We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Internet and Satellite TV”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
“Terrible Internet and Satellite TV”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times in the recent months. Overall the hotel and staff are ok. The internet service is deplorable,not reliable, and extremely slow. There is only wifi in the hotel so you can not hard connect to the internet service with a lan line. The speed is worse than dial up service of 15 years ago.

The other major complaint would be that the satellite tv they offer is a complete joke,literally couple news channels, 5 crappy espn channels or so and only two showtime channels which are not good.

If you are planning on staying here and using the internet for business or pleasure you will surely be disappointed.

Room Tip: No pool and no fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSmith201312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. Please know that we are sincerely sorry that our internet connection was not working properly during your stay. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have been in touch with our internet provider to ensure your experience is not repeated. As well, we are working to improve our channel offerings. Your remarks will definitely be taken into account as we do this.

Thanks to your feedback, we can continue to work on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. I invite you to contact me, at APP@extendedstay.com, if you have any additional comments. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    24
    14
    15
    16
See reviews for
30
21
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This hotel has the worst internet speed I have ever experienced. The hotel should be fined for offering such an awful connection. The prisons around the country might have faster internet and a better choice for the TV channels. You should consider renting a jail cell for a week rather than staying at that hotel.
They also offered a so-called breakfast. I did not even attempt to sample it because it looked so disgusting. The plastic wrapped muffins cannot be served to domestic animals because it would be regarded as animal cruelty. The coffee, in very short supply, is a rusty colored tap water which leaves you with a lasting aftertaste.
The door to the room have some sort of hinges that slams the door so hard it makes the floor shake. It makes a mini-earthquake every time someone enters or exists a room. The cabinet doors in the rooms always close with a bang so you are bound to hear your neighbors slamming the cabinet doors. Bring some extra ear plugs if you plan to stay longer than a night.

Room Tip: Try any other hotel before you consider this dump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
John - I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I was disheartened to read that you were not satisfied with our internet access, television channel selection, or our newest feature, the grab and go breakfast. Please accept our apologies. Your comments will be taken into account as we work to improve all of these offerings.

I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. I would be happy to speak with you further. If you would like, please contact me directly, at APP@extendedstay.com. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Appleton hotels

Rochester, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We were absolutely pleased with our stay at Extended Stay America. It is not luxury but is a GREAT deal for the price, clean and loved the kitchen facilities. Staff was friendly and helpful. The beds were the most comfortable we have slept in compared to those at comparable hotels. (and I LOVE the Green Tea soaps and shampoo!!) Only downside is that, other than 2 chairs, there is no lobby - my husband usually wakes up earlier than the rest of us and likes to go down and drink his coffee and watch the news without waking the rest of us up.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Diana - The staff and I read your review, and would like to thank you for writing such great things about the property. We are glad to know you enjoyed our amenities, especially our green tea shampoo and soap.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Will be staying again in the future it was near everything that we had wanted to do and see, the staff was friendly and very helpful other guest were wonderful as well. We went to see The Lion King was also great if anyone wants to just get away this is the perfect spot to do that

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blarsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm glad that you got to see the Lion King Broadway production.
Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mascotte, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Recently stayed at the Extended Stay America for seven nights while on Vacation in Appleton, WI. It was an EXCELLENT value for the money!

I had a GREAT experience with Extended Stay America! The staff were friendly and professional, and the room was clean and comfortable. The full size fridge and kitchenette were great bonuses as well!

I wouldn't really call anything a negative, though I would have liked to have had more channels in the cable line-up, and the bed was a bit on the firm side for me. The mattress did have a nice pillow top though, so that kind of made up for it.

All in all, it was an excellent stay, and I would not hesitate to recommend Extended Stay America Fox Cities to anyone!

Room Tip: (There is no fitness center, or room service, but do not let this stop you. It is a great place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WallaceP906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay. We are currently in the process of upgrading our television channel package. Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

While on business in the Fox Valley & other cities & states for that matter, we will first look to Extended Stay. At Extended Stat Appleton, the staff remembers our business travelers. The hotel is always very clean, the location is central to business within the Fox Valley and the staff are all very polite, professional and welcoming. It is our home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
It is so rewarding to read that you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your comments. I am glad to read that you were pleased with the staff and the accommodations. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neenah, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Home away from home! We were pleasantly surprised by the clean, quiet room with wonderful quiet even heating in the cold weather. Room was quiet, convenient to get into from the parking, and the kitchen was nice though we were not prepared to make use of it as we might have. We thought the layout of the room was nice, not cramped at all...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MackenzieChicago, Manager at Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for letting us know our hotel felt like your home away from home. That is truly what we strive to do for our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#9 of 25 in Appleton
488 reviews
0.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 25 in Appleton
64 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Appleton College Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities

Property: Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities
Address: 4141 Boardwalk Ct, Appleton, WI 54914-7531
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Appleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing