We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good surprise!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Far East Korean & Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #119 of 366 Restaurants in Appleton
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

The food was very good, the staff did a great job and overall it was a great surprise. There was only two guys running the front shop but they did good and made it a more personal experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JCapp69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good sushi in a home like atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

The sushi is very good, the environment feels like you are inside a home. From the outside, the place doesn't look like much but inside it is much better. The service is great but sometimes you have to wait a while for your food if it's a busy night. None the less, you will get a great meal. The house wine is also very good and a great price. A nice, cozy place to go to:)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jasila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

This place is great, hidden away tucked off the normal food strips. It surprised me, food was great, good service and owned by family.
Definite returner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RckStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good sushi and korean food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

My wife and I enjoy eating at asian restaurants so we thought we'd try this one. I ordered some sushi rolls and my wife got the Chicken Bulgogi. The Sushi was good and here dish although different presentation that we were used to it was very tasty. The sake was very good also.

Helpful?
1 Thank kgenske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menasha WI
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“cute, cozy little place with a nice bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Everytime I feel a cold coming on, I call Far East for chicken udon soup. Then I drag my crummy feeling self over there, sit at the bar and wait for a few minutes. The chicken broth has that lovely green onion and ginger flavor with huge, thick noodles and small pieces of chicken. It could stand a few more veggies like some carrot slivers or some parsley floating on top for some color - but it tastes so lovely. And it is definitely two serving so the cost isn't quite so painful. I had one experience with their sushi and would have to say I like other local places better.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElleMenashaWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Far East Korean & Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 
Appleton, WI
 

Been to Far East Korean & Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing