We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Your Daddy's Ho Jo's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Appleton
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Antioch, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not Your Daddy's Ho Jo's”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Normally I wouldn't write a review for a 3 start hotel, but my experience at the Ho Jo's in Appleton, WI was a pleasing stay and didn't have the garish orange and blue decoration. Instead I found a very clean hotel that looked more of a swiss-like chalet type interior. Since I was out of town, the desk staff were friendly and accomodating. Very good value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eirejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    115
    121
    84
    135
See reviews for
205
101
30
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was glad I read the previous reviews in order to choose a hotel for my Appleton stay. The fact that it was recently renovated made it clean feeling and therefore comfortable. I appreciated the desk to do my work with the free wi fi. The bed and pillows were very nice for a lower end hotel. The room was spacious yet a bit stark. My only complaint: 15 minutes before check out time I got both a courtesy call from the from the front desk and a knock from housekeeping reminding me of check out time. When I turned in my key the desk clerk apologized for being rude but the owners required him to do that and to charge if folks didn't check out on time. I've done a lot of traveling in a lot of hotels and never received that "courtesy" call and yes, to get both the call and the knock on the door seemed a bit pushy!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank joecd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

While not a newer property, this is a nice hotel for a great price. The beds were very comfortable and the continental breakfast more extensive than anticipated for the price. The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful. The location made it easy to get on-and-off College Avenue, which is not true of some of the other area hotels located near College Avenue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williford, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Older hotel but room was very comfortable and quiet. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We chose this hotel because it had a pool and other Wyndham hotels in area did not but there was a $50 room charge if we wanted to have a family member come over and swim. This was not known before getting there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was in town for a local frisbee tournament and stayed here because some teammates were. The hotel is extremely average. It appears they tried to do some updates in the early 2000's but havent done anything since then. The hotel can be a bit noisy if kids are parading up the hall ways.

The staff was very friendly though. And they do have a basic cold breakfast available in the morning. And the location is close enough to the highway that you can travel around easily if you wish.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelasaurusW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This place is a joke. The WORST. We arrive and get our room. All the while there are hints of popcorn smells and cigarette smoke. Once we make it to the room our room number is nowhere to be found. We walk back and ask what that is about. We are shown our room by the front desk person. The room was massive and smelled like smoke and cat pee. We always had to go in the front door as the side door never worked with the key we were given. When we decided to leave they would not give a refund. They were very rude by this time and it took a month to finally go through the cooperate offices to get our money back. I will never go back to a Howard Johnson and highly recommend you stay away from this place.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Appleton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appleton hotels
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton
1.0 mi away
Motel 6 Appleton
Motel 6 Appleton
#23 of 25 in Appleton
204 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Appleton
Red Roof Inn Appleton
#20 of 25 in Appleton
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 25 in Appleton
65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#8 of 25 in Appleton
500 reviews
1.5 mi away
Budget Inn of Appleton
Budget Inn of Appleton
#21 of 25 in Appleton
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Appleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Appleton
Address: 200 N Perkins St, Appleton, WI 54914-3141 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Appleton 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Appleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Appleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing