We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good apartment but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Brasil Tropical
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Fortaleza
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good apartment but overpriced”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We arrived at the hotel at 13:00 but couldn't check in because apartments are only available from 2PM on. We came back to the hotel almost 4PM and apartment wasn't ready.We had to wait additional 20 minutes to get in. Staff gave us some complimentary drinks to compensate for the delay.
The apartment is quite good (2 bedrooms) with good AC and beds. TV didn't work so well nor WIFI.
Apartment has a stove but no utensils nor pans to be able to use it.
For the price and kind of apartment, the shower should be better. Flow and temperature of water weren't good.
It is a good apartment but overpriced for what it delivers. Very good size for family of 5 or 6.

Room Tip: very good size for a family of 5 (we had the 2 bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjancso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    399
    106
    19
    27
See reviews for
305
219
45
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is an apart hotel. I was a bit hesitant because of the name of the hotel. I travelled alone and stayed one night during the world cup. I had an apartment with separate bedroom, small (american) kitchen, balcony with seaview. Perfect location, friendly service, excellent breakfast, just one block away from beach, restaurants and night life. Can definitely recommend. Will go there again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Guido H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hue, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel is good value for money, close to the beach, just one small block, conveniently there is a Gas Station with a Grocery Store right opposite the hotel. My room had a separate living area balcony, fridge, kitchen sink even a stove AS IT IS A HOTEL APARTMENT. I could see the beach from my balcony in the corner of the room, not all rooms will have views though. THE HOTEL IS LOCATED IN THE HAPPENING AREA OF Miereles, night market is very close. The breakfast is great!

A travel agents is located on the ground floor so booking day excursions to any of the following places is easy and the excursion prices are very cheap (Canoa Quebrada, Morro Bronco, Praia de Futuro, Jeri etc etc) be warned though they might not speak english, Spanish or Portuguese is a minimum, this is where the concierge was happy to talk to the agents on my behalf, then on the trip my 'Poco Hablo Espanol' got me by. The only constructive criticism I have of this hotel is that the windows are single glazed so more noise than needed penetrates but its okay!

THE MOST IMPORTANT THING IS THAT I LOST MY WALLET WITH AROUND A THOUSAND DOLLARS IN THERE….AND THE STAFF RETURNED IT TO ME! THEY COULD HAVE KEPT IT, I WOULD HAVE BEEN NONE THE WISER AS I DROPPED IT IN A INCONSPICUOUS PLACE BUT THEY RETURNED IT TO ME. I AM SO GRATEFUL.

THANKS GUYS, NORTH EAST BRASIL IS THE BEST

Room Tip: One Corner of the hotel has suites which have views of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vinnykanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A very beautiful hotel to stay and probably the best for its space, comfort.

it was like a one bedroom flat with space for a small bar and a separate living room.

The view is amazing and you can see the Fortaleza beaches and it's blue clear ocean. Would definitely be going there when next I visit BRASIL

Visited during the World Cup in June 2014 and still got a room at a bargain price. The breeze from the top floor was amazing. I was on the topmost floor which was fantastic and absolutely brilliant place to stay


Wifi does not work well during the days. But seems very fast during the night. Anyway, you need to spend your day time along the beaches rather than staying indoors. This is no problem at all personally.

Room Tip: Go for the top most floors to get the amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DupsyLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I think that we may have been lucky, as we got a bedroom and lounge, I am not sure that this is usual, however, it did make for an enjoyable stay. The rooms have balconies, ours with a sea view. The hotel is certainly convenient for the seafront, with lots of restaurants. The hotel, seems a little tired, but clean. Nearly every hotel that I have stayed in, in Fortaleza, seems tired. It seems as if many of the hotels were built a few years ago, to very high standards, but have not been renovated often enough. This is not always reflected in the high prices charged. Never-the-less, this hotel is one of the better ones and the staff areffriendly and helpful. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

To begin with, the hotel doesnt even have the basic emergency kit every hotel is required to have in Brazil. We needed help, my father-in-law was hurt after being robbed and the hotel manager simply said that he didnt have a kit and didnt offer any sort of help. Nothing. Actually, he couldnt care less about our situation.
As for the hotel, it's poor quality, poor furniture, poor service overall. The housekeeper likes banging the door insistently early in the morning and doesnt care to announce herself after you jump out of bed and ask who it is.
Simply put - if you have another choice of place to stay, go for it

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MariaAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nobile_Brasil, Diretor de vendas at Hotel Brasil Tropical, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Madam,
Received with concern your comments on the stay at the hotel.
We hope that your knee has recovered from scratches and that we have helped with your Late check out after the conversation with the Operational Manager. Unfortunately we have not had a chance to hear your story while still staying about the behavior of the maid that is not our standard as you can see by other assessments. Take this opportunity to thank you, because with the occurrence of your injury, we noticed a flaw in our procedures and now corrected does not incur one other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The room was great, very efficient air-conditioning units, great refrigerator, 2 full bathrooms, and excellent partial ocean view.

I had a few problems with reception staff who tried to charge my credit card in advance even though the reservation stated that the credit card would be charged in case of no-show (but I checked in around 9:30pm).

The hotel restaurant was a huge disappointment. They had a dinner buffet special running all week days known as "Festival do Camarao", or "Shrimp Festival". What an expensive joke! Next time I will bring loupes with me to be able to find the shrimp. Out of over 12 dishes only one had medium-sized shrimp, all the other were made with a kind of minuscule tasteless shrimp, probably purchased frozen in bulk. All servers were great and helpful, but the restaurant cashier was not a very happy person.....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nontroppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fortaleza hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luzeiros
Hotel Luzeiros
#7 of 95 in Fortaleza
2,122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Fortaleza
Holiday Inn Fortaleza
#8 of 95 in Fortaleza
1,944 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Fortaleza
Comfort Hotel Fortaleza
#13 of 95 in Fortaleza
2,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seara Praia Hotel
Seara Praia Hotel
#9 of 95 in Fortaleza
1,641 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carmel Magna Praia Hotel
Carmel Magna Praia Hotel
#5 of 95 in Fortaleza
1,410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Mayor
Hotel Villa Mayor
#6 of 95 in Fortaleza
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brasil Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brasil Tropical

Property: Hotel Brasil Tropical
Address: Avenida da Abolicao 2323 | Meireles, Fortaleza, State of Ceara 60165-075, Brazil (Formerly Nobile Suites Brasil Tropical)
Region: Brazil > State of Ceara > Fortaleza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fortaleza
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fortaleza
#19 Family Hotel in Fortaleza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Brasil Tropical 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best in Meireles Beach, Brasil Tropical Hotel is the one chosen by the city's cultural place for productions, such as film and dance festivals and artists coming to perform in Fortaleza. The restaurant has its own attraction and charm. A traditional self-service services for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Location: Located at Meireles Beach, just only one block from the Handicraft Market and meters away from the Metal Bridge and the Dragão do Mar Cultural Centre, a colorful and amazing place full of bars, restaurants, cinemas and theater. Brazil Tropical Hotel hosts a versatile convention centre in a privilegie area for all kind of event that includes 03 meeting rooms that can be divided foa a 200 people capacity. The meeting and conference center also has a support room for secretary and just amazing for small and reserved meetings. Stylish restaurant serving brazilian and internacional cuisine. Our Chefs are award winners and quite prepared to serve the best brazilian and international cuisine in an amazing enviroment, rocked with live music in the dinning time. Breakfast: 06:30am to 10:00am - Sliced bread with butter/jam/honey, cheese, meat, croissants, sandwiches, pastries, rolls, fruit juice and various hot beverages and gourmet show cooking omelette and tapioca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brasil Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nobile Suites Brasil Tropical Hotel Fortaleza
Hotel Brasil Tropical Fortaleza, Ceara, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing