We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rest just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of CopperLeaf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CopperLeaf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, rest just ok”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights. We were in town to attend a concert at the Performing Arts Center one block away. Many restaurants in the area (and one in the hotel), a parking ramp behind the hotel ($2 entry fee each time you come and go). VERY helpful staff. Felt like we were paying the high rate ($117/night for a fairly basic room) to cover things we didn't use: exercise facility, spa in the lower level, bar in the entrance area. Our shower didn't work well and I did report that. Room needed dusting. There are other options in the area that we may try next time we come to Appleton. Oh----and many area attractions are closed on Mondays. Just FYI.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maresa02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dans1, General Manager at CopperLeaf Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Thank you for staying with us at the CopperLeaf Hotel and taking the time to share comments about your visit. I was pleased to see our location near the Performing Arts Center and the availability of many dining options within walking distance of the hotel were some of the reasons you chose to stay with us. Thank you for noting how helpful the staff was during your visit. We strive to offer personalized service to all our guests in our hope of earning your loyalty.

I am sorry to learn that your stay was just “ok” and that we did not offer the level of value you expected. I noticed you believe a portion of your rate had to do with hotel amenities on site that you did not use. Although we are fortunate to be able to provide the services of Spa BenMarNico’s, the Bella Vita Ristorante, cocktail lounge, and exercise facility, etc., we don’t make the convenience of these an add-on to your rate. If your were to compare the rate your paid to other comparable hotels in the area for a comparable room type, I believe you will find the Copperleaf to be very competitively priced.

Please accept my apologies for dust noticed in your room and for a problem noticed with the shower. I reviewed your comments with our Executive Housekeeper making note of the dust. It is our policy to have all rooms inspected by a manager or supervisor prior to check-in. This procedure typically prevents any oversights such as the one you encountered. This surely should not have been overlooked. The only time the inspection of a room might not be completed is in the case of a guest checking in much earlier than our normal check-in time of 3:00 p.m. Since your Trip Advisor post is anonymous, I am unaware if you checked-in to your room early. I hope our maintenance team took care of any concerns identified with the performance of the shower. The next time you visit Appleton, I hope you give my team and I the opportunity to serve you again. Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    82
    26
    10
    3
See reviews for
40
157
14
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I actually was staying here for business but had such a good time that I would go again in a second. After having a rough drive in the snow from the airport I got to the hotel in dire need of some food and relaxation. I checked into my room and immediately called the spa to see if they had any openings for a massage, unfortunately they did not but I was able to book a salt scrub for later that night. After booking my room I freshened up and headed down to the restaurant in the hotel. My waiter was attentive and had great recommendations, the wine and the food were some of the best I have ever had. After dinner I headed to my salt scrub (in retrospect going to lay on your stomach after just eating a ton is not a great idea...), the people in the spa were again very attentive and took care of my every need. After I had digested my food a bit I was able to enjoy my relaxing scrub, then I headed up to my room, turned on my in room fireplace, filled the Jacuzzi tub and took a hot bubble bath. I also took advantage of the spa robes and Aveda bath supplies. Overall it was one of the most relaxing work trips I have ever been on.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Stayed @ the very booked copper leaf hotel for business this month. I can never seem to get a room bc they are always booked. I had heard that this is the only great place to stay in Appleton.

Checked in and found the rooms to be adequate and clean. Nothing over the top. Rooms are similar to a nice courtyard. Did not think the rooms were exceptional as I had heard but were clean.

I understand that this hotel is downtown, but it was a very noisy nighttime experience. All noise was from outside - from trains, to tire burn outs, to garbage trucks. Light sleepers beware.

I would consider staying again if in the area, but think that the Cambria suites was just as nice with larger rooms and less noise.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popolin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dans1, General Manager at CopperLeaf Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Thank you for staying with us at the Copperleaf and giving my team the opportunity to serve you. I am pleased to see you decided to stay based on positive recommendations from friends and associates. Please accept my personal apologies that your stay was something less than what was endorsed by your associates. Like any of our competing hotels in any location, we are subject to those situations when noise will emanate from an outside source. Although we do our best to control any noise concerns whether they are internal or external, some are out of our realm of control. Though this is not a regular occurrence, there are instances where an external noise or noises will develop. Some of this comes with being a city-center property; others are simply issues that often occur anywhere. However, should you decide to stay with us in the future, you could express your desire for one of the suites on the west side of the hotel. That could offer some additional relief as that side of the hotel is less exposed to the street.

I also noticed your comment about having difficulty booking due to the hotel being fully occupied. Admittedly, Tuesday and Wednesday are the hotel’s busiest days and advance booking is suggested. Other days offer additional flexibility. The guest service representatives also do an excellent job monitoring our wait list and call guests on the list as soon as there is availability. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again. For your next reservation, feel free to contact me directly and I will assist you to the best of my ability. Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fish Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Love this hotel and it is mainly due to the comfortable bedding and luxurious bath towels! Stayed in Appleton for a conference, held in another hotel, but my guilty pleasure was staying here! All of the personnel were friendly - ask the bartender to show you his math trick! Breakfast was an awesome surprise. I had a great cup of coffee and the even provide cups and lids for taking coffee away too. Very nice stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wi_bay_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monticello, WI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This Boutique Hotel is very elegant without being pretentious or going over the top.

Spotlessly clean from stem to stern. Staff very helpful. Rooms are marvelous, very comfortable, quiet and nicely appointed.

Wonderful complementary breakfast includes hot foods as well as cereals, pastries, fruit, juices, you name it.

Free WiFi connectivity strength excellent even on the 4th floor.

Very convenient location as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJDMonticello_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Uintas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed here during this years Osh Kosh airshow. Over the years of attending the airshow, we've had the opportunity to sample many of the local hotels. Suffice it to say that compared to what we've paid to stay at other hotels in the area, we like the Coperleaf the best. Why? It's very new and clean. The rooms are large. The free breakfast is good. Adjacent covered parking is conveniently located without your ever having to go outside. The free wifi Internet worked flawlessly. They promote the "green " movement without being overbearing. The rooms are well appointed including granite countertops , flat screen TVs, jacuzzi and a fireplace! All for not much more than the competitors much more basic accommodations. Basically a boutique experience at a chain hotel price. We'll be back,

Room Tip: Ask for high room facing away from street front to avoid any street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dans1, General Manager at CopperLeaf Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Being a seasoned traveler to our area for the annual Experimental Aircraft Association air show, and having the opportunity to say at many or our area hotels, my team and I are very pleased to learn the Copperleaf has become your favorite hotel! From the housekeepers, to the guest service representatives, to maintenance, I can assure you our team takes great pride in accommodating our guests. Thank you for your kind words and identifying what makes the CopperLeaf special to you. We appreciate you being our customer and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

While staying in Appleton overnight for business, I was very happy to have this hotel recommended to me. The staff is very friendly, and the rooms are very clean. One minor note is that parking is located in a separate building and one must walk through an alley and enter the back door, which seemed a little shady at first, but the hotel quality made up for this. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Appleton area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Purcells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dans1, General Manager at CopperLeaf Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you for your kind words mentioning the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms. You noted the parking as being a minor inconvenience. Even though the ramp is not directly connected to the hotel, many of our guests appreciate the fact that it is "covered" parking resulting in their vehicles being free of snow in the winter and protected from the sun's heat in the summer. In addition to the rear entry you noted, there is also a main entry with five minute drop-off and pick-up on Superior Street. I am pleased to see you will recommend the Copperleaf to other friends and associates. My team and I hope we have the pleasure of serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appleton hotels
3.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
0.1 mi away
Radisson Paper Valley Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Appleton-Fox River Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#7 of 23 in Appleton
219 reviews
3.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CopperLeaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CopperLeaf Hotel

Property: CopperLeaf Hotel
Address: 300 W College Ave, Appleton, WI 54911-5829
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Appleton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Appleton
#7 Family Hotel in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CopperLeaf Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copperleaf Boutique Hotel is modeled after small family owned and operated European hotels. Our 75 room hotel offers a more refined and gracious hotel experience. You will be indulged with exquisite, personalized service in a warm, inviting and unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your CopperLeaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copperleaf Hotel Appleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing