We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better basic accomodations in Pantanal”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campo Grande
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fazenda Pouso Alegre
Ranked #3 of 24 Campo Grande B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 August 2013

After spending two days in Pousada Rio Clarinho (as part of our 4 day, 4 night Ecoverde organized Pantanal tour) our next stop was at Pousada Allegre. As we entered the Pousada gates we saw huge emus, Jabiru storks and maybe a thousand capybaras in the surrounding lakes. This place is also a habitat for Hyacinth Macaws, with a couple of trees full of these beautiful birds! This accommodation was a step up from Rio Clarinho in terms of amenities with hooks and shelves for clothes and a double bed in the room. There was an A/C and a fan to keep us cool from the sweltering heat outside.

Our guide (from Ecoverde tours) seemed uninterested in showing us around so the two of us and a dutch couple, decided to branch of from the group and hike around on our own. This was probably the best thing we did! Next morning the four of us woke up early and set out cameras in hand. The early morning birds were a spectacular sight and we spent hours scouting for animals and photographing them. After hiking around for a bit we decided to hide in the bushes near a forest lake in the hope that we could spot animals as they came to drink water. We first spotted a cute little marmoset monkey followed by a thyra, a HUGE lizard, a fox, a capybara that came for a swim and many varieties of birds. Sitting in the mud we were a rare delicacy for the blood sucking ticks and we spent quite a while later painfully pulling these out with tweezers. The other group unfortunately did not see ANY animals and we were glad we decided to hike on our own. At night we went animal spotting in a huge open jeep (the owner took us out somewhat grudgingly!) which was dusty but a lot of fun. We saw hoards of coatis clear the road as we approached, night jars, foxes, deer, lazy capybara’s and of course the glowing eyes of the caimans in the series of small lakes lighting it up like a Christmas tree.

Food at this Pousada was much better and we ate breadfruit fries, salads that were not bland and flavored rice along with many tasty desserts. There was a chiller which was full of cold drinks at reasonable prices. Again we never got to know the staff or the owner much, which was very disappointing! As everything else in Pantanal, we thought the accommodation was expensive for what was offered.....except for the exceptional wildlife again!! After spending two days here we traveled back to Cuiaba to board our next flight to the Amazon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PSSR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

We spent our two last nights here in the Pantanal. We had read the other reviews and agree that it is a simple, authentic lodge with basic facilities.

There is a very bumpy track to get to the Pousada. Our room had three narrow, hard, single beds which was a bit disappointing, but we pushed two of them together to make a sort of double bed. Not the most comfortable beds in the Pantanal but we were very tired so we slept well! We also had a number of big cockroaches visit us on the first night, so we put the bathroom mat under the door to the room and this kept them out! The room had air conditioning as well as a fan, and we needed both as it was so hot outside, reaching 40 degrees. It was a real shame that there were no hammocks and no fan or breeze on the veranda outside the restaurant, as it was stifling hot everywhere. We had to drive a long way to get to the nearest river, but the Pousada itself has good walks and you can take a horse ride or use bicycles if you are brave!

The birds and animals were excellent. Saw a giant ant eater and a great horned owl on the first evening and a fantastic sighting of a tapir as we left on our second day. Dozens of Capybara are all over the estate, just like giant Guinea pigs!

The food was very good and the chiller is full of cold drinks at reasonable prices. The shower was good, with plenty of hot water, but there was no soap or shampoo! The internet was also broken whilst we were there. The staff are very friendly though most don't speak any English at all. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here but two days was long enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We spent 3 nights here. We had booked 4 but the trip from the Tranpantiera to the Lodge
was so grim on the (very rainy)arrival day that we cut out a day in order to ensure sufficient time if our car got bogged down. As it turned out it dried up and our fears were groundless. I was apprehensive as this lodge has no pool and my wife is not normally a great nature watcher. However she too wants to return as she had a Damascene conversion and was seduced by the natural beauty, unbelievable profundity and variety of wildlife and whole experience. It's meaningless to compare it to the urban or resort hotels we stayed in in our 23 days in Brazil as it does not set out to be a gourmet or luxury destination. But it delivers in spades what the other places cannot. The food is reasonable and plentiful, the rooms clean and adequate. Privacy is there if needed but also , unlike ordinary hotels, the other guests tend to have similar interests so one interacts more than normal.
I gather some of the other pousadas may be a tad more luxurious but also that some are
overpriced.
The owner is a courteous, charming mine of information but does not push himself or his guides
on you leaving you in charge of what you want to do, which in my case is to birdwatch. And for that experience as much as local knowledge is key. But there are so many that you knock up a first every few minutes at times. My wife particularly loved the caimans, agoutis, capybaras, foxes, etc etc. Even 4 days without a glass of vinho mattered not a jot. There's an honesty bar
and in these temperatures beer is better. Will definitely come back in Olympic year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teuchter_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We spent 4 days in Fazenda Pouso Alegre with our 9-year old daughter. The fazenda is exceptionally located in North Pantanal in the middle of an area with many different enviroments: savannah, floaded forest, dry forest, swamp. The fazenda allows you to experience both a lot of wildlife and the activity of a real fazenda with many horses that run free in the surrounding. Many animals can be very easily seen just around the fazenda: many Hyacinth Macaws, Tucanos, Caimans, Capybaras, Coatis, Deers, Monkeys, etc. and if you hike around you can discover Tapirs, Giant Anteaters, and even Jaguars. The owner, Luis, is an exceptional biologist that kindly and enthusiastically explains and shows a lot of secrets of the Pantanal.
Horse riding and boat riding can be done together with a guide from the fazenda as well as you can hike by yourself following the tracks that lead to the wildest and most remote areas.
Facilities are very nice, rooms and bathrooms are large and very clean. They have air conditioning. The food is great. The atmosphere is relaxing and really authentic.
The price was very reasonable and the best deal considering the wonderful accomodation we had.
We really look forward to coming back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lmana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

As everything in the Pantanal, this fazenda is very expensive. However, at least you get good value for your money at this place. The rooms are comfortable and food is very good and diverse. The owner is very friendly and helpful.

We booked two nights directly with the fazenda with one activity per day included (being horseback riding or a non-motorboat trip). With some advice of the owner on where to go, you can just hike yourself in the area during the rest of the time. We were actually meant to have a local guide, but no guides were available, probably due to the (busy) high season. We found hiking in the area actually a great experience, as you try to spot animals yourself instead of following a guide. For us, that was really a great experience. But we can imagine that this will depend on personal taste.

We were able to see a lot of animals (including caymen, capibara's, agouti's, coati's, monkeys and a lot of birds). Actually, the brightly-coloured macaws and toucans can be sitting in the tree just right next to your room, which makes it a real nice experience. Just the night before we arrived, some people had also seen a jaguar on a night safari, but generally they are quite rare in this area.

We arranged a driver via the fazenda to bring us there, but in the dry season you can easily drive yourself along the Transpantaneira (also with a VW Gol). If we would be able to choose again, we would definitely rent a car. Then you are able to stop whenever and whereever you like and are more independent. In addition, if you can stay a day longer, take the opportunity to drive to the end of the Transpantaneira (to Porto Jofre), as your chances of spotting a jaguar will increase dramatically. This we learnt from the other guests we met at the fazenda.

Overall, we can strongly recommend this fazenda for a few days stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed only one night in November 2011 through Brazil Nature Tours, but had a lovely experience and wished we could stay another. Further from the main road than other lodges, it is quiet and unassuming, and beautifully basic - a very relaxing and mindful experience. We are keen wildlife watchers and spent most of the days wandering around the lodge observing the wildlife, sitting on the verandah birdwatching, horse riding and driving through the plains with our guide The owners are very knowledgable and understand and care about the conservation of wildlife, not just the tourism potential. Basic but very good food, basic rooms but with comfortable beds and working showers, and good company - what else do you need? Recommended to anyone with a similar mindset.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annampf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The Pousa Alegre was a great place to explore the Pantanal. Luis and Marina were excellent hosts, and Luis is also an incredibly knowledgeable guide.

The rooms are basic, but comfortable with AC and ceiling fans. We pushed our single beds together to make a double. If you are looking for luxury this isn't the place for you. However, if you are happy with basic comforts, good food, great guides, and incredible wildlife viewing then you will love this place!

We had a pair of hug Hyacinth Macaws just outside our room. There were hundreds of caimans, capabaras, foxes, parakeets all over the place. We had rheas walk past our room while we were sitting on the porch.

Luis took us on several hikes, horseback riding, and a night drive. We saw tapirs, giant anteaters, everything you could hope for but no jaguar or anaconda. We'll just have to come back for them!

I would strongly recommend this lodge for anyone that is serious about a Pantanal experience!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campo Grande hotels
0 mi away
Parque Hotel Passo de Lontra
Parque Hotel Passo de Lontra
#19 of 25 in Campo Grande
46 reviews
0 mi away
ibis budget Campo Grande
ibis budget Campo Grande
#4 of 25 in Campo Grande
526 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Deville Prime Campo Grande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Novotel Campo Grande
Novotel Campo Grande
#5 of 25 in Campo Grande
730 reviews
0 mi away
Hauzz Hostel
Hauzz Hostel
#2 of 24 in Campo Grande
12 reviews
0 mi away
Ancora Hotel
Ancora Hotel
#2 of 73 in Campo Grande
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fazenda Pouso Alegre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fazenda Pouso Alegre

Address: Campo Grande, State of Mato Grosso do Sul, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Mato Grosso do Sul > Campo Grande
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Campo Grande
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Fazenda Pouso Alegre Campo Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing