We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pick for Bonito”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Ecological Expeditions
Ranked #13 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Bonito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Why is accommodation so expensive in Bonito? Not sure. But getting around it is easy if you can get a spare room here - about $35 for a room for two people - no haggling - no negotiating - easy. AC works a treat - is good sized rooms as well. Brekky nice - plenty to choose from and you can use the kitchen which is well stocked. Staff are nice - the cook/cleaner is superfriendly and the main man Douglas is a character - just follow him around when you talk to him - he doesn't like to sit still. If you do persist you'll get all the info about Bonito you care for. Close to restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to kitchen have better Wifi.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

This hostel is bonito is simple and neat. The staff are nice enough, our room was pretty big and good air con, but our toilet seemed to be really smelly all the time.

We didn't have a great experience with the Ecological Expeditions tour into the Pantanal. The guides were rude and dismissive but luckily our tour buddies and the gorgeous Pantanal made the trip great.

Hostel is nice and close to the bus station!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank embly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostelecoexpeditions, Proprietário at Hostel Ecological Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2015

Dear Guest, sorry for this inconvenience about our bathroom we make all the arrangements need in our hostel I have sure when you back to Bonito in our hostel you see the difference, about the Pantanal maybe the guide not have a good day, I know this can't happen but we try to find the best guides for show the Pantanal many thanks for your help I really appreciate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We weren't entirely sure what to expect with the hostel rated in the low 70 percentile on another website. We had booked a double room with private bathroom and air-conditioning. But, it seems as though all rooms are the same - quite spacious with four beds per room with a fridge as well. At a price of R$35 per person it was good value. From a campsite, 9 blocks away (where we arrived) it was only R$7 extra for the added comfort of not camping in 38°C with humidity. That campground/hostel as well as others in the immediate area were completely full and more expensive anyway. Breakfast was reasonable and extended for us due to an early morning excursion. WiFi worked well and the kitchen, well equipped. The staff were friendly, though not all spoke English. With a bit of patience we arranged a number of activities and taxis with reception staff.

Room Tip: If you want WiFi in your room, try and get one closer to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HanamiPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

We stumbled across this pousada when looking for a hostel after getting off a bus in Bonito. We found it reasonably priced at R$35 per person for a large double room with private bathroom, fast wifi, hammock in front of the room, cable tv, AC, hot shower and good breakfast. The walls are thin between rooms, but the other rooms were mostly empty so it didn't affect us much.

The hostel is in a quiet location, an easy 10 minute walk to the centre of Bonito. We found the staff helpful once prompted but didn't try to sell their tours very hard.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heygepetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This hostel was fine. Rooms were ok but freezing. The shower was awful and ended up washing my hair in the sink. The operator of the hostel was really unhelpful. He has excellent english but mumbles under his breath and is so unclear when explaining where and what to do, was a very frustrating person to deal with. We were only staying for one full day and when we sought advice for tours in the morning he told us they had all left at 7.30 that morning; would have liked to have been told the night before if that was the case. Best thing about this place was the wi-fi in the breakfast room and the fact that it's very near the main bus station.
Also note there is another hostel called ecological but it is a HI hostel so don't confuse the two. Overall, would be a fine option to choose but I imagine there's better with more helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEMC1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

It is a quiet hostel, just a 2 minute walk from the bus station with very helpful & friendly people who try to help you the best way they can!! I would definitely stay there again!! :)

Don't book a Pantanal trip through Pantanal trekking. As an ex-tour leader I do not recommend that company at all. No life jackets, one girl actually fell of her horse. They do not explain much about the wildlife, they easily let you travel a lot longer to proceed your travels again if it is more convenient for them, very unfriendly staff who do not care about their guests.

I am sure they can recommend you a good Pantanal trip, other than Pantanal trekking (we booked it from Hostel Campo grande...)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aafke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

The two of us booked a dorm which turned out to be a quad room (no bunk beds yay!) and nobody else turned up which meant that we had an extremely cheap private room. The room was quite good although the toilet didn't flush very well at all.
My main complaint is that nobody knew anything about booking trips. I was constantly told to wait to the morning to find out which trips were available. In the end I missed out on most of the better ones. What I should have done was book evrything on the first day I arrived as being peak season most of the trips were selling out well in advance. Wish I'd known that. Wish they'd told me that .
Oh and the wi-fi didn't work once, not in 6 days.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jlw1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonito hotels
City Center
Pousada Caranda Ville
Pousada Caranda Ville
#18 of 19 in Bonito
375 reviews
Bonito Hostel
#2 of 41 in Bonito
751 reviews
City Center
Papaya Hostel
Papaya Hostel
#4 of 41 in Bonito
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sao Jorge Pub Hostel
#7 of 41 in Bonito
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Ecological Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Ecological Expeditions

Address: Rua Dois de Outubro - 978, Bonito, State of Mato Grosso do Sul 79290-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Mato Grosso do Sul > Bonito > City Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Bonito
Price Range: £17 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel Ecological Expeditions 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tours into Bonito and Pantanal with budget prices If you are in Bonito visit our hostel to compare the tours and the accommodation We waiting for you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel Ecological Expeditions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Ecological Expeditions Bonito, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing