We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Praia do Futuro” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flat VG Fun na Praia do Futuro em Fortaleza - CE

Flat VG Fun na Praia do Futuro em Fortaleza - CE
Book In Advance
More Info
US$34.99*
and up
Fortaleza City Tour
Ranked #8 of 175 things to do in Fortaleza
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beach is notable for is strong surf and plentiful bars.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Praia do Futuro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at a hotel along Beira Mar. It is very safe, with walking path along the beach front. We took a bus (no. 49) from outside the hotel, bus fare R2.20 per person to the Croco beach on Praia do Futuro.
Just note that the Crcobeach is a block away from the bus route. There is no way of knowing when to get off unless someone told you. We were fortunate to have some Brazilian on the bus who tells us. If not, make sure you ask the bus driver.

It's a good place to spend a couple of hours on the beach in the shade, with music and lots of yummy seafood.

We took the same bus number 49 on the opposite side of the road where we last got off. Best to visit in the day time as several review on trip-advisor have said so. It is not particularly a good area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pink L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,082 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,812
    4,620
    1,963
    464
    223
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good for day trips only!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Praia do Futuro is beach located a few kilometers outside central Fortaleza, Brazil. It is prettier and much cleaner than the other city beaches which are polluted to the point of being unusable. Futuro has dozens of large barracas, or beach restaurants that generally are open only during the day and on Thursday nights. My favorite one is Coco Beach, which serves an excellent traditional feijoada buffet with two live bands (typically one forro, the other samba), every Saturday afternoon. The bands can be quite good.

Unfortunately Futuro beach is not great for swimming, given undertows and dangerous surf. That is not the only danger, as Futuro borders a large favela which makes walking around the streets during day risk and absolutely unsafe at night.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Edison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dream Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is your 70-80s Picture Wallpaper come true. Coconut Trees all the way down to the beach. And obviously the grow naturally here and not being planted like at the Cote Azure in France or so.

Remember that Fortaleza is located almost directly under the equator which means seasons are almost missing here, therefore when you make yourself comfortable under those coconut trees check first whats hanging there above you! Who wants to have a fresh coconut falling in his/her head ...

Next amazing thing is the water temperature. Even further out it is warmer than the mediteranean. If you want to cool down you have will have to use the hotel pool, the water there is cooler. This is the open Atlantic Ocean though, so waves can be quite high even on quiet days and there are some underwater currents that you should watch when you go swimming.

Saturdays all the locals are at the beach as well, playing football. Just have a seat in the sand watching the locals play football at the beach is entertaining and from then on you know why Brasil is 5 times World Champion!

About safety: The Beach is located within a poorer area of town. To avoid unpleasant situations one might want to dress like the locals, which usually is rubber flip flops, shorts and a tank top or a T-Shirt. Any kind of valuables however belong in the hotel safe. Secondly stay in the area where the hotels and the beach clubs are. If you continue to wander north on the beach you will notice that the houses look more and more run down. That is when you turn round and start walking back to where you came from. We stayed at a hotel at Praia Futuro for two weeks and were all fine.

The Sun: I am mixed race and do not need any kind of sunprotection anywhere in europe, I had a proper sunburn after an extended two hour walk on the beach. Next I saw a local girl whos skin colour was almost black and she used sunblocker factor 15.

If you are a white person please do yourself a favour and get proper sunprotection, otherwise the sun will burn you like deep red to an extent that didn't look healthy to me anymore.

Once a week all the clubs at the beach offer fresh crabs which is also a very nice experience, sitting in a nice bar at the beach with a bowl of crabs in front of you and a hammer...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tectone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fool's paradise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you stay in your "resort" area (restaurant / bar) and just enjoy the food and scenery, you should be okay, but if you go for a walk on the beach after lunch like we did -- even though a busy beach with lots of activity and broad daylight -- you might get robbed. My husband and I were having a lovely day when we were aggressively grabbed, yelled at and shaken by two thiefs. We had to give them our bag. Thankfully, some kind local men playing soccer nearby chased the thieves, who dropped everything but our new camera. The people helped us get to the police and tell them the story and even caught one of the thiefs! Big thanks to the people who helped us -- we are grateful. But we don't recommend visiting this beach.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Canama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
1,049 reviews
887 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Great structure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The beach has one of the best structures for turists. Lots of bars in the beach, some with swimming pool and other amenities. Great place to go with family

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fabiano F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flat VG Fun na Praia do Futuro em Fortaleza - CE also viewed

 

Been to Flat VG Fun na Praia do Futuro em Fortaleza - CE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing