We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay location and noisy room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Fortaleza Meireles
Ranked #32 of 95 Hotels in Fortaleza
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The hotel sits in an okay location, just one block from Avenida Beira Mar (though, beware of some suspicious characters walking the streets near the hotel at night). The apartment was decent enough, with a separate bedroom, kitchen with a refrigerator, bathroom with warm water, and a balcony. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful, and the room was nicely cleaned every day. The biggest drawback of the apartment was the noise. The apartment faced Avenida da Abolição, which is the main thoroughfare of Meireles. Even at night it's very noisy (trucks, buses, etc.), and the windows did nothing to soundproof the apartment. I didn't have a single night of good sleep during the week I stayed there due to this! Perhaps the rooms facing Rua Joaquim Nabuco are a bit better, but in any case it wouldn't hurt to upgrade the windows. At R$ 22 the hotel breakfast had the standard offerings. The hotel has a swimming pool, but this was not open during the duration of my stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the very noisy rooms facing Avenida da Abolição.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janki77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h3473, Gerente de recepção at Mercure Fortaleza Meireles, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

In Hotel Mercure, we try to provide a service with excelence that´s why your feedback is very important to us.

Much appreciated your collaboration, each item scored on this review is being checked.


Regards,


Juliana Nunes
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Fortaleza Meireles
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

This is a very average hotel.

On the plus side: the rooms are actually small apartments with a living room, bedroom, small kitchen (with a hob, sink, fridge and microwave but no tea/coffee or iron and ironing board...) and bathroom. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and the staff at reception are efficient and friendly. The hotel is one block from the beach.

On the negative side: the rooms are furnished in the cheapest possible way, and are starting to show their age. For instance, the sofa in the living room is probably one of the most uncomfortable pieces of furniture invented by man. The free Wi-Fi crashes every few minutes, forcing users to turn off, then turn on again their wireless connection. The breakfast buffet is limited for Brazilian standards and the breakfast room is incredibly dark: They are either saving electricity or have gone for mood lighting that is off the charts.

Bottom line is there are probably better options in Fortaleza, although a stay in this hotel would be worthwhile for a short stay at a decent room rate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h3473, Gerente de recepção at Mercure Fortaleza Meireles, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

In Hotel Mercure, we try to provide a service with excelence that´s why your feedback is very important to us.

Much appreciated your collaboration, each item scored on this review is being checked.


Regards,


Juliana Nunes
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Having space while travelling on business is a sheer luxury. Instead of just one cramped room, I had a living room and a little kitchen space. It just me that little bit extra space to work out, watch TV and have a business meeting in the living room. The price was also reasonable...just a little higher than the IBIS in Fortaleza where I usually stay and the comfort is more than twice. The bathroom was neatly stacked with all the essentials. The decor was pleasant and charming. The beach was also just less than 200 meters and it was great way to start the day with a long jog along the sea front. Unfortunately I had perhaps only 36 hours at the hotel as I checked in at 3.00 am. Only disappointment was the check out I got was only until 2.00 pm even though I am a loyal Accor Group member. To me it was a five star all the way.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h3473, Gerente de recepção at Mercure Fortaleza Meireles, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

In Hotel Mercure, we try to provide a service with excelence that´s why your feedback is very important to us.

Much appreciated your collaboration, each item scored on this review is being checked.


Regards,


Juliana Nunes
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Good location. It is just 2 blocks from the Beach Ave where is very busy during the night. Just be careful with some homeless guys in front of the hotel. They ask you for money and cigarettes - it's really annoying.

Rooms are old. I had problems with my bathroom (during the shower, the bathroom flooded) and I asked for someone to see it. A guy came but the told me that I needed to wait for the next day for someone to fix it. Nobody came.
We also had termite problem in the bathroom. Our sink was full of small black dots due to termite.
Cups in our small kitchen were dirty and sticky.
I had the impression that our room was not being used for a long time and they forgot to clean or to do the maintenance when we arrived.

The hotel breakfast is 22 reais/person. It's expensive for a continental breakfast and the food is not that good. The orange juice was terrible (it was not tasting orange!). You can easily spend less money having your breakfast in a convenience store inside of a gas station just one block for the hotel.

The hotel staff is very nice.

For the rate, maybe you can find a better place. This hotel is out of Mercure standard.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simonzinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h3473, Gerente de recepção at Mercure Fortaleza Meireles, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

In Hotel Mercure, we try to provide a service with excelence that´s why your feedback is very important to us.

Be sure that we are looking for appropriate measures and investments to conform to your expectations.

Much appreciated your collaboration, each item scored on this review is being checked.


Regards,


Juliana Nunes
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The hotel tries to cater to both vacationing families and business travellers and does not do a good job for neither. Apartments can have up to two bedrooms and can host a small family in a single unit, with a basic cooking area and kitchen utensils. However, there is nothing much for the family to do in the hotel, with a small swiming pool and simple exercise room. The business traveller does not have any facility to prepare documents, etc. Hotel staff is friendly enough. Breakfast is basic for Brazilian standards. Hotel is one city block from beach - do not expect a view. There are shopping malls and restaurants with local food nearby.

Room Tip: Largest units have numbers ending in 5, 6 and 7, but are also the ones most exposed to traffic noise...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cbertoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h3473, Gerente de recepção at Mercure Fortaleza Meireles, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

In Hotel Mercure, we try to provide a service with excelence that´s why your feedback is very important to us.

Be sure that we are looking for appropriate measures and investments to conform to your expectations.

Much appreciated your collaboration, each item scored on this review is being checked.


Regards,


Juliana Nunes
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

The hotel in Fortaleza, Ceara Brasil, is more a flat than a hotel . With 2 separated rooms, a bedroom and a living room with a sofá bed and nice American kitchen, can easily accomodate 4 people. Better yet if is a couple and two childten. But then you have to lock the door to the balcony. it's not a luxury place and there is no facilities . A small swimming pool and a place tô work out. ID you rent a var, you can Park for Fred. IT a good place for a long stay! The staff is friendly and helpful, which makes things much easier. The location is ok if you dont 't mind to stay a block from the Beach. It's the city beach and of course is poluteded so... nearby you have all you need!!! As the hotel is on a corner of a busy avenue, you should expect some Street noise, but if I have to stay there again, I would!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pupita53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h3473, Gerente de recepção at Mercure Fortaleza Meireles, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

In Hotel Mercure, we try to provide a service with excelence that´s why your feedback is very important to us.

Be sure that we are looking for appropriate measures and investments to conform to your expectations.

Much appreciated your collaboration, each item scored on this review is being checked.


Regards,


Juliana Nunes
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Good hotel with nice staff.
The hotel has a good location closed to the beach and the city centre. The staff was helpful to find restaurants and places to visit.

I was just disappointed because the swimming pool was closed and the breakfast was average.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruri1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h3473, Gerente de recepção at Mercure Fortaleza Meireles, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

In Hotel Mercure, we try to provide a service with excelence that´s why your feedback is very important to us.

Be sure that we are looking for appropriate measures and investments to conform to your expectations.

Much appreciated your collaboration, each item scored on this review is being checked.


Regards,


Juliana Nunes
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fortaleza hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Fortaleza
Quality Hotel Fortaleza
#20 of 95 in Fortaleza
2,088 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Fortaleza
Holiday Inn Fortaleza
#8 of 95 in Fortaleza
1,966 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luzeiros
Hotel Luzeiros
#7 of 95 in Fortaleza
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seara Praia Hotel
Seara Praia Hotel
#9 of 95 in Fortaleza
1,665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mareiro Hotel
Mareiro Hotel
#15 of 95 in Fortaleza
1,435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Mayor
Hotel Villa Mayor
#6 of 95 in Fortaleza
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Fortaleza Meireles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Fortaleza Meireles

Address: Rua Joaquim Nabuco 166 | Meireles, Fortaleza, State of Ceara 60125-120, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Ceara > Fortaleza
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fortaleza
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fortaleza
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Fortaleza
#19 Business Hotel in Fortaleza
Price Range: £52 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Fortaleza Meireles 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique location, very close to the beach and 3 km from the business and entertainment area. Airconditioned rooms, cable TV, safe, room service, laundry, meeting room and parking. Swimming pool closed for maintenance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Fortaleza Meireles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Fortaleza Meireles Ceara, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing