We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arkdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northern Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arkdale
United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We stayed in the bi-level lake view. The place not only had many rooms, but also spacious. Every room was spacious, even the hallways! We stayed with 2 other families and it never felt crowded. Loved the fact that there was laundry in the room. It was clean and the furniture was comfortable. The beach was immaculate. Great boating area, perfect for pulling skiers and tubes. Pool was nice. Towel service at the pool was appreciated. The only complaints were: The fire alarm went off several times (d/t power issues) and we went 4 hours without electricity. There were not enough gas grills available to use. It would be nice for each unit to have one! There were lines to use the ones available by the pool. There was no housekeeping service at all! I would expect at least towel exchange and garbage pick up. We had to wash our own towels in the "in room" laundry and dump our own trash. Those were really our only complaints, It was a nice place. We would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OurFamOfFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    14
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

My wife and I stayed there for our 2nd time in last 3 months and have enjoyed both visits.

This place is kind of remote and that's why we really like it. It's about 1/2 way between the dells and wisco rapids and is right on the east side Castle Rock lake. There is resturant/lounge on the premises and there is also a casino about 25 miles northwest.

We rented a lake front unit both times with the jacuzzi and fireplace and both were top notch and very nicely finished.

We hope to bring our boat and clubs up next summer.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 38_Special
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

My family have been vacationing at this resort for the last three years and have enjoyed every moment.

This resort comprises of condos that are privately owned and the resort has a few that they rent out themselves.

There is muych to do at this particular place that will suit all ages and lifestyles. We especially love to Golf, boat, water ski, relax at the pool and the beach and even engage in early morning fishing.

The fellow vacationers and staff have always been extreemly pleasant and friendly.

We usually book our condos directly through Norhtern bay, but also do a quick search on the internet and seek private owners who may be renting thier place. Either way, you can always get a great deal on a place.

If you do not own a boat, Northern Bay has two pantoon boats for rent; complete with inner-tubes for water activites. If you like fishing, you must go down by the train tracks for fishing excitement. Numerous bass and Walley there!

We do not own a condo unit, but enjoy renting one and vacationing there every year with our immediate and extended families.

  • Liked — Rooms, Numerous activites, being outside
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank UW_Badgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPLS, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2007

Great rooms, reasonable rates, PHENOMINAL golf course and great lake. A great getaway within driving distance!

  • Liked — Great golf and on the lake!
  • Disliked — had to leave...
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank llcoolnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2006

In June six of my freinds and I booked a nights stay and two days of golf and we could not have asked for a better early summer get away. The staff treated us like kings and we felt they went out of their way to mkae sure we were happy. During our round of golf on the first day the Golf Course Superintendent even came by to make sure everything was to our liking. After golf we stayed on property and had a bar b que by the pools and just relaxed. We then retired to our condo which was furnished quit nicely and watched deer feed in the rough off of our deck. The second day was as good as the first. The course was very challenging but with enough tee options that everyone in our group had a blast. I was so please that I just returned from another trip to Northern Bay Resort. The next trip will be three to four days with some fishing on Castle Rock Lake. I am telling everyone to go there now while it is still new and is the unfound gem in the state.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Gryace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 July 2006

Some friends told us about this resort and we stayed in May only to come back in July for a couple night stay. The resort is very well maintained from the landscaping to the rooms. When they built the condos you can tell that no expense was spared--they are gorgeous with quality furniture and building matierals. On top of that they are extremely spacious. You could easily sleep 6 people comfortably in a 2 bedroom as the den has french doors and a pull out couch. Get a lake view and enjoy the beautiful sunsets of Castle Rock Lake. There is a pool, tennis courts golf (replica course) and a marina. We liked having the the marina with our boat right there docked and ready to use. The becah is very nice as well.

Resort has a very nice pool area for kids and adults alike--oh and they have towel service at the pool so no need to lug the beach towels along.

Had a slight problem at check-in but it was quickly corrected--the small problem seemed big because we had a baby and two dogs though.

In any case, I think we'll visit this resort every year--a HUGE hotel type lodge with indoor waterpark is planned to open Spring 2007.

Be sure to catch a Sunset on Castle Rock Lake.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arkdale
14.3 mi away
Best Western Park Oasis Inn
14.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 4 in Mauston
70 reviews
12.0 mi away
Travelers Inn Convention Ctr
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Inn of the Pines
Inn of the Pines
#1 of 2 in Friendship
6 reviews
7.6 mi away
Adams Inn
Adams Inn
#1 of 1 in Adams
36 reviews
23.8 mi away
Chula Vista Resort
Chula Vista Resort
#41 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Bay Resort

Property: Northern Bay Resort
Address: 1844 20th Ave, Arkdale, WI 54613-9578 (Formerly Northern Bay Golf Resort & Marina)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Arkdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arkdale
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Castle Rock Lake just north of the Wisconsin Dells, The Castle Course features a replica 18 hole golf experience inspired by courses the pros play. At The Castle Course, you won't simply be playing golf, you'll be competing shot-for-shot against the most legendary holes in all of golf. You can rent or own one of our fine luxury cedar and stone condominiums, situated on the course or the lake. Bring the family for a vacation packed with excitement and entertainment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle At The Bay Hotel Arkdale
Northern Bay Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing