We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Bonito”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Olho d' Agua
Ranked #5 of 39 Bonito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Friendly and helpful staff in a nice eco-lodge are their plus. Some maintenance in apartments we stayed were needed. Overall it was a nice place to stay in late July 2013. Lodges scattered among woods with some wild animals gives the place a cozy environment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernesto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

Our family of three stayed in late July. As some have pointed out, the food is indeed simple, but the overall charm of the place speaks in its favor. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms had hammocks to relax in and watch all the birds in the trees. It can get cold, especially at night, so bring an extra fleece if you're visiting in winter. Lots of water-based attractions nearby, and the town of Bonito has some nice bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CNJ_no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We visited during the cold front of the decade and were extremely cold for our whole stay. In our rooms in, the restaurant - everywhere. I suppose we can not really blame the staff for the cold weather, and they did do their best to accomodate us. They even provided a heater (although not giving off an enormous ammount of heat) for one of our room. The grounds were beautiful with lots of wildlife. The swimmingpool looked lovely, but of course it was far too cold for swimming.

Breakfast was good, but we were not impressed by the food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sildre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of June and would not recommend the pousada at this time of year. The weather was cool and wet and our room was cold, damp and dim. Even clothes that we had not worn and the bed sheets were damp. Breakfasts were good but the one evening buffet that we had was pretty awful. The wood burning stove in the dining room had been lit to provide some cheer but with the doors to the outside still being open the room was still chilly.
I am sure that in the hot summer months our perception of the room would be vastly different.

On a positive note the grounds were lovely and there was lots of bird life including toucans, red and green macaws and woodpeckers.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BerkshireTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Out of town but easy to get there as the taxi is only 15 RS$. Very nice and helpful service. Great food and fresh homemade breakfast.
The bungalows are well spread, spacious and clean but simple. No issues with hot water.
We spent New Years Eve there and the dinner was very nice and the staff put a lot of effort in organizing it

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AniaMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Just spent three days at this hotel, tucked away at the edge of the forest on the edge of Bonito. The service was warm and genuine, the food excellent, the room large and well taken care of - and the grounds invite all sorts of birds and wildlife (look by the stream for the beautiful Helmeted Manakin... It is not a place for those without a car - it is several km from the town center - but since we had transportation, this was a blessing. Evenings in Bonito can be noisy and crowded, esp. on weekends, so this hotel provided a welcome escape.

The restaurant is very good, and breakfast extensive. The internet is not consistently available throughout the property and had a few glitches, but generally worked well. Yes, most of the staff does not speak English but are always willing to help.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms in cottages are adjoining, and sound can leak through the connecting doorway. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank schaferpho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Very well equipped Pousada, a hotel really rather than a pousada, and almost a resort...nice swimming pool, good restaurant. Comfortable rooms, good size. Clean bathrooms, all working with solar-heated water. Ecological airconditioners (ok, not quite as efficient perhaps). Friendly staff.

Would return here any time.

When you made it to Bonito, you will probably have come by car...the Pousada is more than walking distance to "downtown Bonito" where you will find some restaurants. Lots of attractions around Bonito that are worth attending...really a fantastic place. You will need at least two mornings if you want to do some of the basic attractions, and mind you, most of them are in somewhat remote locations. If you go there by bus organized by the tour organizers, count on losing a lot of time for the transfers. Thus, better plan for an extra day.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mschuette4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonito hotels
City Center
Pousada Caranda Ville
Pousada Caranda Ville
#18 of 19 in Bonito
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marrua Hotel
#9 of 19 in Bonito
682 reviews
City Center
Pousada Surucua
Pousada Surucua
#1 of 19 in Bonito
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Olho d' Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Olho d' Agua

Address: Rodovia Bonito Bodoquena Km 01 | Bonito, Bonito, State of Mato Grosso do Sul 79290-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Mato Grosso do Sul > Bonito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Bonito
Price Range: £52 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olho d’Agua lodge is built in a area surrounded by woods, 3,5 Km away from Bonito downtown. The infrastructure includes restaurant, bar, living room, verandas, illuminated pool, computer and wireless internet. Travel agency, ground transfer and massage services available. 20 rooms with mini bar, T.V., telephone, air conditioning, and verandah with a hammock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Pousada Olho d' Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Olho D' Agua Bonito, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing