We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“better than expected after reading reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Appleton
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
“better than expected after reading reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We decided to spend the night due to school being cancelled 2 days in a row because of below zero temps. I had read that the service here was not very good at all so I was prepared to make the best of it since we got a good deal and they have ping pong and pool tables. The service was very good...the woman at the desk (owners wife?? Indian descent) was very sweet and her husband called the maintenance guy to come and fix the pool table for us as it was not working. Upon heading to the great breakfast that came with our stay, the same woman asked us if everything was ok with our stay and was friendly and welcoming. The pool was warm enough and the room was clean and beds were comfortable. She even let us do a late checkout with a friendly upbeat attitude. If you want a nice hotel for a family stay, this is fine for the price.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 106 overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Jennifer, thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. Our staff is well-trained to assist all of our guests with their needs. Please visit us again and give us the chance to serve you and your family again. Thank you for choosing the Best Western Fox Valley Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    147
    67
    35
    31
See reviews for
215
67
23
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean, the room was a nice size, and the beds were comfortable. I was worried about the cleanliness from other reviews but for the price it met my expectations. The pool area was the best thing about the hotel! However, the room was dark and cold. The seating area in my room was also a joke. The chairs were so close to the bed you couldn't sit down. Plus, the hotel staff at the front desk were extremely rude when I tried to tell them my complaint about the restaurant connected to them as they gave me coupons for it. I was told the restaurant is separate and has nothing to do with them. Well, maybe the hotel shouldn't be recommending them and handing out coupons for the restaurant! Just an FYI, don't eat at Blueberry Hill...terrible terrible customer service!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landeros420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
I am so glad that you enjoyed out salt water pool. It is one of the few amenities we offer. I am very sorry that our customer service did not meet your expectations. I will make sure to address this. Please visit us again so you can experience that changes we have made. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was my first stay at the BEST WESTERN Fox Valley Inn. Overall it was as nice stay. The lobby area was clean and the check in process was fast and efficient. The front desk worker was friendly and helpful showing me where in the hotel my room was. My room was clean and comfortable. I got to experience their salt water pool that was clean and nice having a TV by the hot tub so you could watch TV while relaxing in the hot tub. I did like having a salt water pool so you don't smell like chemicals when you get out. It was nice having video games, ping pong tables, pool table, etc in the pool area. There were a couple issues with my stay. The first was the parking lot. The parking lot was covered with ice. I'm not sure what the weather was like prior to my stay but there were some areas of the parking lot that were dangerous. Also, the door I was told to use to get to my room was covered in glare ice. The biggest issue with my stay was the extremely loud music that woke me up in the morning. At about 8am I woke up to someone playing the radio very loud through the PA system in the pool area. I'm not sure why the radio had to be played over the PA that loud especially since there wasn't anyone in the pool area and the pool wasn't even open yet. I would stay here again if I'm ever back in the area but I'd make sure I don't get a room by the pool so I can rest and sleep in and not be woken up early.

Room Tip: Don't get a room by the pool unless you want to be woken up early by loud music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you Joseph for your review. We really appreciate your stay with us. We will make sure the music in control. Be sure to visit us again. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I've been staying here for many years and it's changed a lot, mostly in good ways. The hotel staff has always been kind and courteous. I've never had a problem with the cleanliness of the rooms or pool area. I miss the sauna they used to have there which has now been replaced with a small workout room. I do not like the change from chlorine to salt water in their pool, because the salt irritates my skin so badly so I can't swim there anymore. However I've continued to enjoy the hot tub! They've always had a gaming area, however over the years it has grown a bit smaller; but the kids still enjoy it nonetheless. I love coming here for parties and group events, there's a lot of space to accommodate large amounts of people and counter space for food. I highly recommend this place for the weary traveler or even for those of us who just want a nice weekend getaway.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kailyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for visiting the Best Western Fox Valley Inn with your family. I am sorry you could not enjoy the pool. The salt water pool is actually more safer because it does fade clothes or burn eyes. We want to keep up with the modern times. So we changed our pool for a better guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were in Appleton on business for the day when I became sick. Rahter than drive 5 hours home, we checked in to the BW FVI. Nikki and her staff were outstanding in setting us up with a room. They showed great concern about my well being. We have stayed at this facility in the past and it is great. The breakfast is also very good. Thank you very much.

Room Tip: First floor poolside is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Debra, it is always great to see you. Nikki is great at customer service. We glad that you enjoyed our hot breakfast because there are so many options to choose from. Visit us again soon so we can get a another chance to serve you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here last minute in an effort to avoid a snowstorm - on a Packer weekend. Somehow they graciously found us a room and accomodated us (at 1:30am!). We had a baby in tow, so they gave us a room close to the entrance to make things easier for us. The front desk staff even brought my bags to the room while my husband unloaded the car. The next thing I knew, the front desk guy was back at our door with blankets (that I didn't even ask for but needed) since it was so cold out! This place is old, but seems to be well maintained. Breakfast was hot and there were quite a few options available. All in all it was a great visit and the staff seems to be in tune with what people need. We didn't have the opportunity to go in the pool, but it looks like a great setup for families.

This is an older property and the facility shows it, but I gave it a very good rating because the staff and service really make up for that.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We do pride on our staff training and a great customer service experience. We want to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you for choosing the Best Western Fox Valley Inn. Please us on a planned vacation when possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waupun, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The service was fantastic. We booked four poolside rooms for New Years Eve and were disheartened when we arrived and all the tables in the pool area were taken with other families with the same idea…games and hors devours for the evening. I spoke with the front desk and immediately they set up a few more tables for us and another guest who just arrived. The brought in more chairs and asked if there was anything else we needed for our stay.

Through out the night the staff was constantly restocking the pool towels and emptying thrash. They also made sure everyone was having fun and staying in line. The pool stayed open until 2am that night.

The rooms were good, two queens, micro, fridge, etc. It is an older hotel, but you can tell that they have kept it up. We loved that the pool room/social gathering area was right outside our hotel room door. It made things very convenient and everyone could be together in one area.

We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a poolside room. It was worth it to be so close since it is not your typical pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Heather, we are glad that your new years started with us. We loved having you as a guest. You were a pleasant with your family. We always try to go above and beyond to make our guest experience memorable. Please visit us again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
4.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Appleton
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Appleton-Fox River Mall Area
5.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#7 of 23 in Appleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn
Address: 3033 West College Ave., Appleton, WI 54914 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Fox Valley Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Appleton
#12 Business Hotel in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fox Valley Hotel Appleton
Best Western Appleton
Appleton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing