We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Paul Plaza Hotel
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Brasilia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at the St Paul Plaza for work. Our overall impression was that the rooms were basic but clean and the hotel was clean, functional and safe but not great value for money. The breakfast was a bit hectic but reasonable quality. The roof top bar and pool were closed while we stayed but we weren't informed of this on check in or in advance which was a shame. We were given a room with 3 single beds when we ordered a double room but this was changed when we requested.there were only 2 lifts for the hotel and the wait was lengthy so we ended up taking the stairs. We didn't find the staff especially helpful or friendly who seemed to be interested in chatting to each other rather than helping customers. It was easy to get a cab from the hotel and there is a vending machine that provided drinks and snacks. If we went to Brasilia again, we'd look elsewhere for our hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aplang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 2,864 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

The rooms have WiFi hence the reason we stayed but otherwise was below par. The staff is usually not able to help with restaurant advice explaining that there wasn't a single pizzeria in all Brasilia that was any good then directed us to an American chain. The second night I had some left overs so requested a fork, but the hotel informed me that they would not provide one despite having them at the restaurant on site. I then tried the bar that was listed as open daily but no one was there and when calling to ask about it they explain they could not serve me at the rooftop bar but could bring room service. Next time I'll look elsewhere for my hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Msphillips1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We had a very nice stay in the St Paul Brasilia. It was a good location, especially for a Rotary make-up at the hotel literally next door. The staff spoke more English than in any place that we stayed in our 18 days in Brazil. It was also obviously the hotel with which TAM contracted for its employees because they were coming and going and eating breakfast with us everyday. In fact the flight crew from our arriving flight were checking in at the same time that we were.

We took two rooms. Ours was to have 2 twin beds. It had three. That made it a little crowded, because the room was not that big. Our companions had a queen bed with lots of room around it. The beds were comfortable and the room very clean. The staff was very prompt to say the least. A drain needed to be unplugged. We thought that we would call in the morning, which we did. However, they were there so quickly that we weren't though with the morning routine and off to breakfast by the time they arrived. Can't be complaining about that. We should have timed our call a little better.

The breakfast was good. I do not get excited about breakfasts in hotels. There was a nice selection. The pastries were a little dry, and we were getting a little tired of the Brazilian pastries by the last days of our trip. First and only time I have been served watermelon juice. It was good.

Throughout our trip it seemed like our timing was always late for a nice sit-down meal, and we ended up in food courts all over Brazil. It was just after 5 PM, and we had time before our 7 PM appointment so we thought we would enjoy what appeared to be their very nice restaurant. However, it opened at 7:00. That seemed to be our fate all over the country, so back to the food court at the mall (which was within easy walking distance).

The area seemed safe and easily accessible to the TV tower and fair/market near there.

We would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel. It was a good bargain and nice stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoylefromJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

St Pauls Plaza Hotel is located close to the TV Tower the Lojas Americana Mall and the architectural masterpieces of Oscar Nieamiah . The cathedral and the centrre for performing arts is visable from the hotel . The mall has an excellent food court on the fifth floor . You can get good bargins for craft items at the TV Tower . None of the business places deal with US dollars. You need to ensure that you change your money to Reis which is approx 2 Reis to 1 US . You will have great difficulty to change Travellers Cheques. The banks will change your US for you

Room Tip: All the rooms are identical . The rooms facing the east are better for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sinco1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a weekend with my girlfriend. Our room was big, silent and very comfortable, with a king size bed. An easy-to-use safe was also available in the room, although we haven't used it.

When we arrived, there was only one bath/hand towel set in the room, so we called the front desk and requested the missing towels, which took some time and a second call to arrive. Anyway, the staff was not impolite and was helpful for the basic services we needed (like taxi and room service dinner).

The complimentary breakfast was good and generous, served at the restaurant on the rooftop (where there was also a small swimming pool area, from which we had a good - although not splendid - view of the city).
When I went to the restaurant on the Sunday afternoon, to have a cup of espresso coffee, it was served for free. :)

From the hotel, a very short taxi ride will take you to the main tourist spots. In the first day, we even opted to walk.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igorrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank olivier m
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The hotel is under refit aside that it is a good hotel with good value. Worth to enjoy the Continental breakfast specially, the cheese bread. The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brasilia hotels
Melia Brasil 21
#10 of 58 in Brasilia
2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Asa Norte
Saint Moritz Hplus Express
S4 Hotel
#26 of 58 in Brasilia
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Paul Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Paul Plaza Hotel

Address: Rua Shs Quadra 2 Bloco H, Brasilia, Federal District 70322-902, Brazil
Region: Brazil > Federal District > Brasilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Brasilia
#11 Business Hotel in Brasilia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Brasilia
Price Range: £38 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Paul Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St Paul Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Plaza Hotel Brasilia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing