We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday”
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
Ranked #114 of 366 Restaurants in Appleton
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Famous Dave's of Appleton has been serving the Fox Valley Community since 1997. For the past 15+ years we have been providing the Famous BBQ that Famous Dave Anderson came up with and perfected over a 20 year period. The first Famous Dave's was opened in 1994 in Hayward, WI and there are over 180 Famous Dave's through the United Sates and Canada. For take-out, catering or dine-in Famous Dave's of Appleton is the place to be!
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday”
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

We went here for my birthday as I had a coupon for a free meal. Love the atmosphere. My husband got the fish sandwich and he said it was fairly good. I got the pulled chicken sandwich. Biggest let down was that I only got about 15 or so fries. Not sure if they shorted me because the meal was free but makes me hesistant to come back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nevermeant2say
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    9
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delightful in many ways”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

We took our grandson with us out to eat. Our server was most accommodating to him...and we appreciated that a lot. The 99 cents special was a pleasant surprise too. Our food arrived and everything we had ordered was so tasty..from the mild to the devilish sauce that they offered on their menu. We were are so full when we departed with much anticipated left overs. Our server was genuinelky very nice. We will return again and again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjweber1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great..!”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The Famous Dave's in our town shut down so I was delighted to see a Famous Daves's here.. Great service and great BBQ..

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Usually Flawless”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My husband and I went here for his Birthday this year. We ordered all of our usual favorites (I like their boneless wings and he likes the chopped pork open sandwich) We also always get the onion haystack. It's very greasy, but always delicious and the dipping sauce is to die for. This trip was not as great as usual. First our meals came before our onion strings, so we just cancelled them, and my husband's sandwich had quite a bit of fat throughout it. Hoping it was just a fluke as all of our other trips there have been wonderful; therefore I rated them a 4.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Damn Great!”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Just do not go there often enough.

Excellent tender tasty vitals. Have never been let down on any count. Clean restrooms.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wazoo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing