We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Setting and Location but a dump!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Fortaleza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fortaleza
Ranked #8 of 97 Hotels in Fortaleza
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting and Location but a dump!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Elevators take for ever, one day we had no cold water on the shower, other day a water leak from room upstairs, air conditioner thermostat not working, just bath towels as they were out of hand towel and the smaller one.
Service is horrible.
I had reservations for four nights. Some on points and some paid. Was offered and upgrade the day I arrived to be moved out the next day like a criminal in spite of the fact that upon my arrival I pointed out the different reservations all together for 4 nights.
Never again.

Room Tip: Check other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walt-FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFortaleza, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Fortaleza, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time.

The Holiday Inn Fortaleza's main objective is to provide an excellent experience to their customers.

We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused. Thank you for bringing your comments to our knowledge and help us, so we can improve our services, please feel free to contact us at priscila@holidayfortaleza.com.br , so we can have more details of the problems meant.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Fortaleza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    820
    202
    25
    10
See reviews for
660
464
77
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba
Level Contributor
287 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed two nights in this Hotel before our trip to Jeri.
For this short stay and considering that we had already been in Fortaleza it was a okay choice.
The hotel faces the sea shore and it was a long(but nice) walk to the restaurants located in Meireles Beach.
The staff is nice,the room was a great size but is in need of some refurbishing, looks a little outdated.
Breakfast with many choices, but really noisy and crowded.
Pool too small for the hotel size, and very very poor gym.
A very nice point is that All rooms have some kind of sea view.
If you manage to book a nice fare, is a okay place to stay, otherwise look for some place else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AUECWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFortaleza, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Fortaleza, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest!

The Holiday Inn Fortaleza's main objective is to provide an excellent experience to their customers. We are very glad that our location, sea view from the rooms, staff and breakfast were useful to you.

Thank you for bringing your comments to our knowledge and help us, so we can improve our services.

Thank you again for you time and we hope to serve you for the next opportunity!

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Fortaleza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vigevano, Italy
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I was there last end november 2013=
Room was very clean and good; also large size rom that i like very much, people.
Service of the hotel was fine, one only restaurant but food ok for quick dinner. Also very close to downtown and Dragao do Mar (night life with a lot of bar)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brasile1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFortaleza, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Fortaleza, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you for bringing your comments to our knowledge.

We are very happy that our services and location have met your expectations.

Thank you again and we hope to serve you for the next opportunity!

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Fortaleza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Average Hotel in Fortaleza but there are some negative points:

- For an additional person in the room they will charge you 260 Reais (130 USD). Per Night! This is actually more than I paid for the entire room. I dont know what calculation is behind that price. Its a sass!
- Room service doesnt speak any english. So If you want to order something more complicated than "Pizza Margarita Grande" you have to order at reception and they will order to Room service. In a Holliday Inn Hotel (Which has an english brand name and is based in the US) I would expect at least some basic english knowledge from Room service staff.

Room Tip: Get a room with balcony. If you have one without, you can not enjoy beautifull seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rolf82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFortaleza, Guest Relation at Holiday Inn Fortaleza, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our facilities and services. We know that the comments of our customers are very important in helping us to provide excellent service.

Your concerns have been forwarded to the management and ownership of this hotel for review.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Fortaleza for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Fortaleza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
125 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Spend 1 night on business travel - very good location in front of beach close by restaurants. Hotel is dated - rooms are big and good view if you face the sea - breakfast has good choice of menu, friendly staff but can get busy in holiday season - fitness is very dated and in need of replacement - friendly reception staff - elevators can stay some time

Room Tip: Room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris3436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFortaleza, Guest Relation at Holiday Inn Fortaleza, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Fortaleza and also for bringing your comments to our knowledge and help us, we are glad you had an good overall experience.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Fortaleza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

I am an American who travels to Fortaleza for business often and can say the Holiday Inn has been a pleasant experience each time, although the internet can get expensive if you want high speeds. If you want multiple devices you can call the front desk when the IT guy is on duty and he will connect your other devices on your account (free or charged account). Small fitness area, steam room, and shower - which is nice to have a jog on the beach and then steam and shower before returning to your room. Rooms are fine, breakfast has always been fresh and satisfying, staff has been very helpful to find local stores and restaurants (and speak good English which is not the case in the other hotels I tried).

One thing left out of other reviews is that the strict security is very comforting, which should be important to you if you have read about Fortaleza.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the Deluxe with the small Balcony overlooking the beach which is a great way to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFortaleza, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Fortaleza, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Guest!

It was a pleasure to have you with us during your stay.
We appreciate the compliments for Holiday Inn Fortaleza.
Comments like this encourage us to increasingly better serve our guests.
About the internet services, you observations have been taken to the responsable department.
Do not forget to contact us when you return to the city.
We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,

Holiday Inn Fortaleza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stayed one night in February after long flights from Europe. Good location with views of nearby beach. I can only say it's adequate, since it is very much in need of an upgrade. The room was clean but shabby with merely 2 cups of water in the fridge. The shower barely worked. The breakfast was satisfactory but the checkout needs more staff. If I needed to stay longer I would have looked elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank henry079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fortaleza, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear henry079,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I do apologize that your experience was not what you expected. Your comments about the the room conditions have been documented and appropriate actions will be taken. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fortaleza hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Marquise
Hotel Gran Marquise
#1 of 97 in Fortaleza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luzeiros
Hotel Luzeiros
#3 of 97 in Fortaleza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,032 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seara Praia Hotel
Seara Praia Hotel
#9 of 97 in Fortaleza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mareiro Hotel
Mareiro Hotel
#12 of 97 in Fortaleza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carmel Magna Praia Hotel
Carmel Magna Praia Hotel
#5 of 97 in Fortaleza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Beira Mar
Hotel Beira Mar
#14 of 97 in Fortaleza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Fortaleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fortaleza

Property: Holiday Inn Fortaleza
Address: Av Historiador Raimundo Girao, 800 | Praia de Iracema, Fortaleza, State of Ceara 60165-050, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Ceara > Fortaleza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Fortaleza
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fortaleza
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fortaleza
#4 Family Hotel in Fortaleza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Fortaleza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get to know the Holiday Inn Fortaleza. There are 273 apartments, all with sea views, in the categories Luxury, Special Luxury, Superior Luxury and Suite. Our events area holds up to 120 people, with 7 event rooms equipped with telephone lines and broadband internet access. A spacious foyer with sea views is available for coffee breaks and cocktails. There are also a fitness center, swimming pool, outdoor Jacuzzi, games room, kids club (kids' corner) and a baby room. Facing the sea, you will be refreshed by your stay in an IHG Network hotel. We are close to the main tourist sites, as well as business centers and airport. Tailor-made for your visit to Fortaleza on business or pleasure. With completely renovated rooms, structure and concept, the idea is for you to enjoy sophistication with great simplicity. _ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Fortaleza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fortaleza Hotel Fortaleza
Holiday Inn Fortaleza Ceara, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing