We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor service and slow!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galvan's Restaurant

Galvan's Restaurant
Ranked #80 of 366 Restaurants in Appleton
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very poor service and slow!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We have been to Galvan's many times in the past; their breakfast is good and usually not too slow. However, we have been many times for dinner and were unimpressed each time. We decided to give them one more try and we are sorry that we did. We waited about 40 minutes to get our food and we only had simple items that should have taken less than 5 minutes to prepare. It was not really busy either and yet the waitress kept saying how busy they were. The service was very poor and it was extremely slow! And on top of that, when we received our food, it looked like child's portions. We know that we will not be back, even for breakfast. There are other places to go. And it was quite expensive. When they are charging $14.99 for Fajitas, that is terrible!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FAMILYWISCONSIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Quick Way to Fulfill your hunger”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Galvan's offers an extensive menu, with a Mexican influence. Their breakfast offerings brings in a good clientele, so get there early!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“charged for Onions on a Hamburger...Really???????”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Looking for a place to eat in Appleton area and we like to try Diners....and reading the other reviews I thought we would try this place...... I had the open faced hot turkey...the turkey was good but the gravy was as yellow as the sun and out of a can....My husband had a cheeseburger and they charged him for a slice of onion....really....a slice of raw onion.....pretty pathetic.....We won't be going back....I was surprised they didn't charge me for my water......We also talked to the waitress about the breakfast and she said the skillet is really good and big but if you don't get all the items you can (5 veggies, 3 meats, 3 cheeses) you get a smaller portion but the price is still 9.99 as of this review.....so you might as well go for all of it and what you don't eat you can take home.....not impressed....or maybe we just ordered wrong???????

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingEaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaukau
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

Prices are great - food is excellent! Wait staff is friendly and professional. The menu has a large selection - would fit anyone's taste.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
232 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Hands down a favorite breakfast spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

I can't say enough great things about Galvan's. Good service, awesome food that is consistently tasty, clean restaurant, nice display of desserts and the breakfast/lunch food is also displayed which is a nice touch. They have large booths that could seat 3 people on one side! Nice and roomy. Try it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galvan's Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Galvan's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing