We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of Appleton's Finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mark's East Side

Mark's East Side
Ranked #3 of 366 Restaurants in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$25
Cuisines: American, German, Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned and operated since 1967. Marks is a long time area favorite for lunch and dinner serving hand cut steaks, fresh seafood and award winning German fare. Come and relax in our well stock bar featuring a wide selection of liquor, beer and wine. Open 6 day a week, lunch Monday thur Friday and closed on Sundays. Hope to see you soon. Mark DoughertyOwner
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“One of Appleton's Finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and I have been going to Mark's for a very long time and we have never been disappointed in the quality of the food or the service. The owner is hands on and it shows! Our only gripe is that so many other area residents are also repeat customers and that make for a long wait for a table on Friday nights, but it's well worth it. They do an outstanding job with fish including the ability to not overcook it, a common problem at so many restaurants. They menu has plenty of choices so no need be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graycrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    64
    22
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
107 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Your Friday Fish Headquarters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This place seems to be an icon in the area. I met some clients for a dinner meeting on a Friday night. Arrived at 4:30pm and the place was packed. Thankfully we got seated quickly, but it was about an hour and half wait for a couple who arrived only 15-20 minutes after us. Attentive service by the wait staff, including making sure some food allergies were attended to. Fantastic fish options, and great food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tptn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Combined Locks, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Mark's East Side is our favorite restaurant. They have wonderful food and a section of their menu lists German dishes - some of our favorites. But, I think my absolute favorite is their
Chicken Cordon Blu. The owner cuts his own meat and the steaks are great. You just can't miss with this place.

They're also noted for their hot bacon dressing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All-around Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have booked our company's Christmas parties at this restaurant every year because our
people always request going back there. I take out-of-town guests to eat there because of
the variety of the menu and they are never disappointed. The drinks, food and service are
the best in the Valley!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dme-0715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Love the steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We always have excellent food and great service. Wonderful place for family and friends. We will definitely return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terrysara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mark's East Side also viewed

 

Been to Mark's East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing