We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh, so so.”
Review of Buca di Beppo - CLOSED

Buca di Beppo
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wisconsin
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Wanted to check out the new restaurant. Just my husband and I came for lunch to try it out before we spent a lot bringing our kids. Glad we didn't blow a ton of money, cuz it was pretty bland. Won't be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Packerfan1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Dinner at Buca Di Beppo's is overpriced for the quality, quantity and presentation of the meal. Service is fine but their food quality has definitely changed since they first opened. Very disappointed with our meals. There are reasons the restaurant is rarely busy. We have much better Italian restaurants available in Appleton, in fact, some are right in the same neighborhood!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank poipupatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Please accept our apologies for your experience. We have forwarded the information to management and would love to have someone reach out to you. Could you email us your contact information to mamacares@bucainc.com? Please make sure to include the date and location of your complaint in your e-mail. We always appreciate opportunities to better serve our guests. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I think the food is overpriced. Having said that, I always order the gorgonzola/apple/walnut salad. It too is overpriced, but it is very large and plenty for two meals. We have tried several of the pastas, seems they are usually served with too little sauce. There are better Italian restaurants in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelinGal920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Nick was a great waiter, very helpful. Wine was pricy, $9.00 for a small glass. Wife got her money's worth on sodas.
We were in the Poster room, they have a few themed areas.
It was a good meal until they kept seating people around us in an otherwise empty room. 4 tables out of 12, all together in the corner. Just glad there was no candles at the tables or the old guy they seated with the GALLON of Aqua Velva aftershave on would have exploded. It tainted the flavor of my meal.
Would have loved to try their desert, I was looking forward to trying the tiramisu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnnyBoy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Reviewed May 25, 2013


Got together with a family of 5 others who were in town after they ran the marathon in Green Bay. They suggested they wanted to try Buca Di Beppo. Upon arrival for a midafternoon Sunday lunch we were placed in the "Pope" room. Our waiter arrived and the story begins! The waiter proceeded to sit down in the last empty chair in the room and tell us his life story of being a waiter. It began with how he only makes $2.35 an hour and he works two jobs, here and at Bennigans. ( I didnt have the heart to tell him I frequent Bennigans and have never seen him there). The story goes on to where he tells us that he nevers receives lower than a 28%-35% tip anymore. Below that amount for a tip is like an insult! At this time I am no longer thinking what I want to order or about my future dining experience. We all have the ability to choose and he chose his career!! Someone in our party trys to jokingly change the subject asking who the man in the room is."Oh, some benidictor man", he replied. Another person speaks up and says we need to leave Appleton in an hour so can we order? We order, he brings drinks outs. He sits down and talks to the person who is sitting next to the empty seat proceeding to brag about himself saying he should of ran the marathon because he use to run to his girlfriends house after wrestling when he was in high school. There and back up hill. Part of our order came. Part of the order was never put it by the waiter so we had to wait again for one persons salad. I would say the meal was mediocre. When it came time to pay the bill it was put on one person's charge card. The waiter came and told the person his charge did not go through to please come with him. This was VERY shocking,embarrassing news to our party member. He said when he went with the waiter he asked the waiter to run the charge again and it worked fine. We all never asked our friend but we all wondered was this another ploy by the waiter to put someone under pressure to add a high tip amount because he is standing directly there? He was asked to fill out a survey and if they were coming back to give all high ratings on the survey. We will not go back, not because of the food but because of the annoying high pressured service. Too bad for this restaurant manager, I know good workers are hard to find but if this is happening to more than just us. This guy has got to go!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank annonymousa_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buca di Beppo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing