We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, great rates, kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convenient, great rates, kitchen”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Extended Stay several times in the past several years. We have never been disappointed in the staff or accommodations. We usually stay up to four days and we especially like the kitchen facilities. We are able to stock up on food thus saving money by not having to eat out, unless we choose to do so. The motel is close to where we attend a conference so it is convenient to go back and forth.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gratefuldad30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our fully equipped kitchens and that our staff was accommodating.

Thank you again for your kind words. We would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    24
    14
    15
    16
See reviews for
30
21
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. There is no activities here for anyone. No hot tub, pool, or fitness center. The only good thing about this hotel is the location. However, there are about 10 more hotels in this same area and would stay at anyone of them before I would ever stay here again. The manager had our trailer towed and when i asked where it was she said it was towed and she would call the tow company. Next day i ask the same manager whats up with our trailer she says she does not know where it is and the tow company has no record of it but assured me she was still working on it. Day 3 now and she says she doesnt know where it is but still working on it. We are due to leave on Sunday and still have no idea where our trailer is. We stayed here for a full month due to our house not being ready. This is the worst customer service i have ever had. the hallways smell of cooking and different cultures. Your room will never get cleaned unless you ask and the hallway floors always have garbabe. The police have been here several nights during our stay as well. I will never stay here again and would advise everyone looking to stay here to spend the few extra dollars elsewhere you will be much happier and thats a promise.

Room Tip: Poorest customer service I have ever had!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very nice staff but the night clerk with the multiple piercings and small cuts all over her hands made me a bit uncomfortable. But she was very nice and friendly. I'm just old I guess. The daytime clerk was very nice.

Room Tip: You will live in the aroma of the person's cooking who was there before you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E. M. J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that your room had an odor, but can assure you that our staff is working to eliminate this. Still, I am glad that you liked the service our staff had to offer.

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! I was charged a $200 smoking fee even though no one in my party smokes. After passing inspection and the staff not finding any proof of smoking anywhere, they still refused to grant me a refund. Nancy, girl at front desk, will try to rip you off. Jen, the assistant manager is no better. They will attempt at charging you outlandish fee's if they think you're the type of customer who wouldn't say anything. BE CAREFUL!!!!! JUST STAY AT MICROTEL OR LA QUINTA. SAME RATE AND WAYYYY BETTER STAFF.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann2017S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. I apologize that you were not pleased with the service provided by our staff. Customer service is a top priority of ours, so I am disappointed that we did not meet that goal. I will be meeting with our staff to review our customer service expectations to ensure your experience is not repeated. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope that you will stay at our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raheny,Dublin,Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Recently stayed in extended stay appleton as part of a group traveling from Ireland. We arrived at the hotel after 19 hours traveling from Ireland. We were greeted by very friendly staff that got us checked us into our rooms without any fuss. When I got to my room I realised the pillows were feather which I am allergic to. One phone call and 5 minutes later the Friendly Face of Bob arrives layden down with new anti allergic pillows for both beds.
The few times we phoned reception the folks were extremely helpful no matter what time day or night. Jen Nicole Tiffany were so professional in there dealings with all the group. The cleaning staff work hard to keep the room clean. Though they only change bedding and towels once a week. There is a laundry basket in the bathroom. Just put dirty stuff in and bring to reception and you get clean in return. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Appleton area. I will be returning to Extended stay Appleton in June and am looking forward to my stay there.

Room Tip: I stayed on the third floor. Found it very quiet. Great nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul74_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and the service our staff provided. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I were having our first night away from the kids in over a year, and we got a great deal on this hotel. We were looking forward to a quiet evening and a solid night's sleep.

We checked in and got to our room to find that it reeked of cigarette smoke. The entire hotel is supposed to be smoke-free, but the hallways also smelled strongly of smoke. I called the front desk, and they were able to switch us to a different room that smelled much better.

When we decided to go to sleep, we discovered that the bed was hard as a granite block, and the pillows were the sort that crush completely flat when you lay your head on them. We tried everything to get comfortable, but neither of us was able to sleep more than 3 hours that night. I had so been looking forward to some quality sleep, and I was bitterly disappointed.

We got up early to take advantage of the free breakfast, but that was a disappointment as well. It's a "grab and go" breakfast, and all that was available was coffee, tea, packets of hot chocolate, packets of oatmeal, muffins, and granola bars. Other than a few bruised apples, there was no fresh food at all.

We finally checked out, exhausted, aching, and hungry. I usually love staying at hotels, but although the staff was friendly and helpful, I truly can not recommend this hotel based on our experience.

Pros: friendly staff, clean room, dishes and utensils in room, good price.
Cons: cigarette smoke smell, uncomfortable bed and pillows, few TV channels, poor breakfast selection.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeannette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Owner at Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious suites with fully equipped kitchens and friendly staff. Still, it upsets me to learn that you experienced odors during your stay. I will meet with the staff to review our cleaning procedures so that this issue does not affect our future guests. Your feedback regarding our bedding options and free grab-and-go breakfast will help us in our efforts to continually improve our hotel.

If you would like to provide any additional comments, please feel free to contact me directly at, app@extendedstay.com. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Everyone was kind and personable. They were quick to try and resolve any issue. The hotel was very clean and held to high standards. Very quiet except for the dog down the hall that would howl at 7am every morning but still a great place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Danielle - Thank you so much for posting a review of your stay with us. I am happy to read your comments regarding our clean hotel and kind, personable staff. Customer service is a top priority of ours, so I am glad that we were able to meet this goal. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#9 of 25 in Appleton
488 reviews
0.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 25 in Appleton
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Appleton College Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities

Property: Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities
Address: 4141 Boardwalk Ct, Appleton, WI 54914-7531
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Appleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing