We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My mom and I stayed on a very very cold Thursday night in December for an overnight Christmas shopping trip in Appleton. The front desk staff was welcoming - we even got a "goodie" bag with coupons and discounts for shopping in the local area. The room was clean, we enjoyed our free drinks and the friendly bartender, met some enjoyable people visiting from North Carolina on business, slept well, enjoyed the breakfast the next day and were on our merry way. It is conveniently close to the mall and restaurants.

We will plan on staying again!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Happy New Year,
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us some great feedback! We appreciate you letting us know how we did and we can’t wait to see you on your next shopping trip. Stay Warm!

Every Guest ~ Every Time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

I really liked my room and the front desk staff was helpful. Workout room is sub par and the breakfast is OK at best. Whirlpool looked inviting. Location was convenient to airport, mall, and downtown. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again soon.

Every Guest ~ Every Time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I've used the Appleton GrandStay six or seven times, usually at their Sunday Super Saver rate. For me, it is a perfect motel because it provides everything I need. My room has always been clean, the bed is clean and comfortable, the staff is friendly, with a nice breakfast and good coffee. I've stayed at many hotels that were far more expensive and not nearly as nice. I found it humorous that one reviewer said the hotel is not "grand" and then noted that they paid $69. I wonder if that reviewer expected a Ritz-Carlton experience for $69? For me, the GrandStay in Appleton has provided me with a grand stay! It will continue to be my hotel of choice when I visit Appleton.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Sunday Super Saver,
Thank You very much for the wonderful review and Thanks for letting us know we try to be Grand. Management did raise the price on the Sunday Super Saver but we value your business so I will extend and honor your past rate for another year. I will lock in the rate in your guest history for Sunday Stay's. Stay warm and see you soon.

Every Guest ~ Every Time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was our second visit to this property. We enjoyed our stay the last time and this time was no exception. The hotel is clean and mostly quiet (noisy children running in the halls can't be dampened). While not a gourmet breakfast, the choices were fine and we left each morning well satisfied. The location is very close to the Fox River Mall. It was a very cold weekend with plenty of snow but the parking lot was well cleared and the walks were salted. As we have family in the area, we will stay there again.

Room Tip: We always ask for a room on the 3rd floor, preferably with an odd number (back side of the hotel avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank prototypecycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Happy New Year,
Thank you for taking the time to write another review. We appreciate the nice comments regarding our property and staff. The snow has stopped but the cold is now upon us and look forward to your next visit. Stay Warm!

Every Guest ~ Every Time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This hotel is not grand. It is a typical hotel similar to a Comfort Inn or Holiday Inn. It IS clean, you do get a free breakfast and the price is right (we paid only $69.00). For people like us that travel often and have stayed in some truly great hotels, this is not "grand" and I am a little surprised it has received such unbelievable reviews. Again, not bad for the price just trying to lower your expectations due to the other ballooned reviews. If size does matter to you, then this pool is not going to do it for you. It is the smallest pool I have ever seen. No joke. It does have a hottub which is only slightly smaller than the pool. It was empty, probably not worth getting suited up for. The price is good and it was clean so if you aren't looking for much more this place would be just fine. Appleton is a really fun place to visit. Cleo's is a fun kitschy bar downtown a must do sans children. This hotel is next to the Fox River Mall and has some good shopping and nearby restaurants. Lots of great restaurants downtown as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S, and entire Staff at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Experienced Traveler,
We would like to Thank You for leaving us a review and the compliments about our cleanliness and reasonable rates. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations for a limited service Hotel and our Wellness Pool was not suitable for your size. I am sure a Five Diamond Hotel like the Ritz would be more Grand if that is what your accustomed to and I believe there is one in Chicago?

Every Guest ~ Every Time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My teenage son and I stayed here overnight on a Green Bay Packer weekend. We couldn't have asked for more!

First things first! They made it possible to get into the parking lot! There was heavy snow, wind and cold (perfect Packer conditions!). They had plows running through the lot and it was simple to get parked.

The interior of the hotel is warm and inviting. It had a nice festive atmosphere.

The check-in was painless. The staff was professional, friendly and helpful.

The rooms were some of the very best for the price range. The comfort level for the beds was outstanding. The room was spotless.

Okay, so we had to hit the pool and hot tub! Both were excellent. I'm more of a hot tub kind of guy (it was 15 degrees outside) and my son more of a pool sort of guy. Well, we both had a blast!

The morning breakfast was very good! Plenty of options and well maintained and staffed by attentive people who had fun bantering with the various Packer and Steeler fans preparing to drive up to Green Bay for the game.

Excellent stay here. Definitely will return on my next trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneBadCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thanks Partner,
Your review is very appreciated and a special gratitude for writing your great compliments and your wonderful write up about the hotel and staff. Were all so Happy your enjoyed your stay during your recent trip to the Packer Game. You and your son were the brave ones for enduring the cold and snow and we hope to see you again. Wishing you a "Happy New Year" from all of us at the GrandStay Hotel.

Every Guest ~ Every Time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor ratings and were pleasantly surprised to find that our stay was all we hoped for. Very friendly staff, and super clean public areas. Rooms were large, clean and comfortable and well appointed with very comfortable beds and bedding, properly working a/c units, clean, comfortable baths. The pool, which is small, was just right for us -- probably not a great hotel for kids, but for grownups, it was just right. Hot tub was wonderful. We did not get to check out the complimentary breakfast, but if it was anything like the way this hotel runs things, we assume it was great! Only problem we had was the vending machine on the second floor would not accept cash OR credit cards so we could not use it. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebirdguy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Happy Holidays and Thank You for taking the time to write us a review and using Tripadvisor as your selection source. Your review said it all with such gracious compliments. By the way we had the vendor fix the machine on second floor and thanks for informing us. We appreciate your business and welcome you back soon.

Every Guest ~ Every Time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
5.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#6 of 25 in Appleton
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Appleton-Fox River Mall Area
0.9 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#9 of 25 in Appleton
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Appleton College Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall

Address: 300 N Mall Dr, Appleton, WI 54913-8567
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Appleton
#3 Family Hotel in Appleton
#4 Business Hotel in Appleton
Price Range: £89 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GrandStay Hotel is a premier Hotel located in Appleton, Wisconsin next to the Fox River mall and surrounded my award winning restaurants and world class shopping. The GrandStay offers elegant and luxurious accommodations for comfort and convenience at affordable rates. Awarded the Certificate of Excellence by Tripadvisor for 2011, 2012 and 2013 the GrandStay Hotel & Suites is the place to stay for unparalleled customer service and a convenient location Located only 2 miles from the Appleton Airport (ATW) and next to HWY 41 and College Ave Exit. GrandStay Hotel welcomes family and leisure travelers as well as the Business Guest who find our business amenities and services especially accommodating. We have all your needs with our Wellness Pool/Whirlpool, Fitness Room, Business Center, Meeting Rooms and not to forget our quaint and cozy cocktail lounge to relax with your favorite drink while socializing or watching sports on one of the many flat screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Hotel Appleton
Grandstay Hotel And Suites
Wingate Hotel Appleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing