We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Fairfield Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Appleton
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This brand is low end Marriott brand. It is what it is. Marriott does have a high standard and this property does live up to the Marriott high standard. Restaurants are within a walking distance. There is a Five Guys Burger place across the street which have the best burgers and fries in the US (no joke).

The staff are helpful and friendly.

The Fox River Mall is a little bit of a walk nearby.

This is a help yourself very basic breakfast. If you don't mind instant oat meal, cold cereal or a nuked breakfast sandwich then you are good to to. Again, it is what it is.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarekio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is an inexpensive hotel option near the Fox River mall and the ATW airport. Rooms are recently renovated. The staff is very accomodating. The property is clean. It is a brief walk from Cousins Subs and a number of casual dining venues. ATW airport is 2 miles down the road. I left very early for a flight before their breakfast buffett was out. To my surprise, I was handed a breakfast to go bag with healthy snacks. This was a well appreciated touch.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaupacaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda V, Manager at Fairfield Inn Appleton, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Thank you for your positive comments!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

As this class of Marriott-chain hotels goes, it's a good one. Staff was friendly, breakfast was OK. I'm not sure you'd want to stay here more than a few nights in a row, but it's good for that overnight business trip. Lots of restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near the elevator; it's actually behind the elevator and probably half the size of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This was a very good Fairfield Inn, and the location was very handy to many eating establishments. The Machine Shed next door was in walking distance even.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentuckyRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The room was comfortable and clean. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Located within walking distance of mall and a few great restaurants. Only complaint was mold on shower caulk.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I was a bit concerned staying at this hotel based on previous reviews. I'm Marriott Gold and usually stay at Courtyards. This was the only Marriott, other than the Residence Inn which was a ridiculous $229 a night (over what my company will pay) in Appleton.

Room was very clean, cleaner than some of the Courtyards I've stayed at. Staff was friendly. Fresh popped popcorn and lemonade when I walked in. Good location right near the mall. Even found a great sushi place (Katsu-Ya) downtown which is not too far.

My only complaint would be that the bed was very uncomfortable. They definitly need to replace the mattress. The walls are thin so you do hear doors closing and people walking. Also no exercise facility but they do have a pool.

Overall it was definitely acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor not to hear people walkin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FemBusTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

I am a frequent guest of various Marriott properties around the country and have always been very happy with the quality of hotel and the value with Marriott-this hotel was the first time I was not. It is clearly an older property that is not being well maintained. The furniture looked ancient and banged up. The lamps had holes in the shades. The list goes on. The property was clean, but did not live up to my expectations of a Marriott brand hotel and did not measure up to the rate we paid to stay there.

Strangely, there is a laminated letter in the room stating you are required to give this hotel a "9 or 10" on any surveys. It states anything below that is unacceptable and that you are expected to come to the front desk if you plan to give a lower score. I found this letter rude, especially since this hotel was at best a 4 or 5. A property cannot demand a specific score on a survey or travel site to begin with-but this leads me to believe that they are getting low scores regularly and rather than dealing with the issues causing the scores, they are attempting to require theirs guests to improve the scores. Upon checkout, when asked how our stay was, I answered "mediocre" and the girl did not ask for any elaboration. Sorry management, but you are not a 9 or 10 property.

In addition, the hotel lobby is quite tiny. The weekend we stayed there was a large group of guests who took over the entire lobby all weekend long and loudly talked while eating their own snacks all over the place. When we needed a spoon, the desk clerk pointed and directed us to walk through this crowd of people (some sitting on the floor, it was very, very crowded) to retrieve it. She stated it was "a wedding party of something" but whatever it was, it further added to the overall feel of the hotel being trashy and uninviting. The pool area was also taken over.

If in the area, pay the additional $30 or so to stay at the Residence Inn. The location is equally good, but you get the quality of Marriott at that property and that is NOT the case at the Fairfield Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WITravelers33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
0.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
5.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#6 of 25 in Appleton
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Appleton
Residence Inn Appleton
#10 of 25 in Appleton
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Appleton-Fox River Mall Area
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Appleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Appleton

Address: 132 N Mall Dr, Appleton, WI 54913-8530
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Price Range: £80 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Appleton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located off Highway 41 adjacent to Fox River Mall and less than two miles from Appleton International Airport. Our hotel is minutes from Kimberly Clark, the Outagamie County Airport and the Experimental Aircraft Association in Oshkosh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn Appleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Appleton
Appleton Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing