We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hotel The Sun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel The Sun
Ranked #37 of 56 Hotels in Brasilia
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

A good choice for a business trip. It is very clean and new. The apartments have a good space and are quiet. The staff was not so polite with our group. The wifi was very unstable. There were two treadmills on the fitting room, but one was broken and I did run outside during my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rveiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    157
    77
    29
    23
See reviews for
56
80
21
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

If I were in Brasilia for a few days on a budget vacation with my family, had a car, spoke Portuguese and was prepared to microwave my own meals or drive to restaurants, this would be a good apartment. For a business traveler without a car, it was terrible. It is far from any shops so not appropriate if you do not have a car. The complex seems mostly unoccupied and is made up of several apartment blocks within a fenced compound. When I arrived at night, they took me in an electric cart for a long drive to my apartment block and I had no idea how to get back to the reception building - it turns out if I went out the back door of my building and walked across the courtyard, I would be at the back door of the reception in one minute, and I could have at least had a microwaved dinner that night (too late for room service). As a woman travelling alone, I did not feel safe wandering in the dark around the complex looking for reception, and it would have been very good if they had provided a simple printed map of the property. The check-in was incredibly inefficient and took 45 minutes even though there were only two of us checking in at the time. The desk clerks spoke no English and tried to get me to pay for the room again even though I had a prepaid reservation.

There are no services for food or drink except a room service menu (which had already closed for the night when I arrived) and a freezer of microwave meals in the lobby that you could buy to heat up in your apartment. The breakfast has a small selection of fresh fruit, cheese, ham plus cereal and fresh breads. There were scrambled eggs that were cold because no flame had been set under them, and a sausage dish that looked very unappetizing. Adequate but not very good. It was in a separate building from where my apartment was, which meant walking in the rain to and from breakfast.

The rooms are plain but new and clean. My small apartment was one big room crammed with a bed, desk, kitchen and sofa, including a useless and space-consuming partial wall between the bed and sofa. The window and sliding door to the tiny balcony did not lock. There was only cold water in bathroom and kitchen sinks. The shower was lukewarm at the hottest setting. There was a small microwave but no kettle or cups to make tea or coffee. There were 2 plates, 2 glasses and few pieces of cutlery but no cooking or washing-up facilities. Bottled water was only available at the lobby.

After one night, I had the conference organizers who booked my trip move me to another hotel that had full services and was more appropriate for a business traveler.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brasilia hotels

Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

It is new and clean. The apartments are nice and good. There is also a nice swimmingpool.
Location is not so good, but in Brasilia you need a taxi to go anywhere.
The breakfast was good. The Free WiFi is very very slow. But you can pay for a little quicker internet.
Brasilia is just an awful place. We used it as a travel hub and fortunately stayed only 24 hours.
It lacks almost everything. No charm, no atmosphere. If you like well organized cities with a lot of space and high buildings and no traffic problems maybe you will like it.
Ok you will see a few nice buildings but not really more interesting than in an average big city to be honest. The taxi drivers are useless and try to rip you off. Almost nobody speaks another language than Portugues !
Use it as a travel hub but dont plan to visit it for other purposes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jreurings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamorlaye, France
Level Contributor
276 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

don't hesitate to drive some km to exit Brasilia downtown and go to this quiet place : close to the laguna water side, this hotel is very confortable, in a very safe location, with a beautifull swimming pool to refresh you at the end of the afternoon, a beautifull garden, room very confortable, good breakfast, very good hotel, very very quiet and safe...

Room Tip: ask for a room with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

OK, The Sun Hotel in Brasilia it's very very new. You can even hear the machines working to finish some rooms while you try to catch that extra hour sleep in the morning before breakfast. Yes, that's one thing that bugged me. The rooms are quite nice, cozy, really fresh. Although, the hotel has no service. I know the place is a flat style hotel, but since they take guests, they should worry about service. So, if you want some coffee, only at the breakfast, because there's no such thing as the minimum room service. They do have frozen (and really expensive) food. Yach! The pool area has no protection. Not one umbrella to make a little shadow. And forget about the crew. They can't help you. PS: at the first night, there was this guy that hand me an extra pillow. Which was cool. But, The Sun is on my bottom list of places I would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goiania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I was in Brasilia for a seminar in a school at ASA NORTE and the hotel was the best deal I could find. Its access from any place in ASA NORTE is easy (for Brasilia`s standards) and the room and bathroom were clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2CINY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brasilia hotels
1.5 mi away
Royal Tulip Brasilia Alvorada
1.4 mi away
Brasilia Palace Hotel
Brasilia Palace Hotel
#5 of 56 in Brasilia
2,147 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Brasilia Alvorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Blue Tree Premium Jade Brasilia
2.8 mi away
Windsor Plaza Brasilia Hotel
2.0 mi away
Intercity Brisas do Lago
Intercity Brisas do Lago
#22 of 56 in Brasilia
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Sun

Property: Hotel The Sun
Address: Setor Shtn Trecho 2 Lote 4, Brasilia, Federal District 70800-220, Brazil (Formerly The Sun Premium Resort)
Region: Brazil > Federal District > Brasilia > Asa Norte
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Brasilia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Sun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
572 rooms | Located in the Hotels and Tourism Sector of Northern Brasilia, Transamerica Classic The SUN is 1.3 km from the Presidential Palace and 19 km from the Presidente Juscelino Kubitschek International Airport. The hotel is near Lago Paranoa, a region of easy access to major points of the city. Accomodations Altogether there are 572 apartments, all with balconies. Accommodations range from 30 to 99m2, with choice of one double or two single beds. Some units come with chair-bed or sofa bed to accommodate a third person. Some suites have a double room united with another with two single beds and can accommodate up to 4 people. For those who like space, some units have antechambers, providing the best guest comfort for long stays. The hotel is divided into ten blocks with four floors each and all are equipped with LCD TV, air conditioning, safe, hair dryer, workstation, wi-fi, kitchenette with microwave and breakfast counter. A complete structure for your stay. Service For your comfort and well-being, we have restaurant, room service, parking lot in underground floor, laundry room and messenger. Leisure The outdoor area provides good moments of pleasure to guests, with two swimming pools, one of them heated, a children's pool, playground, gym, rest area in the gardens and in the hall of each block, and a large outdoor area that gives the hosts a walk for Brasilia's hot nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel The Sun Brasilia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing