We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended +\-” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Marco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Marco Hotel
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Brasilia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Recommended +\-”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

The service was good - everyone was very polite, the rooms were nice with king size beds, breakfast is very good - with tapioca and egg station, but there was a concert on the stadium closeby And we couldn't get any sleep one night - too much noise from outside - the windows didn't block the noise at night.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Adriana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    104
    50
    9
    5
See reviews for
14
7
12
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

I stayed at the San Marco hotel during a conference. It is a remodeled property, but the significant effort to refurbish the place could not mask the reality of an old, decaying building. The rooms are spacious and reasonably appointed, but the bathroom was old with cracked tiles and a leaking pipe (the housekeeping staff put a pile towels on the floor but the water seeped through anyway). On top of it, during part of my stay there was no water supply to the room at all, and during another part we just had no hot water... Most of the staff did not speak or understand English, so attempts to get help or explanations on the phone have failed.

The halls are kept dark with motion detectors that are supposed to switch the lights on when a walking person is detected. The problem is that sometimes they do detect you, sometimes they don't - it can be pretty dark and scary when they don't.

On checkout I stated that I consumed one (1) bottle of water from the minibar, and the bill was prepared accordingly and signed. Then the front desk lady decided that according to her records I consumed two (2) bottles, not one. She spent the next twenty minutes on canceling the old bill and trying to create a new one, fighting the computer and stopping occasionally to answer the phone. All this effort and checkout delay for approximately $2.50 in (disputed) charges. I was glad to be out of there.

Room Tip: I guess one should make sure the plumbing in the room is sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reuel_Tidhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Estivemos lá para uma Convenção, e que hotel velho e sem manuntenção!!! Com carpete no piso, mofado, mal cuidado... Banheiro entupido! Fora que o restaurante é na cobertura e ficamos no andar de baixo, não dava para dormir devido o arrastar de moveis e cadeiras, e na 6a feira e sábado o som alto foi até as 1:00 da manhã!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flavimeneses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
143 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

I had never stayed in an hotel where the windows could not block the noise from the outside world like this one. As Brasilia is a city wher you can hardly walk anywhere, the highways outside the hotel where always full of cars, motocycles, etc.
I changed form the 4th floor that has been revamped without solving this problem to the 7th to try to get less noise but the bathroom was old and needsing repairing.
The besti thing about this hotel was breakfast with marvellous fruits and juices and everything nicely displayed very early in the morning wihch was good because I could not sleep and would take breakfasta around 6 a.am.
The other good thing about this hotel is the staff. They got me everything I asked for very quickly: more hangers, a cable for internet (they charge 15 reais for 24 hours connection which is ridiculous),etc.
As I was invited to a congress I do not know the price for the rooms

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

Brasilia was designed in the 1960s. I think nothing in the San Marco has been updated since then.

The street noise is horrendous. This is all due to the completely antiquated windows in the hotel that really keep out zero sound. I felt like I was trying to sleep in the median strip of the highway next to the hotel. And I am a heavy sleeper.

The light switch in the bathroom worked 1 time out of 10. There was no hot water one of the two mornings I stayed there.

The staff are nice enough, they do a decent breakfast, and the roof deck is actually very nice. But its all overshadowed by how run down the rooms are and how hard it is to get a decent night's sleep with the traffic noise.

Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkP_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palm beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

It is in very poor condition. The doors and windows do not close all the way in several of the rooms that I saw. The outside noise is incredible. There is no sound proofing or dampering in the rooms. The rooms are also dirty, stains on sheets, dirty toilet, filth on sliding glass door. The location was good as was breakfast. Unless the rooms are totally free I would recommend that you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stockargus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brasilia hotels
0.1 mi away
America Bittar Hotel
America Bittar Hotel
#42 of 56 in Brasilia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel Brasilia
Carlton Hotel Brasilia
#53 of 56 in Brasilia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Naoum Hotel
Naoum Hotel
#26 of 56 in Brasilia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phenicia Bittar Hotel
Phenicia Bittar Hotel
#46 of 56 in Brasilia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Brasil 21
Melia Brasil 21
#11 of 56 in Brasilia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Paul Plaza Hotel
St Paul Plaza Hotel
#16 of 56 in Brasilia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marco Hotel

Property: San Marco Hotel
Address: SHS Quadra 05 Bloco C, Brasilia, Federal District 70312-970, Brazil
Region: Brazil > Federal District > Brasilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Brasilia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Marco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your San Marco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Hotel Brasilia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing