We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view - food merely okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Tulip Brasilia Alvorada
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Brasilia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

When I go to Brazil I often debate whether to stay at the Tulip or one of the downtown hotels (Melia). The Tulip is beautiful and the lake view cannot be beat. But, the meal offerings are merely adequate and it's far from the rest of Brasilia. My last stay when I had time to enjoy the sunset on the lake reminded me that it's a great place. Nice workout facility and good drinks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean N, Gerente geral at Royal Tulip Brasilia Alvorada, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for your review!

We work hard to provide the best products and services that, allied to our amazing structure, combine into an incredible hosting experience!

We are eager to see you again, check our sprecial programming for weekends and holidays!

Yours truly,
General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 2,247 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in 5 hotels in Brasilia and this is by far the best. Everything I have found in the hotel sector is a business hotel. Obviously. However this hotel is definitely a resort. Nice pool. Food was great. Bars are nice and open late. Removed from the city. Most hotels in Brazil that say they are a 5 star will be a 4 or 3 by American standards. This one is a 5 star by American standards.

One warning and it seems petty but if you stay there you will see what I mean. The shower has a tendency to let water out. It's made of allot if glass. The marble floors tend to pool a little and get slippery. I noticed it the first night and put down a few towels so the family wouldn't slip. Sadly a woman 2 doors down from us slipped and broke her leg. Just feel the need to pass that little bit of info on.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmoglesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean N, Gerente geral at Royal Tulip Brasilia Alvorada, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for your review!

We work hard to provide the best products and services that, allied to our amazing structure, combine into an incredible hosting experience!

We are eager to see you again, check our sprecial programming for weekends and holidays!

Yours truly,
General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

A huge hotel with great facilities. Rooms are spacious and service is friendly. Breakfast is a good spread of fruits, cold meats and some eggs, bacon, etc. Service during breakfast is ok. The hotel pool is a blessing and the garden area is well maintained. A good option for longer stays, but relatively remote in the sense that you will need a taxi to pretty much everything.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view over the lake area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beejay80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean N, Gerente geral at Royal Tulip Brasilia Alvorada, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for your review!

We work hard to provide the best products and services that, allied to our amazing structure, combine into an incredible hosting experience!

We are eager to see you again, check our sprecial programming for weekends and holidays!

Yours truly,
General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We actually stayed overnight at this hotel on three separate occasions during a recent trip to Brazil in June/July. Each time, the reception staff were very pleasant and efficient.

Since we were travelling as a family, we decided to pay some extra and book a suite connecting with another room. This was very worthwhile! The small extra cost was highly justified by the space, the comfort and the great views of the pool and lake from an upper floor, located close to the lifts. The bathrooms were particularly good.

The breakfasts were fantastic. I particularly loved the wide variety of fruits and pastries, but the hot breakfasts were also good. The breakfast room has a view of the pool area. There is only a casual restaurant for dinner. We found the food quite acceptable for a casual place, without being outstanding, but there are some excellent, memorable cocktails. At least go there for a cocktail.

There is a small heated pool, located within the beautiful pool complex. We did not have time for a swim, but we dabbled our hands and feet in the water and it was certainly a comfortable temperature, even though we were there in 'winter'. The pool area was absolutely clean and beautifully designed.

My one complaint was that the wifi was not reliable two out of the three nights we were there. It was very frustrating having to keep restoring the connection. Wifi should be free and absolutely reliable for a hotel of this standard. However, I did experience worse wifi in accommodation that was more expensive in other parts of Brazil, so maybe it needs to be put in perspective.

Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a suite if you can afford it, ask for a higher floor with a lakeview and preferabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Familytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean N, Gerente geral at Royal Tulip Brasilia Alvorada, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for your review!

We work hard to provide the best products and services that, allied to our amazing structure, combine into an incredible hosting experience!

We are eager to see you again, check our sprecial programming for weekends and holidays!

Yours truly,
General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Just prior to returning from two weeks in Brasilia, the Amazon, and the Panantal, my family and I decided to splurge and treat ourselves to the Royal Tulip Alvarado after many nights with no cell service, no WiFi, and very basic accommodations (especially in the Pousadas).

There is no doubt that high expectations can lead to great disappointment but the Royal Tulip Alvarado definitely did not live up to its cost nor did it match the pretentiousness of the staff working there. Our first impression was the beautiful and spacious lobby, but the second impression was how cold the check-in staff were. After two weeks of soaking in the wonderful warmth and friendliness of the Brazilian people we really struck by this contrast. This couple was very cool. “No we do not have two rooms together, the hotel is booked tonight.” we were told even though we made our reservations and adjacent room request a month ago. So our daughters ended up staying on an entirely different floor.

The bellman took us and our luggage up to our room which surprisingly was open. The maid was just stripping the bed! “Just wait here in the hallway for 5 minutes and the room will be ready” said the bellman. When we did get into the room we discovered that it did not have twin beds as we had requested. A long day of travel and we did not want to wait any longer however I did complain to the front desk staff who offered to move us to another room. Wait, didn’t he just tell us that the hotel was totally booked?

O.k. Now we were all eager to finally get our email and make contact with family and friends. The hotel in many ways, in spite of the very high room charges, looks to save money and charge you for everything possible. Despite having unlimited free WiFi everywhere else we had stayed, the Royal Tulip provides just 2 hours free. Unfortunately, both my wife and I spent most of those two hours trying to get connected and then get any webpage to load or any email to download - absolutely nothing. The front desk response: “We are having problems with the WiFi in that section of the hotel.” As if it would make us feel better, we were told that other guests are also complaining. And then again the offer to move our room…BTW - the WiFi in the lobby worked but was at a very very slow speed.

We asked where the restaurant was located and were told they do not have one but there is one in the nearby Golden Tulip. We were tired and decided not to walk there but to just get a quick bite at the faux British pub in the lobby. It took a very, very long time for the food to come and the order was wrong. I could go on and on about the restaurant, but suffice it to say it was slow service and frustrating to try to communicate simple things like the steak should be well done.

Then there are all the little things that were missing. A comforter that could cover both my feet and shoulders at the same time. A bedside table on both sides of the bed. A good hairdryer - this one you had to continually hold in the button which made your finger very sore and suggested they were trying to save on the electrical bill. Only two sets of towels. A box of tissues (totally missing). Even the pousadas we stayed in provided tissues. The closet opened to block the path between the bedroom and bathroom. And then here were things that were present and one wondered why. The old phone on the single bedside table that wasn’t connected to anything.

Because we only arrived after dark and had an early morning flight we did not look at the surroundings or try out the pool, etc.

In comparison to the Mercure Brasilia Eixo, which we stayed at for four nights, the Royal Tulip greatly disappointed. I certainly would not stay there again and would not recommend it to others.

Room Tip: A standard room does not come with a view of the Lake. That needs to be specially selected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelsFarAndWisely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean N, Gerente geral at Royal Tulip Brasilia Alvorada, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

WorldTraveller-A1,

Agradecemos a preferência pelo Royal Tulip Brasília Alvorada Hotel e ratificamos nossa imensa satisfação em te receber como hóspede.

Por oportuno, cumpre-nos informar que acontecimentos alheios à nossa vontade tornaram a hospedagem aquém do padrão de qualidade habitualmente oferecido pelo hotel.

Verificamos todos os pontos citados e informo que tratamos como oportunidade de melhoria.

Sentimos pelo ocorrido e esperamos que nos dê a oportunidade de uma nova avaliação em uma próxima hospedagem.

Atenciosamente,
Jean Nogueira
Gerente Geral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Location is very good, but far from the centre and the airport. Pool is very, very good, although not heated, which is a problem in thistime of the year, with cold nights. But the building is modern and designed by a fine architect from São Paulo. Very good taste in the decoration.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank SAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean N, Gerente geral at Royal Tulip Brasilia Alvorada, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for your review!

We work hard to provide the best products and services that, allied to our amazing structure, combine into an incredible hosting experience!

We are eager to see you again, check our sprecial programming for weekends and holidays!

Yours truly,
General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Authenthic five star hotel in the centre of Brazil.

Well decorated, spacious, and with an wornderful view to the lake Paranoá.

Far from the rush area in the Plano Piloto, close to good restaurants if you have had rented a car.

Incredible swimining pool also counting with a heated pool.

Complete breakfast served ina fancy restaurante.

The hotel also have a pub with good meal and drinks for fair prices compared to Sao Paulo city.

Employees well trained and ready to help wheever you need.

Quite near to the main sight seeings of Brasilia.

Price very good during the weekends (USD 140 dayly rate for a couple). Unfortunately during the Wourldcup 2014 it will be much more expensive, for sure.

Anyway good for business, execelnet for couples and families. Go and enjoy

Room Tip: rooms located in the upper floor guarantee incredible view to the lake Paranoá.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fclmello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean N, Gerente geral at Royal Tulip Brasilia Alvorada, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for your review!

We work hard to provide the best products and services that, allied to our amazing structure, combine into an incredible hosting experience!

We are eager to see you again, check our sprecial programming for weekends and holidays!

Yours truly,
General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brasilia hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Brasilia Alvorada
8.7 mi away
Blue Tree Premium Jade Brasilia
4.2 mi away
Windsor Plaza Brasilia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brasilia Palace Hotel
Brasilia Palace Hotel
#6 of 57 in Brasilia
2,227 reviews
4.3 mi away
Melia Brasil 21
Melia Brasil 21
#10 of 57 in Brasilia
2,723 reviews
3.7 mi away
Windsor Brasilia Hotel
Windsor Brasilia Hotel
#1 of 57 in Brasilia
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Tulip Brasilia Alvorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tulip Brasilia Alvorada

Address: Setor Shtn Trecho 1 | Conj. 1B, Bloco C, Brasilia, Federal District 70800-200, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > Federal District > Brasilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brasilia
#1 Business Hotel in Brasilia
#1 Family Hotel in Brasilia
#2 Spa Hotel in Brasilia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brasilia
Price Range: £70 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Tulip Brasilia Alvorada 5*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Tulip Brasilia Alvorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Tulip Brasilia Alvorada Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing