We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, beautiful place, but with some problems.”
Review of CopperLeaf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CopperLeaf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The ambiance of this hotel is fantastic. The beds are like nothing one would ever experience. I would live in one. Overall, the place is really wonderful for a couple, and I wouldn't hesitate to give it a thumbs up. If you want a king bed. I didn't know before I booked a room (my fault) that the 2-bed rooms have double beds, not queens. Not used to that in a high-end hotel. My only other big complaint is that the thermostat did not seem to be working. The room was so hot, we ended up sleeping on top of the sheets. The rest of my family, staying in other rooms, complained of the same. Some minor complaints. There was no DVD player. Although there was coffee available at all times, I had to ask for decaf in the evening and after breakfast. The quality and selection of breakfast food was marginal at best.

Room Tip: Make sure the thermostat is working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb J, General Manager at CopperLeaf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our boutique hotel. I certainly appreciate your wonderful comments about our beds. We do get many favorable comments about the beds and our upgraded linens. I am glad you really enjoyed them!
I was disappointed to learn that you had problems with the heating/cooling unit in your room. We do have maintenance staff on duty to address any issues like this and I am sorry that we were not aware of the situation so we could have corrected it and made your stay more enjoyable. The staff is trained to correct issues of this nature that do occasionally come up in any hotel.
We do try to offer a wide variety of breakfast items for our guests that include cold and hot items. We include several gourmet coffees, three dry cereals with two options of milk, two juice options, bagels, muffins, danish, bread for toasting, a specialty bread, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal with dried fruit and nuts for toppings, fresh whole fruit as well as cut fruit, scrambled eggs with salsa and cheeses for topping, a meat like bacon, sausage or ham, and a potato offering in addition to pancakes. We will look into how we could improve in this area.
Thank you again for your review. I hope we will get an opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Deb Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Downtown Appleton at it's best. Walk right out the door and College Avenue is right there, you are in the center walking distance from everything, bars, restaurants, the Performing Arts Center, or shopping. We stayed for New Year's Eve festivities and walked from place to place enjoying music, food, and beverages.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb J, General Manager at CopperLeaf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for your very complimentary evaluation of our boutique hotel. We certainly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with others that may find your review helpful. I was happy to hear that your New Year's Eve celebration in downtown Appleton was enjoyable. We are conveniently located within walking distance of many great restaurants, shops, the Fox Cities Performing Arts Center and Appleton's nightlife. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay in the downtown district.

I hope you will stay with us again if you need overnight accommodations in the Appleton area.

Thank you for staying with us!

Take care,
Deb Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here as a gift to ourselves for Christmas. We stayed Christmas night and the place was very quiet. The hot tub in the basement is a wonderful treat for adults. The bed is a little bit hard but that would be our only complaint. The prices for the Honor Bar are reasonable, the Aveda soaps are a nice touch as well as a whirlpool tub in every room. We also enjoyed the breakfast which was more than what we expected, it really has a little bit of everything. We were also impressed with their vast movie selection, although it lacks many newly released movies. Last but not least, their holiday decorations were plentiful and tastefully done. We look forward to staying here in the future, especially if we go to see another show at the Fox Cities Performing Arts Center.

Room Tip: The view isn't the greatest on the East side of the Hotel due to a larger building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We checked in with no problems, had chilled champagne and glasses delivered to our room as part of our package.and sat in our sitting room with son and daughter-in-law to enjoy the champagne and visit. Our bedroom was equipped with an electric fireplace, whirlpool tub and sound machine as well as top of the line pillows and duvet. The next morning's breakfast was hot and plentiful with lots to choose from and situated in a quiet, roomy area on the first floor. They had a great bar also.

Room Tip: We had the silver whirlpool suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjwege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Very pleasant downtown hotel. Nice room layout with a separate sitting/working space.
In room jacuzzi (that I unfortunately did not get to try) as well as a (well done) fake fireplace in front of the bed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sir_Top-Hat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here instead of Green Bay for a Packers game. So glad we did! Appleton, in general, is a great town with a very nice downtown area. We didn't get a chance to go in any of the stores but happy we stayed in the middle of it. Quiet, nice rooms!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank eladousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here a single night as a quick get-away for our anniversary. We stayed in the Platinum Suite.

The hotel is located in downtown Appleton. There were plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance. It's located next to a bank and a parking ramp. There is no parking lot, so you must use the ramp, which is $2 per entry. If you drive to the 2nd level, there are signs indicating the closest parking for the hotel.

The hotel itself feels very classic. Check in was swift and friendly.

There is a hotel bar, which had a fair amount of traffic for a Thursday night.

The suite was beautiful. The living room had a couch, desk, comfy chair and flat screen tv. There was also a microwave, and mini-fridge/honor bar. Some of the honor bar prices were reasonable, like $1.25 for a bag of chips or $2 for a candy bar...some were average, like $3.75 for a bottle of beer...some were high like $5 for the same shot bottles that every liquor store sells for $1 or less. In any case, we brought our own drinks so the prices didn't matter to us.

The bedroom contained a comfortable king bed, another chair, a flat screen and a 2 person hot tub. The TV wasn't on a swivel stand, but we were able to turn it so we could see it from the tub.
Unfortunately, our view was only of the roof of the neighboring building.

The bathroom had a large walk-in shower, though the shower head wasn't great. Good water pressure though. The toilet sits in a little "stall" and feels a little claustrophobic.

We had no noise issues. Weird note: we could not get cellphone service in our room at all. Whether or not it was a quirk from our carrier or the location is unknown.

The room was clean, though fingerprints & handprints were visible on all the interior doors, when the light caught them just right.

We were disappointed that the hotel website listed "Room Service" under the amenities, only to find out that the restaurant had closed a few months ago, and room service was no longer available. We did order delivery from a local bar for a snack later at night. Breakfast was eggs, bacon, pancakes, muffins, bagels, cereal, etc. Nothing that stands out, good or bad.

Overall, it was a nice hotel, but even at a AAA rate of $180 (including the taxes), not sure it was worth the money. We've stayed in "fancier" places for less, though not within walking distance of so many choices for dining. It might be better suited for those staying a few days versus a romantic night away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaywalker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Paper Valley Hotel
3.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#6 of 25 in Appleton
234 reviews
3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
3.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Appleton-Fox River Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CopperLeaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CopperLeaf Hotel

Address: 300 W College Ave, Appleton, WI 54911-5829
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Appleton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Appleton
#7 Family Hotel in Appleton
Price Range: £99 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CopperLeaf Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copperleaf Boutique Hotel is modeled after small family owned and operated European hotels. Our 75 room hotel offers a more refined and gracious hotel experience. You will be indulged with exquisite, personalized service in a warm, inviting and unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your CopperLeaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copperleaf Hotel Appleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing