We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

+ve's

* Really helpful staff
* Decent breakfast
* Big rooms with microwave & mini fridge
* Very comfy beds
* Great location (close to eateries, mall, airport etc )

-ve's

* Furniture is a little tired
* a/c a little noisy
* prefer hotels with an on-site cafe/restaurant/bar or room service.

Overall, a good place to stay for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deejay_2ksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIS-Appleton, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently with a friend. The hotel is close to everything. The main lobby is nice and the staff is friendly. The hotel is starting to get outdated. That being said it is still clean and well run. The breakfast in the morning was good. Overall good stay for one night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kutchej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIS-Appleton, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words! I will be sure to share your compliments with our staff! We are very pleased to be working toward several upgrades!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The location of the hotel is great for shopping and very convenient because it's right off the freeway. I didn't like the fact that they don't have closets in the room. There are bars and hangers against the wall though. The warm cookies are pretty processed and so is the breakfast. There was a very friendly guy at the front desk the evening we checked in. He gave super customer service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScenicSights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIS-Appleton, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to do a review! We appreciate your kind words, and I will be sure to share your compliments with our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I checked online to see if Carlson points could be used the evening of September 21st. At that time, points redemption was available. I was a few thousand points short and went online to purchase the needed points for a nights stay. As the points were not added for a couple days after the purchase, the night became unavailable during that time for points redemption. I emailed Carlson Club and they indicated they could not help me via email but to call the next day. I contacted Customer Service and explained the situation. They took the time to contact the property manager and allowed me to redeem my points for that evening. I was very happy that they were willing to accommodate my request after having spent the extra money purchasing points. When we arrived, I inquired if they were planning on setting up any breakfast items early the next morning as there was a large marathon in town I was participating in and had to leave before the breakfast time of 7a. The front desk Associate indicated they would be setting up some things early but couldn't guarantee every thing would be set out. This was greatly appreciated as I didn't need a full breakfast, just something small to get started. We then did some shopping and came back to use the pool which was nice amenity which included a hot tub. They also have free chocolate chip cookies along with coffee/tea/hot chocolate in the lobby. The rooms are starting to show their age and could use a spruce up but beds and pillows were very comfortable compared to other hotels I have stayed at recently. Rooms have a microwave and small refrigerator. Our room was also very quiet except for some hallway traffic. Had difficulties with room key but housekeeping let us in so we didn't have to run all the way back down to the front desk. When we went downstairs the next morning, the entire breakfast buffet was set up by 6a which was a welcomed sight ahead of my race! Upon arriving back at the hotel, we missed the end of breakfast and they were cleaning up. They did unlock the juice machine for us to grab a drink and allowed us to help ourselves to anything that was left. Overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIS-Appleton, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled that we were able to accommodate you during the marathon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Close to mall. Pool is very nice. Rooms could use an update things are starting to show wear. Breakfast was far above average! Loved the granola, berries and yogurt to make parfaits! Staff were really friendly and helpful! It's a popular hotel with lots of people around but it was quiet and we slept very well, comfy beds!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WITVRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrspaco, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are at the begining of a large renovation so you will see major improvements by your next stay.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I chose to stay at this Country Inn & Suites because my usual hotel choice was full. I won't make this mistake again. The room was horribly dated. The couch was so old and worn that when I sat on it, I would feel the frame hitting the back of my legs. The TV was small and dated. The toilet malfunctioned and would not flush. The breakfast was adequate, nothing to brag about. Thankfully I only spent one evening there. Unless they go through some major renos, I will not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank InfrequentFlyerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrspaco, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

I am very sorry that you had a bad experience at our property. We are starting a major renovation, hopefully you will try us again soon. I promise you will not be dissapointed. Please contact me so we can discuss further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I have been coming here for the last two and a half years for company business and will stay here for three or four nights every four months. The day crew here are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and neat, and seems that they going to start to refresh or update it a bit. The only thing I really dislike about this place is the night clerk Clint, he is very rude and arrogaunt that talks under his breath about you, he should not be working in a place where he has to interact with the public due to his people skills. He is not friendly not helpful at all and it has been more than a couple of times where he has also treated some of my co-workers in the same fashion. But hopfully you don't have to deal with him and other than him this place is very decent.

Room Tip: Deal with the day crew Clint the night clerk is not friendly everyone else is very attentive.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inoexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrspaco, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience, I sincerly apologize for the way you were treated by a member of our staff. As manager of the property I take your comments and feedback seriously, so thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
0.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
5.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#6 of 25 in Appleton
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Appleton-Fox River Mall Area
0.8 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#9 of 25 in Appleton
507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Appleton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton

Address: 355 N Fox River Dr, Appleton, WI 54913-9116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Appleton
#5 Family Hotel in Appleton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Appleton
#7 Business Hotel in Appleton
Price Range: £78 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us spoil you with freshly baked cookies and a free hot breakfast as well as high-speed Internet access and a team who will welcome you like family. At Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Appleton, WI we'll always make you feel right at home. Visit us and see why we'll have you saying, "I love this Country."We are conveniently located behind the Fox River Mall and within walking distance to several restuarants. The Outagamie Airport is located only 5 minutes from our property and your taxi ride is on us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton Hotel Appleton
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Country Inn Appleton
Appleton Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing