We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, well organised and great breakfast”
Review of Hostel Beija Flor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Beija Flor
Ranked #31 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Bonito
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hostel and especially the owner Brigitte is very welcoming, family-friendly and easygoing. The rooms are simple but clean and nice and the airconditioning (very important as it was quite hot outside) worked perfectly. Very mentionable is the breakfast with a nice selection of different fruit, cheese, meat, bread, cereals etc.
The owner is very helpful and full of good insider tipps about activities around Bonito. She collaborates with a local agency and organizes various trips in and around Bonito, as well as trips to the pantanal with a private Driver for a reasonable price.
We stayed there for 3 days and felt very comfortable and satisfied and the organised trips went smoothly and without problems.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We never really write negative reviews, but in this case we felt we needed to. Don't be fooled by the pleasantries, whilst staying here the owner 'helped' us book a trip to the pantanal which turned out to be a complete scam. So please do not be fooled when you meet her "friends". The hostel itself was dirty, the sheets still smelt of the guests before, we paid to have washing done which was left out in a rainstorm and then giving back to us dripping wet when we left (2 days later). We also often found ourselves entertaining children over breakfast, as she seems to run some kind of childminders but leaves them completely to their own devices. Which is fine but we weren't getting paid to babysit.
We have been travelling for 9 months and this is by far one of the worst places we have stayed and it was disappointing to be so knowingly done over by the owner.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Willnlaura25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We booked Hostel Beija-Flor because it was one of the cheapest options in Bonito, and we were on a tight budget. I was pleasantly surprised to find a very clean room, with decent beds and a nice new tiled bathroom - and even AC! Brigitte - the owner - really went out of her way to make us feel welcome, even invited us to tag along with her to an event for locals that was really fun for our kids (cow wrangling and a big BBQ with a dance at the end). Every morning she made a delicious breakfast for us, and we especially loved the fresh-baked cakes she made every day and fresh-squeezed OJ! It was also great that she recommended a few activities we could take our small children too, as many of the tours here are not appropriate little ones. We found the shower to be quite nice and hot with great water pressure - perhaps other reviewers just didn't know how to operate theirs (it's an electrical unit used all over South America, but not in the US). It's true the room wasn't cleaned for us every single day, but I think that's a sacrifice you have to accept with the low price of the room. One other plus - there is a great supermarket 1 block away, so you can get back from a long day in the jungle and pop on over to pick up some food. It's a bit of a trek to the main part of town but there is a bike to use and tons of cheap "moto-taxis" to call on. I highly recommend Hostel Beija-Flor to any travelers on a budget who want a relaxed environment and want to eat well!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DillyDesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I only spent one night at the hostel, but it was a good one. Brigitte was very nice and helped me to organize my trip. It was good to have someone speaking several languages and not just portuguese for once. We also had an interesting talk about her experiences as a foreigner in Brazil. The rooms are simple, but clean, have air-condition, tv and a good shower (I don't understand why others are complaining...). The breakfast is great, with a variety of fruits, juices, cakes etc. If you're looking for a good hostel for little money, I really recommend this pousada.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suicenha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Brigitte Müller,
the owner of the Hostel is a very warm and friendly woman. Before I came to Bonito she helped me very much. Also in Bonito she tried to help me very much, but to organize is not the best she can. Sorry, Brigitte. Her cakes are much better (-: The breakfast is also very good.
For tours we often had to wait very long.The location of the hostel ist ok, but it is very loud.
Craftsmen work at 7 clock early on the roof. 2 days, I had no water in the room, but this was not so hard. Really hard was the loudness: in the night until the morning party, but not only the guests, also the street....
In the room were 2 beds, nothing else. No table, no chair, nothing. I had to but everything on the floor.....Next time another hostel in Bonito.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaLinetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte M, Proprietário at Hostel Beija Flor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013
Google Translation

Hallo Clarissa Amalia
Herzlichen Dank für Deine Bewertung.
Die Zeiten von den Touren werden von der Agentur angegeben. Ich kann sie nur weitergeben. Ausserdem schaute ich, dass Du einen möglichst günstigen Transport hast, dass heisst mit anderen Reisenden die Kosten teilen konntest und da ergeben sich leider Wartezeiten.
Der Handwerker kam möglichst früh, um den Schaden zu beheben.
Was in den Strassen läuft, kann ich leider nicht beeinflussen. An diesem Wochenende waren gerade einige Feste in der Stadt. Ansonsten ist es aber wirklich ruhig hier.
Ich hoffe, das Pantanal und die anschliessende Weiterreise gingen gut?

Herzliche Grüsse
Brigitte Müller
Hostel Beija Flor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I have booked this hotel due to its cheap price, so I wasn't expecting much. The breakfast is good, with a variety of fruits, cheese, ham and two types of juices. We spent 3 nights in the hotel and the room wasn´t cleaned in any day. In fact the floor was dirt since the day we have arrived. The bed is not good, so don't spend to much time sleeping. If you plan is resting, forget this place. The shower is not good either, and the water comes very weakly. The hotel is noisy, and when people speak outside the room it is possible to listen inside the room (there is a parrot that makes lots of nise too). There is no food or bevarage service, even drinkable water you can not find. To top it of, the staff is not nice. They are not helpfull and a bit prejudice. The hostess (a swiss girl) laughed when she saw that I would share my bed with another man. To me, this attitude is unacceptable, specially from people that works with hostelling.

Room Tip: They are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thitorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: fiquei no ultimo do lado da recepçao proximo a mesa do cafe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank douglascorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonito hotels
City Center
Pousada Caranda Ville
Pousada Caranda Ville
#14 of 19 in Bonito
369 reviews
City Center
Pousada Surucua
Pousada Surucua
#1 of 19 in Bonito
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
CLH Suites Bonito
CLH Suites Bonito
#5 of 19 in Bonito
416 reviews
Bonito Hostel
#2 of 41 in Bonito
747 reviews
City Center
Pousada Muito Bonito Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Beija Flor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Beija Flor

Address: Rua Luiz da Costa Leite 1028, Bonito, State of Mato Grosso do Sul 79290-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Mato Grosso do Sul > Bonito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Bonito
Price Range: £13 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel Beija Flor is a new friendly and cosy place in Bonito. It's very familiar and offers dorms and couple rooms with private bathrooms. The perfect place for people with young spirit who look for an environment of integration, with an affordable price and safety as if they were in a hotel. The Beija Flor Hostel has a 24 hour-reception, personalized service and bilingual staff ready to provide full information on what to do in the city, where to go and how to arrive. We organize your stay with all the tours of the city and also offer trips to the South- Pantanal. We have bikes and aquatic cameras for rent and also have Wi-Fi Internet.Come and stay with us in the city with the crystal clear water and enjoy the nature! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Beija Flor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Beija Flor Bonito, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing