We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good hotel at all”
Review of Ponta Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ponta Mar Hotel
Ranked #19 of 95 Hotels in Fortaleza
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a good hotel at all”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Wifi only near the reception, rooms very noisy (impossible to sleep), air conditionning too noisy, dirty bathroom, bad smells everywhere....... And cockroachs in the corridors ( !!! )
I was working, hope you are not going here for holidays, really...

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    620
    225
    61
    34
See reviews for
579
360
35
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We'll agree with all the negative comments reg the room (window mounted old ac either being on or off, bad insulation, noisy, need refurbishment, no internet etc. etc. )
To add, no ironing board, the staff does not speak English, check in takes 15 mins and to my amazement the bar closes at 23:00! Come on what kind of a tourist establishment is this? To open up a bottle and put it to my room seemed impossible!

To sum up, poorly furnished hotel (looks good on the outside though) with lousy service. Planning a nice vacation? Stay away, definitely not 4 star (not even 3 by my standards)!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nosferatu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Good location and safe environment. Hotelrooms have seen their best days, but for me they were ok. Breakfast is awesome. Check that fruit-table. Pool-area is pretty small. Staff is friendly and helpful, but only few speaks english.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matadori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Our stay was quite pleasant.The only hiccup was at the receptionist when she took some time to get us into our room.
The full buffet,Brazilian and regional foods were welcomed by myself and spouse.Lots of choices.People were just relaxed and enjoying their meals.
Maybe for business it may not be ideal as it does have a laid back feeling .
For a short stay to get away from the bustle,I fully recommend.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the sea....always action non stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrybacchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaragoza, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

I had a very short stay, only 1 night, with very late arrival for a business trip. It was enough. Non working wifi in the room. Breakfast very basic. And the hotel crowded with people on trunks and flip-flops; of course included the lifts, absolutely incapable to cope with the demand. Never again for business; but even never again for leisure.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis_de_Zaragoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The hotel is in a nice location right on the beach and from the outside it looks not too bad, staff is helpfull and overall the hotel is clean and well maintained; the problems with this hotel seem to be hidden underneath the surface.

The construction is merely an assembly of shiny-tiled concrete floors each divided by paper-thin plaster/cardboard 'walls' creating a succession of equal sized tiny compartments (rooms) along a central corridor. Front rooms facing the ocean, rear rooms facing...construction sites.

The facade of the hotel from the bottom to the roof consists of nothing more than a single layer of glass, missing any kind of insulation (both against heat and sound).

Room furniture seems to have been rescued from a refurbishing operation at the sister hotel Seara Praia (...the control panel next to the bed still carried the Seara Praia logo).

The small rooms look basic and lack any sound proofing; in addition housekeeping staff is very noisy (music, hard talking, doors banging, ...) which makes it a challenge if you want to rest or do some reading/working in the room.

Bed and mattress was fine.

The hotel lacks a central airconditiong system; individual airconditioning units in the room are noisy and hard to control (either on or off, nothing in between) and the airflow directly hits the bed which is quite uncomfortable - no way to adjust the airflow in another direction so you would find yourself shutting down the unit after a while and prefer to stay in a hot room instead; given the building lacks any form of insulation this is quite a challenge.

Toilet paper is not up to a 4 star hotel level. Bathroom amenities are basic.

WiFi worked fine and in the room you have an option of wired access too which works fine as well.

Breakfast has a wide choice of mainly bread and cake as well as a series of fruits but lacks some other basic components. Overall not satisfactory even though the two buffet tables look impressive at first sight (which in a way reflects the overall impression for the entire hotel...).

During my stay I did not try the small hotel pool which is located right behind the reception (the pool area smelled with exhaust fumes from a compressor running in the construction site behind the hotel - guess this would be of a temporary nature only).

Room Tip: If you decide to stay at Ponta Mar, ask for an ocean view, bring ear plugs and take the poor A/C for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vdbgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I stayed with my family at the Ponta Mar Hotel in Fortaleza on July 15, 2012. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean. The breakfast was okay and I wished someone had told me about the omelete station outside...although I found out the last two days of my stay about it, I can say that it was the better half of the breakfast. They also make fresh tapioca at that station. Overall, my hotel experience was good, fair price, and friendly staff. Location was great.

Room Tip: I stayed in a high floor and the only drawback was to wait for the elevators. They only have two ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fortaleza hotels
0.5 mi away
Seara Praia Hotel
Seara Praia Hotel
#9 of 95 in Fortaleza
1,623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mareiro Hotel
Mareiro Hotel
#14 of 95 in Fortaleza
1,412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luzeiros
Hotel Luzeiros
#7 of 95 in Fortaleza
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Marina Park Hotel
Marina Park Hotel
#22 of 95 in Fortaleza
1,969 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Marquise
Hotel Gran Marquise
#1 of 95 in Fortaleza
2,152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carmel Magna Praia Hotel
Carmel Magna Praia Hotel
#4 of 95 in Fortaleza
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponta Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponta Mar Hotel

Property: Ponta Mar Hotel
Address: Avenida Beira Mar 2200 | Meireles, Fortaleza, State of Ceara 60165-120, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Ceara > Fortaleza
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fortaleza
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fortaleza
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fortaleza
#13 Family Hotel in Fortaleza
#14 Business Hotel in Fortaleza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ponta Mar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ponta Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponta Mar Hotel Fortaleza, Ceara, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing