We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST EVER!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Appleton
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Appleton
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WORST EVER!!!!”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We had two people staying in the room and two people meeting us in Appleton from Nearby. We were not allowed to check in until exactly 3:00 despite the fact they informed us there were rooms available. The only way to get in the hotel is through the front door.. the side door card readers are disabled. Each time you go in they want to know your room number and how many people are going there to make sure you only have the number of people you said were sleeping there and also to abid by the policy of no guests after 7:30pm. Are you kidding?! We don't go to dinner until well after that! We had a younger woman smoking outside a side door late at night and she propped it open. they closed it while she was standing right there and told her to walk all the way around the building by herself to get back in cause they cant prop doors open even though it was propped open with a door stopper. They did not give us any hotel policy information or reciept at check in or out. The staff was very rude and inquisitive to everything we were doing. There was nothing out for breakfast. I would NEVER NEVER recommend this place to anyone or stay here again. If they find out you have someone else stay there overnight and did not inform them in advance...even if its a last minute change you will be charged $50 per person they think stayed there. They tried to charge us by saying we saw everything on the cameras because we were watching you. Then they came outside with us to see how many people got into our car upon check out

Room Tip: Stay Somewhere Else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby101024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    112
    112
    75
    111
See reviews for
184
93
26
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

It was over priced. My room had a horrible smell of mold that was over powering. They knew of it and still gave it out. There's only one way in although there's several doors. I was to be staying in town for a long period of time, they had no company/corporate discounts. Customer service was horrible. I checked out prior to what I had paid for and when getting a refund back was a struggle and charged for the day as if I had stayed there. 420$ a week is way over charging and your getting nothing extra. I'd rather stay in a dive were I at least get what I paid for as to paying for a bunch of bs at a high price.
On top of it all was told that for the little refund I did get I was "lucky".
I work in the construction industry for a big company that requires us to travel this was by far the biggest dump I've ever stayed in. An I've stayed in some real dumps!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crebaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Very newly remodeled - rooms and lobby
King room was great, very clean and freshly painted
Bed was super comfortable with fresh new linens
Large flat screen TV was great
Refrig and micro were a plus
Continental breakfast was above average
Only negative was that the bathroom fixtures weren't brand new and there was a burn
mark on the vanity - but will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keke0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Stayed here the weekend of August 19th-21st. This hotel was totally gutted and remodeled and everything in it is only about a month old (all new carpeting, beds, flat screen tv's, everything!). I was the first guest in the room I stayed in, so obviously very clean and beds were comfortable being brand new. Has a great pool and hot tub. The staff was extra special! They went out of their way to make sure my stay was enjoyable and were extremely friendly and suggested things to do in the area with my 9 yr old son. Close to US 41 and plenty of restaurants around to choose from. I definitely will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sundevil1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appleton hotels
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 24 in Appleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Appleton
Red Roof Inn Appleton
#19 of 24 in Appleton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#10 of 24 in Appleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Appleton
Holiday Inn Appleton
#17 of 24 in Appleton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Appleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Appleton
Address: 200 N Perkins St, Appleton, WI 54914-3141 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Appleton 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Appleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Appleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing