We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good choice!”

Red Ox Seafood & Steakhouse
Ranked #19 of 366 Restaurants in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Serving the Valley for over 40 years. Serving lunch & dinner 7 days a week. Gourmet Sandwiches, "Big" Salads, Baked Stuffed Potatoes, Aged Steaks, Seafood, Veal, Chicken, Ribs, Duck, Veal & More.
Combined Locks, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
323 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Always a good choice!”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My wife and I try to go to the Ox at least monthly. We never have had a bad meal. Their early bird menu is great. I do agree that it is too bad that some of the natural light has been blocked by the lung cancer (smoking) porch. It's too bad that the money was not spent updating the interior.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wrigley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    31
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
179 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Food not fresh.”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Steaks are pre-cooked and re-heated via microwave, zapping all the juice out. The cedar planks they serve the meat on are old and dirty. All seafood is overcooked. Too many smoking customers hanging out in front, and you need to push you way through the over crowded bar to gain access to the restaurant. Too many employees take thier smoke break outside the side door, directly on Onieda... it's dirty, out dated, food is stale. Not going back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
326 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, extensive menu”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Ate at Red Ox as part of a business meeting. We had a private room for a group of 10. Service was good, and my sandwhich (turkey with cranberry and more) was quite tasty. My wife had a prime rib sandwhich that she said just melted in the mouth! Menu was quite extensive - haddock, for example, with 8 different ways to prepare it, and salmon with 4 options. Outdoor seating was right along the side street, but as we left was filled with patrons. Nice place - I'd come back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happyrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This was a really nice place to go with friends for lunch. The bad part is I could not figure out what I wanted to eat because there were so many choices! I had ribs and my two friends picked their meals. We all shared! Wonderful choices, good food. It is not a fancy place but very comfy and customer service is great!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennaRae84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not gourmet, but good food”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

The menu here is immense. If you can't find something to eat, you're just not hungry. People rave about their fish...and it is tasty...but be forewarned, every piece of fish here is frozen. At these prices I would expect fresh. Their meat is especially good, and drinks are reasonably priced. Overall a decent place to eat, but do not expect trendy, gourmet, or fancy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1gudriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Ox Seafood & Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Red Ox Seafood & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing