We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, for Fortaleza standards but..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip Fortaleza
Ranked #26 of 95 Hotels in Fortaleza
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good, for Fortaleza standards but..”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Pros: Nice view of the yacht club and the ocean. Make sure you get a room facing the ocean, because the front of the hotel is busy, noisy and ugly. Big comfortable rooms.

Cons: Hotel is getting old and needs some repairs. Staff is informal and not very professional.

Room Tip: High floor, facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pedossantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wagner r, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Fortaleza, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel actually seen the ocean from the balcony of the flat is stunning. Regarding the structure of the hotel, we are gradually updating the decor of the rooms and equipment. As for the staff, based on the trainings that are done for sure will be adjusting this regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    257
    94
    34
    16
See reviews for
139
141
34
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Clean, new, nice staff, nice pool and a good restaurant with a big breakfast options.

The problem is the internet wireless that works only in the lobby or in the restaurante/pool area. In the room you have internet but with cable.

The room is big, with microwave, lcd, etc... And it has a small balcony, so you will have the see view.

When booking try to get the room on the back or any one far fron the front, there is a avenue with traffic and the room doesnt have sound proof windows.

The rate is ok.

The beach avenue is big, so if you stay in the middle, you will walk osw to anything... This hotel is in the end of the right side, so you will have to walk a little to grt into the nice places, restaurants, etc... Nothing that a taxi wont help you

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank PtkFerraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The accomodations are good, with nice view of the city. In the opposite, overall room service is terrible - if you ask to bring anything to your room, just forget or wait a surprise. It is also not very well located - it is nearby fisherman place, where the smell of fishes reaches the room while you sleep: such horrible experience. Check the air conditioning system of the room before unpacking - if it is not working, change the room or be very emphatic to ask for service.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiagoLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana M, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Fortaleza, responded to this review, 11 November 2016
Dear Mr. Tiago;
 
Recently took over the management of the Golden Tulip Fortaleza, former Golden Tulip Iate Plaza and I am rereading all the comments posted so that we can map out the opportunities.

On behalf of the staff, I apologize for the fault in the room service and maintenance of the air conditioning, I would still point out that arrangements have been made for faults like this not to happen again as it does not represent our standard of quality.

I make myself available for any clarification, and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

smiles at the reception desk. located at the end of the beach of Fortaleza,
At 6 am, you might be awaked by the noise of the fish market just below the hotel, but it is better than having noise of cars all night. it is the only hotel located on the water without a road in front.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanluc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana M, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Fortaleza, responded to this review, 11 November 2016
Dear Mr. Jean;
 
Recently took over the management of the Golden Tulip Fortaleza, former Golden Tulip Iate Plaza and I am rereading all the comments posted so that we can map out the opportunities.

Thank you for sharing your experience, this exchange with our guests is essential!

I make myself available for any clarification as well as we hope to see you soon ..

Sincerely;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Perfect place to visit fortaleza, clean, fantastic view of you Sit high.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald-on-Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana M, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Fortaleza, responded to this review, 11 November 2016
Dear Mr. Ronald;
 
Recently took over the management of the Golden Tulip Fortaleza, former Golden Tulip Iate Plaza and I am rereading all the comments posted so that we can map out the opportunities.

Thank you for sharing your experience, this exchange with our guests is essential!

I make myself available for any clarification as well as we hope to see you soon ..

Sincerely;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

The hotel is located at very good place in Fortaleza, all rooms overlooking the sea. Structure and service of hotel is good.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cristianocouto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wagner r, Gerente at Golden Tulip Fortaleza, responded to this review, 4 October 2016
Dear Mr. Cristiano,

Thanks for your feedback. We appriciate the compliments of your satay.

Best regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Closter, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

On my return trip to Fortaleza, I thought I could do it on the cheap and booked a room at the Golden Tulip to save some money but I should have known that you always get what you pay for. The location is located at the far end of the main Beira Mar strip far removed from the main people watching scene of Beira Mar, and is right next to a typical favela notorious for crushing poverty and crime you always hear about. If you want to be centrally located where all the people watching scene is at, then this is not the place. However, if you want to be next to the city's main fish market, then this is the right place for you. I got a real crappy room, second floor with a view of the next door cantina and it was a nightmare with the constant stream of customers all throughout the day and night blaring their music all night long. I tried in vain to request another room, but the hotel was booked solid so I just had to stew in my frustration vowing that I would remember this slight vowing to never spend my gringo dollars at this hotel ever again. To be fair, there were some good points about the hotel. The structure itself is spacious and airy, the rooms are always clean and the bathroom is spacious and comfortable. However, my AC was pretty weak and always on the fritz so it began to grate on me as it was a struggle to consistently maintain the temperature I wanted without calling the service technician. The staff was very friendly however and I'll give them credit for trying their best to satisfy a disgruntled customer. The pool was the best thing about the hotel as it has the best view of the beach of all the hotels in Beira Mar. But that's not saying much as your view is comprised of stray dogs and drunks defecating on the beach where the favela kids blissfully swim in the fecund waters without regard to hygiene and Hepatitis. So, you can bet that the only water that was touching me was from either the pool or the shower. Breakfast was underwhelming even by brazilian standards. However, one can make up for their less than appetizing breakfast offerings by going to the best seafood restaurants in the city in my book. Just walk across the street from the hotel and you will find Peixada do Meio, Alfredo Rei da Peixada, and Marquinhos del Cearense all standing side by side from each other.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dupree93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wagner r, Gerente at Golden Tulip Fortaleza, responded to this review, 4 October 2016
Dear guest,

Thanks for the feedback and we apologize for the faults occurred.

Thank you for your compliments to our service.

Regards,

Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fortaleza hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Fortaleza
Comfort Hotel Fortaleza
#13 of 95 in Fortaleza
2,678 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Fortaleza
Holiday Inn Fortaleza
#8 of 95 in Fortaleza
1,948 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seara Praia Hotel
Seara Praia Hotel
#9 of 95 in Fortaleza
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Othon Palace Fortaleza
Othon Palace Fortaleza
#12 of 95 in Fortaleza
835 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Marquise
Hotel Gran Marquise
#1 of 95 in Fortaleza
2,175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulip Inn Fortaleza
Tulip Inn Fortaleza
#34 of 95 in Fortaleza
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Fortaleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Fortaleza

Property: Golden Tulip Fortaleza
Address: Avenida Beira Mar 4753 | Mucuripe, Fortaleza, State of Ceara 60165-121, Brazil (Formerly Golden Tulip Iate Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Ceara > Fortaleza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Fortaleza
#15 Business Hotel in Fortaleza
#23 Family Hotel in Fortaleza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Tulip Fortaleza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of Mucuripe Beach, only a few steps from the traditional Yacht Club, near the city's cultural and leisure area, with easy access to the city's main tourist points, such as the Ponte dos Ingleses and Central Market.Golden Tulip Iate Plaza has 232 comfortable rooms, with 1 or 2 bedrooms, including living room, kitchen and a sea view balcony, all equipped with air conditioning, minibar, safe, cable TV, and wi-fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Golden Tulip Fortaleza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortaleza Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Fortaleza Ceara, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing