We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Roost Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Appleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a Saturday night. We were met and shown around the house. We were shown to our room by Tom who owns and runs the B&B. It struck me as especially entertaining and fun that he showed us where the portable fire ladder was kept in our closet and gave us instructions on how to use it "just in case."
The room itself(Sage room) was immaculately clean and comfortable. The fan in the closet was an awesome touch! There was access to sparkling water, soda and coffee/tea (from 630am-1230am) in the main area.
The innkeepers were fun. They sang during the delicious breakfast and had a fun conversation with us that lasted over 2 hours! They extended our stay an hour because we lost an hour due to daylight savings which was above and beyond but gave us time to enjoy the amazing air-jet tub one more time. I would highly recommend this inn to anyone looking to just escape or even those on business. The only constructive criticism I'd give is to have coffee available before 630am for us that have "bakers hours." Otherwise it was super.

Thanks again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crenee1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

We had such a wonderful time at the Roost. I never knew how charming Appleton, Wis really is. Great restaurants and so much to see and do. The Roost is extremely inviting and meticulously clean. The breakfast was outstanding and they will make allowances for allergies such as Saigon cinnamon. Aimee and Tom could not have been nicer. They are the perfect people to run an Inn. We highly recommend the Roost without any hesitation and hope more people try out this gem of a spot.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Roger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

These two are the most gracious people i have ever met in this industry. They are very concerned about your comfort and happines with your stay. They are open and caring people and the breakfasts they offer are truely amazing! Ellie said the food they prepared was from local vendors, but it tasted like it was grown by the best private concern that wisconsin could offer.
It had snowed all through the night and there was a lot of it. Tom was out shoveling a soon as we were up and about.
Once again I must say that Tom and Ellie are the most caring and gracious people They even e-mailed us to ask if we had lost a pair of glasses they found under the bed!
This just goes to show the thouroughness they employ in their housekeeping efforts. Yes, they were mine and I told them to keep them in case someone might need them in the future.
We were very well pleased with our stay, and will come again when we can.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knighttwister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I have never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before. I'm so glad that we took the chance and booked at The Roost! Tom and Aimee are fantastic. From the second you pull up you feel at home. They chat with you, offer wine, go over the room, and ask what you want for breakfast. The room is immaculate. It is so clean and comfortable. Breakfast was beautifully set up with china and the meal was deliciously home-cooked. We met wonderful folks and when we were the last guests to leave the next day - we felt so spoiled and taken care of that we didn't want to leave. We will definitely go back. Thank you Tom and Aimee. You both run a fabulous establishment.

Room Tip: You just need to ask and they will try to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Recently stayed at The Roost Bed and Breakfast (for the second time) to celebrate our anniversary. Once again Tom and Aimee made the stay wonderful. We stayed in the Bella Suite (last time was the Meadow Room). The Bella Suite was beautiful and private. The suite had everything for the perfect romantic getaway. Breakfast was excellent (again). We will most likely be returning to this place again. Well done Tom and Aimee!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayZee_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I stumbled across the Roost when we were looking for a B&B to use for our wedding weekend. We were looking for something that we could rent out the entire house so our parents, best man and matron of honor could all stay right with us. Our stay was amazing. Tom and Aimee so attentive to every detail and oh -so - accommodating!


From letting us check in early to accommodating extra guests at breakfast they did it all. Breakfast every morning was so amazing! We loved that Tom and Aimee make sure to buy as much local and fresh as they can and they tell you about what they have made you. It was always delicious!

Our room (the Bella Suite) was stunning and completely comfortable! It had everything we needed and was simply beautiful!

We left a few items behind and Tom was ever so fast to offer to ship them back to their owners.

We can not wait to go back and celebrate many years to come together in this space right close to home :) Thank you, Tom and Aimee! You helped create memories we will never forget and made our wedding weekend that much easier!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Roost had everything we wanted in one of its simple rooms- bath, jacuzzi, spacious, comfortable, quiet. Owners make terrific fresh baked breakfasts. We didn't like having to sit at one long table with other guests - things got political at our table which was a bit much for breakfast - but otherwise The Roost was great and we'd definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paolomaldini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleton
1.9 mi away
Radisson Paper Valley Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Appleton Kimberly
4.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Appleton
Candlewood Suites Appleton
#19 of 25 in Appleton
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
CopperLeaf Hotel
CopperLeaf Hotel
#4 of 25 in Appleton
391 reviews
4.8 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
3.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#6 of 25 in Appleton
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roost Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roost Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1900 S Lee St, Appleton, WI 54915-4261
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Appleton
Price Range: £133 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Roost Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roost Bed and Breakfast has received nothing but positive guest reviews since it opened! That fact alone speaks volumes. An established, award-winning bed and breakfast located in a quiet residential neighborhood just 1.8 miles from downtown Appleton, The Roost is only 30 minutes from Lambeau Field and the Green Bay Packers, 30 minutes from Oshkosh and EAA AirVenture (“The World’s Greatest Aviation Celebration”), and minutes away from Lawrence University, the Fox River Mall (the second-largest indoor mall in Wisconsin), the Fox Cities Performing Arts Center, museums, dozens of fine dining options, Lake Winnebago, outdoor activities, and much more. Five contemporary guest suites are decorated in a French Country/Tuscan décor and feature private bathrooms, two-person air-jet spa tubs, fireplaces, mini-refrigerators, and other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Roost Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing