending some time reviewing the options of staying either in the quadrado OR by the beach, we found Mata N'ativa. After speaking with the owners Daniel and Danella (both with excellent command of English) we were glad to hear the pousada was positioned ideally between both !

Mata N'ativa is not as expensive as some of the other pousada's in Trancoso, so i had adjusted my expectations - incorrectly.

This place is amazing - what has been created here is in perfect harmony with nature without compromising style or luxury. The pousdas are located and built around the existing (original) trees - the gardens carefully planted to blend in.

Breakfast is served in the tropical gardens, a feast of rich tropical fruit, homemade cakes, fresh juices, cereals, meats and cheeses. The only down side here is the weight you'll put on - be ware the food is very very moreish!!

Rooms are very very comfortable, cable TV (should you even wish to stay in !), fridge, air-con etc... Bathrooms have great showers - the room we had (IPE) even had a small garden in the shower room !! Also their range of shower and shampoo gels are organic and made locally.. Rooms are cleaned daily and are kept immaculate, as are all areas of the pousada.

It additionally offers a beautiful spa - located between the small villas and by the river (something unique to this place is that the river runs through their land and gardens). You can additionally have massages and if the urge to work out drives you there is also a small but functional gym.

Mosquitoes are a problem overall in Trancoso - what is refreshing at this pousada is that it exists within its own mini ecological system - birds, frogs, lizards etc all exist within this environment and eat the mosquito lava.

We will definitely be back - having spent 8 days here and being continually spoilt makes it very difficult to return to the London humdrum in life.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GMMarylebone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trancoso hotels
1.4 mi away
Pousada Aldeia do Sol
Pousada Aldeia do Sol
#10 of 13 in Trancoso
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Etnia Pousada & Boutique
Etnia Pousada & Boutique
#5 of 13 in Trancoso
253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villas de Trancoso Hotel
Villas de Trancoso Hotel
#1 of 13 in Trancoso
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pousada Samambaia
Pousada Samambaia
#7 of 13 in Trancoso
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Estrela D'Agua
Estrela D'Agua
#2 of 13 in Trancoso
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa
UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa
#6 of 13 in Trancoso
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mata N'ativa Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mata N'ativa Pousada

Address: Estrada do Arraial S/N, Porto Seguro, State of Bahia 45818-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Porto Seguro > Trancoso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Trancoso
Price Range: £86 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mata N'ativa Pousada 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mata N´ativa Pousada is an ecolodge of charm very well located walking distance to the village center and to the beach. It was created in an environmental-friendly concept respecting the existing trees, the local ecosystem and wild live. The owners succeeded in developing this small hotel where you feel overwhelmed by nature. Triage of products, recycling, solar panels and energy system control, are part of our initiatives to lessen our impact on nature. Charming ambiances and attention to details are also key elements. The owners always around will welcome you in person. We organize trips in kayaks, bicycles, horseback ridings, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mata N'ativa Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata N'Ativa Pousada Trancoso, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing