We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best choice, but needs improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Appleton
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“My best choice, but needs improvements”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Good hotel and value for money. Rooms are clean and spacious, staff in general are very nice and helpful.

My only negative comment is that the breakfast buffet is less than average and the restaurant staff are unfriendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rami O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    77
    49
    27
    12
See reviews for
71
33
14
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pulaski, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed here the night before an early morning flight out of Appleton. I was not sure how this hotel would be since I didn't know anyone that had stayed here. Needing a place with an airport shuttle, I really had no choice.
We were quite surprised. The room was clean, large, quiet, and for whatever reason, it was on the executive level. Prior to my stay here, I had never stayed in a hotel where I wasn't woken up at least 3 times by slamming doors at least 3 times. Not here! It was bliss.
The amenties were nice, bathroom was big and clean. We had a King sofabed room. Our 12-year old said the sofa bed was comfortable. The bed was really comfortable.
We didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't say how that is.
Most of the staff was great. The only thing we didn't care for was the morning desk clerk. When I called down to the desk to arrange our ride and the clerk argued with me about what time I needed to leave. He said that I didn't need to leave as early as we were. I was a little put out by that and still left when I wanted. He did apologize when we got downstairs, but still you don't TELL the customer what they want, the customer tells you.
We will stay here again for our next early flight.

Room Tip: If you can, book the club or executive level. It's carded access so much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armywife97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed 1 night on our way to Green Bay. The room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Our 2 Double-bed room included an armchair with ottoman, refrigerator & microwave. The employees were all very nice and friendly. The hotel has quiet hours starting at 10:00 pm, which was great, because there were many kids cruising around earlier in the evening. Another great idea they had was elevator operators (weekends), which kept the kids from playing in the elevators.

Room Tip: If there are baseball, soccer, etc. teams staying there, ask for a room away from the ice machine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank we_drive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Forest, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We were told that if rented a minimum number of rooms that we could have use to one of their banquet rooms. We had roughly a 100+ people there and some were gathered in the banquet room playing cards and such. The manager came in and told us we had 10 minutes to get out because they needed to clean the room for the next day. We were never told earlier when we booked our rooms that this would be an issue. We were then kicked out into the bar where the manager personally dumped out our drinks and told us we had to purchase drinks from the bar to remain in there. WE WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE NOR EVER RETURN!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Appleton, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
I apologize for the way our staff handled your group and the hospitality room. I have reviewed your comments with our entire staff and realize that communication is very important for an enjoyable guest stay. While we offer hospitality rooms for many groups, sometimes those rooms are booked the next day for meetings, which require staff to clean and re-set the rooms. We try very hard to ensure the group leader knows this ahead of time to avoid such confusion.
Again I apologize that this may not have happened. State law requires that only purchased drinks are served in our bar and pub. We are not allowed to have carry-ins in these areas. It seems that we coluld have relayed this information to you in a better way.

Your feedback is important to us and we have better lines of communication in place to help with these situations in the future. Shawn Kennedy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Appleton hotels

De Forest, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed here for a soccer tournament about a month ago. My son and I got in late around 10:00 so we went to the bar to get a couple of sodas. The manager came up to us and said "you cant be in here you have to leave now". We were not ordering drinks just pepsi. We had a block of 100 rooms and they told us we could have a banquet room. Well before I got there they kicked us out and said "they have a gift opening in the morning and had to clean". I have never been to a hotel and talked to like a kid. If you cant handel a few soccer teams dont take the reservations!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Decent hotel. Good location. Crazy weekend with state soccer tourney in town. All of my special requests were granted. Check-in good,

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cy91clone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn K, Manager at Holiday Inn Appleton, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank You for your feedback and choosing the Holiday Inn Appleton. We are glad you had such a great time and hope to host you and your group in the future! Shawn Kennedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee, wi
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We reserved a room for 2 adults and 2 children, no smoking. When we checked in we were given a room with one bed and told that there were no rollaways available. The room also smelled like a smoking room. When I asked to be switched to a room w/2 beds I was told that since we booked through Hotwire, there was nothing they could do for us. The front desk clerk was not nice at all. One call to Hotwire and they booked us into a different (much nicer) hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katibug4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn K, Manager at Holiday Inn Appleton, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
We apologize for not being albe to accomodate your request for a room with two beds. This weekend was very busy with the State Cup Soccer and the only rooms that were left were rooms with one bed. I apologize that Hotwire did not inform you that was the type of room they booked for you. We appreciate you selecting our hotel and hope to have the chance to have you as our guest in the near future. Shawn Kennedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
0.4 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
0.7 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#10 of 25 in Appleton
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Appleton-Fox River Mall Area
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Appleton College Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Appleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Appleton

Property: Holiday Inn Appleton
Address: 150 S Nicolet Rd, Appleton, WI 54914-3947
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Appleton 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm & warmth of Appleton, Wisconsin & the Fox Cities! The Holiday Inn Hotel in Appleton provides a lodging experience like no other in the Fox Valley. Conveniently located 1.5 miles from Appleton/Outagamie County Airport (ATW), the Appleton hotel offers complimentary shuttle service. Our newly renovated Appleton hotel is located at the corner of US Hwy 41 and College Avenue (exit 137). Within minutes of many area businesses and attractions like the Fox River Mall, Fox Cities Performing Arts Center and just thirty minutes from Lambeau Field, home of the Green Bay Packers! Relax, It's Holiday Inn! where Kids Stay and Eat Free we are sure to have something for everyone. Let the kids swim, play video games or explore while Mom and Dad relax in our oversized whirlpool. The Holiday Inn Appleton hotel specializes in meeting and exceeding the needs of the corporate traveler. We offer complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the entire hotel. Enjoy a hot breakfast in the Terrace Cafe and unwind after a long day in Marlon's Pub & Grill. Planning your next event in Appleton, Wisconsin, think of the Holiday Inn Hotel! Our sales and catering professionals take pride in providing outstanding service and facilities for your next wedding, conference, banquet or reunion. Reality Refreshed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Appleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Appleton Hotel Appleton
Appleton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing