We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Roost Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Appleton B&B and Inns
United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Recently stayed at The Roost Bed and Breakfast (for the second time) to celebrate our anniversary. Once again Tom and Aimee made the stay wonderful. We stayed in the Bella Suite (last time was the Meadow Room). The Bella Suite was beautiful and private. The suite had everything for the perfect romantic getaway. Breakfast was excellent (again). We will most likely be returning to this place again. Well done Tom and Aimee!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayZee_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
66
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I stumbled across the Roost when we were looking for a B&B to use for our wedding weekend. We were looking for something that we could rent out the entire house so our parents, best man and matron of honor could all stay right with us. Our stay was amazing. Tom and Aimee so attentive to every detail and oh -so - accommodating!


From letting us check in early to accommodating extra guests at breakfast they did it all. Breakfast every morning was so amazing! We loved that Tom and Aimee make sure to buy as much local and fresh as they can and they tell you about what they have made you. It was always delicious!

Our room (the Bella Suite) was stunning and completely comfortable! It had everything we needed and was simply beautiful!

We left a few items behind and Tom was ever so fast to offer to ship them back to their owners.

We can not wait to go back and celebrate many years to come together in this space right close to home :) Thank you, Tom and Aimee! You helped create memories we will never forget and made our wedding weekend that much easier!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Roost had everything we wanted in one of its simple rooms- bath, jacuzzi, spacious, comfortable, quiet. Owners make terrific fresh baked breakfasts. We didn't like having to sit at one long table with other guests - things got political at our table which was a bit much for breakfast - but otherwise The Roost was great and we'd definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paolomaldini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at this B&B in March, our first time away from our baby girl. We needed a night alone together, away from home, but not too far away from home, and this was the perfect place to go! The place is just gorgeous - makes you feel so serene as soon as you walk up. Tom & Aimee are very welcoming hosts - they sat down and chatted with us for a bit when we first arrived to make sure they could meet all of our needs while we stayed there. Every room has a Jacuzzi tub, and are set up to be very romantic.

The location is great - very close to downtown Appleton, great restaurants, and a variety of shopping. We ate at The Melting Pot (also highly recommend!).

Breakfast was AMAZING!! We had some kind of apple fritter cake thing (don't even know what it was called), but I relished every bite. Tom & Aimee make every attempt to buy locally for the breakfasts they prepare, and come up with unique dishes. We ate the the large dining room and had the opportunity to meet another guest from Canada - had some great breakfast conversation.

If you're in the Fox Valley area, DEFINITELY stay here!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maybell_411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My fiance and I just returned from a 3-night stay at the Roost B&B in the Hunt Suite. To say that our experience was awesome would be an understatement. Tom and Aimee went above and beyond to make this vacation the very best one we've ever taken. Every detail was perfect. Breakfast each morning was the best meal we had all day! We loved talking with Tom and Aimee and hearing about their adventures and experiences running the Roost. The room (Hunt Suite) was absolutely stunning! We loved the big jet tub and hope to return during the cooler season so that we can also light the fireplace. It was such a romantic little oasis!

Thank you, Tom & Aimee, for everything! We will absolutely be back, and we can't wait!

Room Tip: They are ALL good rooms! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I stayed at The Roost the week of 21-24 January and had a wonderful experience. I wanted to check out the B&B so my wife can join me in March. My wonderful host was busy with a couple of other guests also and still had time to spoil me with early morning breakfast so I could make it in to work on time. I am planning on taking my wife there in March.

Room Tip: While not located in the downtown area, just a few additional minutes to a commute or trip are well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidNCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

We needed a retreat from the chaos in our lives about two weeks before Christmas. The B&B was a wonderful choice. Our room had an elevated queen size canopy bed and decadent linens. The room had a gas fireplace was warm, comfortable, and relaxing. We had an attached bathroom with French doors and a comfortable two person Jacuzzi. The rooms were spaced so that we had no noise from our neighbors.

The breakfast was a gourmet delight and a great opportunity to meet and share stories with other guests as well as Tom, the Innkeeper. Tom is an excellent host and is quite a story-teller. When our travels take us to Appleton, we will be sure to stay there again. This experience beats our best hotel experience in Wisconsin!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TRLWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appleton hotels
5.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
1.9 mi away
CopperLeaf Hotel
CopperLeaf Hotel
#4 of 24 in Appleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#10 of 24 in Appleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Radisson Paper Valley Hotel
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
3.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#7 of 24 in Appleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roost Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roost Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Roost Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1900 S Lee St, Appleton, WI 54915-4261
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Roost Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roost Bed and Breakfast has received nothing but positive guest reviews since it opened! That fact alone speaks volumes. An established, award-winning bed and breakfast located in a quiet residential neighborhood just 1.8 miles from downtown Appleton, The Roost is only 30 minutes from Lambeau Field and the Green Bay Packers, 30 minutes from Oshkosh and EAA AirVenture (“The World’s Greatest Aviation Celebration”), and minutes away from Lawrence University, the Fox River Mall (the second-largest indoor mall in Wisconsin), the Fox Cities Performing Arts Center, museums, dozens of fine dining options, Lake Winnebago, outdoor activities, and much more. Five contemporary guest suites are decorated in a French Country/Tuscan décor and feature private bathrooms, two-person air-jet spa tubs, fireplaces, mini-refrigerators, and other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Roost Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing