We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok, for it's price - good localization”
Review of Garvey Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garvey Park Hotel
Ranked #50 of 57 Hotels in Brasilia
Reviewed 27 June 2009

I was looking for a cheap place, that should be close to the place where I would work for a week. Garvey has some floors that are owned by a renter company, so me and my colleague got a double room in the 11th floor for R$120,00. For the price and the localization, and comparing with the other prices I found, it was ok. Much over the expectation that I had, considering the comments on TripAdvisor. I believe now the comments here talking about the place are from people where expecting a hotel for tourists, and maybe were expecting more that Garvey could offer.
I didn't saw anything about prostitution or things like other comments said, the room was clean (except the air conditioner, that I didn't used anyway), it has a good localization for those that will work near the center of Brasilia, and has some options of shoppings and dinner places close to it. And for business, I must remember that is nice that it has free wireless Internet access for it's clients.
I will recommend it for my colleagues, as they had already paid the same or more for much worse places in that region. And I would recommend it to anyone that just wants a cheap and good place to rest when expending some time working in Brasilia. They are floors from this and other renters companys int other hotels in the region, I would recommend people interested take a look on that too.

PS: This price doesn't includes breakfast, and the breakfast offered for R$14,00 in the hotel is too expensive for its quality. I've found a better one ear the place I was working were I could eat much better paying half that price.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mscctm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2008

Totally decadent (in the worst possible way) and a prostitution place.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank camons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2007

40 some odd years ago, the Garvey Park Hotel may have landed itself on the last page of a chincy Brasilian travel magazine or served as the backdrop for a bestselling pornographic film. Now, with its better days clearly in the past, it exists as painful reminder of what can befall on a less than careful traveler when naive assumptions are made about benchmark quality in what is still, most definitely, a third world country.

Musty air pervades the dimly lit, interminable hallways---sheets are soiled with puffs of smoke from what could have been the lips of lovers, dealers, or destitute business (wo)men---faux-wood vinyl floor tiles (if you're lucky to get one of the 'deluxe' rooms which we decided to pass-up) are peeling so abundantly, you have to assume that a blind man works the maintenance shift---balcony railings invite only the most daring to lean on them.

Besides the fact that a majority of the 'hotel' functions as lower income housing, it is an abominable place to spend your valued vacation (or business travel) dollars and as a commercial entity, with half-a-modicum of integrity, it should take a long and last look at itself---maybe in the same razor scribed mirrors it passes on as coffee tables (only in the exclusive, 'suite' level rooms--one of which my wife and I had the pleasure of resting in).

Throw a stone 50 feet and you'll find a dozen other hotels of significantly superior quality. This one's a pass.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Skoooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LESIUS_LENHADUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Otávio Henrique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Procurem outro hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wilisbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brasilia hotels
0.2 mi away
Brasilia Apart Hoteis
Brasilia Apart Hoteis
#38 of 57 in Brasilia
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bittar Plaza Hotel
Bittar Plaza Hotel
#47 of 57 in Brasilia
276 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Paul Plaza Hotel
St Paul Plaza Hotel
#19 of 57 in Brasilia
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#45 of 57 in Brasilia
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan Flat
Metropolitan Flat
#21 of 57 in Brasilia
898 reviews
0.4 mi away
America Bittar Hotel
America Bittar Hotel
#41 of 57 in Brasilia
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garvey Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garvey Park Hotel

Address: Rua Shn Quadra 2 Bloco J, Brasilia, Federal District 70702-909, Brazil
Region: Brazil > Federal District > Brasilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 57 Hotels in Brasilia
Price Range: £40 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garvey Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Garvey Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garvey Park Hotel Brasilia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing