We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Airventure!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Appleton
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Appleton
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    111
    109
    72
    106
See reviews for
180
89
26
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights during the annual Oshkosh airshow,what a complete dive! Dirty,totally worn out ,shabby,not fit for your dog.No double locks on doors,butts all over the parking lot,not enough lighting in your room to read a large print newspaper.Smeely,stains on carpets,dank smeel.Don't waist you money here. Jacked up the nightly rate 300% ( $200.00 a night)due to the huge crowd attending the airshow 16 miles south.Sleep in your car before you book a room in this joint. The only way to fix the place is with a bulldozer! Booked through a 3rd party;how about a full refund?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwileeds4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

nice hotel
freindly staff
clean rooms
hot showers
pool and jacuzzi were clean and hot
pizza resturant next door
we had 2 rooms
stayed for eea airshow
will stay again
close to airport and other activities

Room Tip: we had rooms 215 and 216 they were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WILLI1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Family was tent camping and rain was in forecast, needed a place to stay. I would of slept in the tent or car instead of here. Smelly, dirty, worn down. Did not use pool. It was disgusting. Did not have free breakfast, did not want to chance it. Did not feel very safe either. Pictures on website do not truthfully reflect the real thing.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lippywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is clean and provides nice breakfast. I was assigned to a handicap room that I did not request. It was fine with me though. It happened to be that my knee was hurting that day when I checked in and I was ok for staying on the first floor and without a bathtub in my room. On thing surprised me though. My credit card was authorized $50 dollars when I checked in, but the front desk did not inform me about it. It is a prepaid stay and I did not expect that the hotel would "really" authorize my credit card. Later when I asked, I was told that it is their standard procedure to authorize the credit card of the guest, and it will get clear up a few days later. I just wish that he could have told me that while I checked in. In general, I like their room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Normally I wouldn't write a review for a 3 start hotel, but my experience at the Ho Jo's in Appleton, WI was a pleasing stay and didn't have the garish orange and blue decoration. Instead I found a very clean hotel that looked more of a swiss-like chalet type interior. Since I was out of town, the desk staff were friendly and accomodating. Very good value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eirejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appleton hotels
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Appleton
Red Roof Inn Appleton
#19 of 23 in Appleton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 23 in Appleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn
BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn
#10 of 23 in Appleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.0 mi away
Motel 6 Appleton
Motel 6 Appleton
#21 of 23 in Appleton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Appleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Appleton
Address: 200 N Perkins St, Appleton, WI 54914-3141 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Appleton 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Appleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Appleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing