We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel but room was very comfortable and quiet. Staff...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Appleton
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Older hotel but room was very comfortable and quiet. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We chose this hotel because it had a pool and other Wyndham hotels in area did not but there was a $50 room charge if we wanted to have a family member come over and swim. This was not known before getting there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Appleton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was in town for a local frisbee tournament and stayed here because some teammates were. The hotel is extremely average. It appears they tried to do some updates in the early 2000's but havent done anything since then. The hotel can be a bit noisy if kids are parading up the hall ways.

The staff was very friendly though. And they do have a basic cold breakfast available in the morning. And the location is close enough to the highway that you can travel around easily if you wish.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelasaurusW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This place is a joke. The WORST. We arrive and get our room. All the while there are hints of popcorn smells and cigarette smoke. Once we make it to the room our room number is nowhere to be found. We walk back and ask what that is about. We are shown our room by the front desk person. The room was massive and smelled like smoke and cat pee. We always had to go in the front door as the side door never worked with the key we were given. When we decided to leave they would not give a refund. They were very rude by this time and it took a month to finally go through the cooperate offices to get our money back. I will never go back to a Howard Johnson and highly recommend you stay away from this place.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Josephd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel was fine for what we needed. Nothing fancy but comfortable and clean. They kindly let us check in early as we needed to change clothes for a wedding. We weren't able to partake of breakfast as we had to leave quite early but what they offered looked good. Again, nothing fancy. Staff was helpful and friendly. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jerome M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appleton hotels
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Appleton
Red Roof Inn Appleton
#20 of 25 in Appleton
180 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 25 in Appleton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Motel 6 Appleton
Motel 6 Appleton
#24 of 25 in Appleton
204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#9 of 25 in Appleton
507 reviews
1.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Appleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Address: 200 N Perkins St, Appleton, WI 54914-3141 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Price Range: £38 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Appleton 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Appleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Appleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing