We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depressing and boring”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Fortaleza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Fortaleza
Ranked #23 of 96 Hotels in Fortaleza
GreenLeadersBronze level
Europe
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Depressing and boring”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

One should never have to high expectations on Ibis, because most often it's a boring hotel without any charm, but sometimes one get a nice surprise though. Ibis Fortaleza is unfortunately as the city itself - depressing. Even though the hotel is well located it's hard to understand the high scores the hotel has got, as in many other cases this hotel is extremely overrated in my opinion.

Room Tip: High up in the end of a corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JournalistEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSÉ CORRÊA COU... J, Gerente at Ibis Fortaleza, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear
Hósopde

We would like to understand what it had lacked for a hosting to your liking.

We need this feedback so we can improve our services.

Sure your attention
Jose Junior
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    1,030
    420
    55
    28
See reviews for
430
447
266
618
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed during 2014 world cup. Very easy access to the beach - a couple block walk. We could see the ocean from our room, but generally views will be impeded by other buildings in the immediate area. Really not a problem for us as we didn't stay in the room. Breakfast was great and staff was always attentive and helpful. Definitely would stay there again. Bonus for us was that the FIFA Fan Fest was on the beach immediately in front of our hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaLiga16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juazeiro Do Norte, Brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The service I've experienced was excellent!
I liked the room very much!
The location is perfect!
I liked all very much!
The employees are polite and helpful.
The coffebreak is very good.
There is a taxi stop in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Marcos Aurelio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We were there for two nights. Overall a good experience with a good location near (not on) the beach. Some of the staff spoke English (big bonus for us), and the rooms were fine although nothing spectacular. For the price, a pretty good deal.

Unlike other hotels, they didn't include breakfast in their price, but they did have free coffee in the lobby.

Would definitely consider staying here again but may shop around some.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresopolis, RJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

American citizen living in Brazil for the past 17 years.

My wife and I have been using our points to stay at Ibis hotels while doing some traveling around Brazil, and for the price you can't beat the overall experience.

The staff are super friendly and very attentive. Need to heat up some food after dining out? They'll take care of you and even provide plates and silverware.

The rooms in Fortaleza are big with plenty of space to stretch out on their new beds, which actually are very comfortable. The bathroom has everything you'll need and the shower had fantastic pressure. Loved the shower.

The rooms also have a massive air conditioner which you'll be worshiping after spending an afternoon in the blazing Sun of Fortaleza. This is one of the hottest cities I've been in around Brazil. Very hot and the locals say it's like that year round. Dress light and enjoy some ice cold coconut water along the boardwalk by the ocean.

There was a small table and chair as well as a small tv, but I really wasn't there to watch tv so that wasn't an issue. Please remember that ALL the outlets (light sockets) in the Northeast of Brazil are 220v. Make sure all your electronics are bi-volt or you'll be buying new ones. The front desk also has adapters in case your stuff doesn't fit the sockets.

The rooms in Fortaleza were much better and more spacious than those in Goiania. I was very impressed with the Fortaleza Ibis on this front.

Breakfast was standard fair for Ibis and Brazil, and for the price it's pretty good. You'll find eggs, some sausage or meat dish, juices, loads of breads and cereals as well as fruits. Very typical Brazilian breakfast spread.

There isn't much for a view since there are mammoth apartments and hotels everywhere, but the location is actually quite good considering it's a block away from the beach. The neighborhood is relatively new so there isn't a lot of movement up towards the beach so I'd probably be careful walking around that area at night.

The hotel has a cab service right out front and the drivers were all very friendly and didn't try anything underhanded once they knew I spoke the language. As with going to any country, knowing the native language is a must. It just shows them respect and that you care enough about their culture.

There are numerous restaurants within walking distance and the almighty Coco Bambu is about a R$12 cab ride away. If you are interested in the ultimate seafood dining experience, please check my review on Coco Bambu Frutos do Mar, Fortaleza. Insanely good!

If I had to make one complaint about the hotel it would be that the walls are somewhat thin. You can hear people in the hallway and in the adjacent rooms, but it's really not that bad. It didn't take anything away from my experience.

Overall I'm pretty impressed with the Ibis experience and highly recommend staying here if you can't afford the more extravagant 4 and 5 star hotels. Use your points and it's even more impressive!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fortaleza hotels
3.1 mi away
Ibis Centro de Eventos
Ibis Centro de Eventos
#18 of 96 in Fortaleza
156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carmel Express Hotel
Carmel Express Hotel
#24 of 96 in Fortaleza
638 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Tower Flat
Ocean Tower Flat
#50 of 96 in Fortaleza
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mercure Fortaleza Meireles
Mercure Fortaleza Meireles
#29 of 96 in Fortaleza
769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maredomus Hotel
Maredomus Hotel
#31 of 96 in Fortaleza
403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmel Magna Praia Hotel
Carmel Magna Praia Hotel
#4 of 96 in Fortaleza
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Fortaleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Fortaleza

Property: Ibis Fortaleza
Address: Rua Doutor Atualpa Barbosa Lima 660 | Praia de Iracema, Fortaleza, State of Ceara 60115-015, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Ceara > Fortaleza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Fortaleza
#7 Best Value Hotel in Fortaleza
#10 Business Hotel in Fortaleza
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Fortaleza
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fortaleza
#17 Family Hotel in Fortaleza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Fortaleza 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Fortaleza hotel is located 12 km from the airport, 2 km from the centre of Fortaleza, only 50 m from Iracema beach, 9 km from the Convention Centre, the hotel has 170 rooms newly retired and 1 meeting rooms for organising conferences and seminars. Guests also have a restaurant, a bar serving light meals and snacks 24/24, a terrace and a swimming pool. The hotel has free private covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Fortaleza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Fortaleza Ceara, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing