We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel America do Sul
Certificate of Excellence
Sucre, Bolivia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great new hostel”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Very nice and new hostel (it opened its doors only 6 months ago)

Nice and friendly stuff. Very helpful!

The breakfast is alright/good. 2 pieces of cake, coffee, a glass of juice, bread, 2 pieces of ham and 2 pieces of cheese.

The only negative issue is the Internet. Bad connection! !!! At almost any time of the day.

Apart from that, its a spacious, nice hostel!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeIXUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hostel, right by the sunset dune in Jericoacoara. The dorms were really nice; lots of separate areas, clean, comfortable beds, big bathrooms. There was a really nice communal space outside and all you need for cooking your own food.
Enrique and his staff were fantastic help with everything about Jericoacoara and onward travel. Great company, too!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawei, Myanmar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I had the pleasure to stay at America do Sul before it was even open.
I really like the atmospheres Enrique and his friends creating. Everybody was trying to speak English with me even their native tongue is Spanish. The place offers comfort mattress and spacious bathrooms. I really like when you not bumming your knees on something while your sitting on the toilet or smashing your elbows when trying to turn around in the shower. Furthermore you have great common areas and hammocks everywhere. The breakfast is generous and available at all times a day Enrique told me. That’s what I call service. Keep on going that way mate. I hope to return when you place is 100% completed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karl r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Already the arrival was very nice. The Argentinian that are running the hostel are very friendly, put on some beautiful latin music and create a unique atmosphere. On one day they even backed a cake for one guest, as it was the guest`s birthday. Definately to recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Swennsonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

What a great hostel in a beautiful place jericoacoara. Super friendly community atmosphere and hammocks galore. The manager enrique is a great guy, very friendly and accommodating. Included is a great breakfast which you can have when you wake up, not just until 10! I met some amazing people had a fantastic time in hostel America do sul. 20 out of 10

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is the coolest place I have ever stayed and recommend it highly for your stay in Jeri. Enrique is the king of hosts, welcoming, helpful, kind, always professional and always relaxed. His staff are discreet, polite and equally professional. This is a clean, well maintained hostel, ideally located for access to the sunset dune, the beach and downtown Jeri. You can look forward to a lovely fresh breeze from the trees which surround the hostel as you swing in a hammock to the best sounds in town. Im missing it already. Lucky you, it's to come!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olinda, PE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Brilliant staff. Helpful, fun and inclusive.
Location could not be better. It is very close to the beach and to the popular sunset dune.
Rooms, kitchen, bathrooms, etc meet all basic hygenic standards.

If you want a good time, a good deal and a good accomodation this is it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khalil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jericoacoara hotels
0.2 mi away
A Estrela d'Alva Pousada
A Estrela d'Alva Pousada
#24 of 24 in Jericoacoara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Essenza Hotel
Essenza Hotel
#5 of 24 in Jericoacoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Vento de Jeri
Pousada Vento de Jeri
#12 of 24 in Jericoacoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Chic Hostel Pousada
Villa Chic Hostel Pousada
#1 of 76 in Jericoacoara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Atlantis
Pousada Atlantis
#6 of 99 in Jericoacoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jeri Brasil Hostel
Jeri Brasil Hostel
#7 of 76 in Jericoacoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel America do Sul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel America do Sul

Property: Hostel America do Sul
Address: Rua das Dunas 130, Jericoacoara, Jijoca de Jericoacoara, State of Ceara 62598-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Ceara > Jijoca de Jericoacoara > Jericoacoara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Jericoacoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel America do Sul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel America Do Sul Jericoacoara, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing