We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real hidden gem in Jeri”
Review of Pousada Papaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pousada Papaya
Ranked #9 of 107 Jericoacoara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This pousada is a real gem. Daily breakfasts with views of the sunset dune were sublime, the staff are courteous and friendly, although they do not speak English. The gardens were beautiful and perfectly maintained, the swimming pool was clean and protected from the harsh sun in the afternoon. The location was perfect - only a 5 minute walk to the centre of the village, with gorgeous restaurants and bars around the corner and the sunset dune right outside.

This place comes very highly recommended. My room had a view of the ocean, a television, a nice big comfy bed, my own ensuite and a mini-bar/fridge.

If you are looking for a comfortable pousada with great facilities at a great price, you have to choose this place. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the pool have 2 levels - upstairs is a mezzanine with a bed, while downstairs is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

Staying at Pousada Papaya was the highlight of our trip to Brazil. We (a couple) stayed there for three nights in March 2012. We got the suite in a separate "building" with our own balcony and ocean view. That was a great choice! The room was clean and comfortable, enough space. The whole property is full of plants and flowers and well groomed. It looks lovely! Lots of hammocks around available for relaxing. There is a nice pool as well. The staff is friendly. There is soft music playing at the reception almost all the time, I really liked their choice. Breakfast is quite good (a lot of sweet things to eat).
The Pousada is some 5-10 min walking from the bus station, next to the big Dune where everybody goes to watch the sunset in the evening. Jeri is small and you can walk around everywhere. The whole place is just very calm, and pleasant. Sand, the ocean, windsurfing (if you're into that), buggy rides and starry nights as well as its secludedness make Jeri a great destination.

Room Tip: If you can, choose the suite in the separate "building" with a balcony and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyfeet051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This pousada is really nice. Nice building. Amazing garden that is well groomed. Great small pool though I am not a fan of pools on the beach front. Excellent breakfast with freshly cooked cakes daily. Nice room too. BUT....
It is completely lifeless. I have not seen anyone there but the cook and the cleaner though it was apparently full. Also the owners were away so I was essentially given the keys and that is it. No info, no one to talk to. It is ok, I don't ask for entertainment but I have seen other posadas here and elsewhere. When hey were back, they were nice. In addition the laundry prices are almost 10 times more than the rest of Jeri. Almost Hilton NYC...with all due respect. Of course I didn't use their facilities.
Not highly recommended for solo travellers unless you want to feel solo.
More in my travel blog http://setfreelamericatrip2011.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

When I decided to go to Jericoacoara, I didn't want to stay in one of those fancy places there. Instead, I looked for a nice place and something affordable. Pousada Papaya offered what I wanted. Clean and comfortable trooms, friendly staff, a very good breakfast, a very cozy small hotel. Like in many other hotels in the city, you get in touch with the owners, and they were really nice and helpful.
The hotel's got a small swimming pool, they offer free wi-fi services, you can choose among different room categories and prices, and they offer meals if you require them in advance.
Anyways, I was pretty satisfied with their services and the treatment I received there. If I have the chance, I'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: They will let you know the different types of rooms they have and what each one offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank andrewsvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We'd loved to have stayed in this pousada. We booked for three days and had to pay a deposit of 2 days. No problem of course and perfectly understandable. However, due to severe weather conditions in Europe our flights were canceled day after day after day. Result: not able to get to Jeri on time.

We know that the deposit is non-refundable, but we expected some compassion after explaining why we had to cancel. This is simply a case of force majeur. Unfortunately they are not to be convinced and we lost our deposit. So before booking this pousada please make sure there's no chance of cancelling.

If there's anyone wanting to use our (paid) reservation for December 22nd-25th, please let me know.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank yomiwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pousadapapaya, Proprietário at Pousada Papaya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011
Google Translation

De acorco com a nossa "politica de Reservas e Cancelamentos" que é enviada à todos os clientes antes de efetuarem qualquer pagamento, nos meses de férias a reserva poderà ser cancelada com até 30 dias de antecedencia (o valor pago poderà ser usado por uma terceira pessoa, ou ficar de crédito p/ ser usado em até 365 dias (1 ano), da data do cancelamento.
Infelizmente esse cliente, em especial, 2 dias antes do check-in, teve problemas com os aeroportos , e entendendo a dificuldade, oferecemos as opçoes acima (mesmo estando fora dos nossos prazos) e nenhuma das 2 opçoes foi aceita,...infelizmente nao pudemos fazer nada além de desconsiderar a reserva que jà esta confirmada.
att,
Lizge Gobbato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Hi.
My wife and I spend the holly week holiday in the Papaya pousada. The place is easy to find, just 50m (165 feets) from the bus station. It is a quiet place, just 5 minutes walking from the center of the village.
The small swimming pool at the end of the day is delicious, surrounded by plants and flowers. The room cleaned every day, with comfortable bed and wonderful view of the dune from the superior apartments. The owner was always available to answer any doubt. It was a fantastic time, great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bragbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We had a terrific stay in Papaya. It's very cute, a little bit outside the village centre and the garden and (small) pool area were great to hang out in. Breakfast was a treat, and included a variety of different sweet baked treats every day. Out of season they have terrific special offers, but even in high season we thought it was worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tombrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jericoacoara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Terra Viva
Hotel Villa Terra Viva
#17 of 24 in Jericoacoara
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Vila Bela Vista
Pousada Vila Bela Vista
#13 of 24 in Jericoacoara
617 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Vento de Jeri
Pousada Vento de Jeri
#11 of 24 in Jericoacoara
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pousada Carcara
Pousada Carcara
#1 of 107 in Jericoacoara
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Naquela Jericoacoara
Pousada Naquela Jericoacoara
#5 of 107 in Jericoacoara
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Surfing Jeri
Pousada Surfing Jeri
#4 of 107 in Jericoacoara
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Papaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Papaya

Address: Rua das Dunas 74, Jericoacoara, Jijoca de Jericoacoara, State of Ceara 62598-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Ceara > Jijoca de Jericoacoara > Jericoacoara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Jericoacoara
Price Range: £49 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Papaya opened its doors in July 2003 and is situated in a privileged position next to the largest and most famous dune in Jericoacoara (Duna Por Do Sol/Sunset Dune). We are 70 meters from the beach. The pousada is surrounded by a lovely tropical garden which is looked after by the owners, Lizge and Gianluca. We have recently remodelled and can offer four different types of accommodation. We have a cozy lounge area and a reading room. Free Wi-Fi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pousada Papaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Papaya Jericoacoara, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing