We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a great hotel and best pizza in the world” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taua Grande Hotel e Termas de Araxa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taua Grande Hotel e Termas de Araxa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Araxa
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
“It's a great hotel and best pizza in the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

It's a great hotel, with space for recreation, a restaurant with serval options, pools, game room; It's really a great hotel ! #happy #lovepizza #instahotel #cool #veryhotel #family #we #love #this #hotel # friends #landscapebeautiful #games #lovegta #lovefood #peace

Room Tip: The good landscape
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caslini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    731
    232
    76
    45
See reviews for
1,117
383
29
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Nice place, not so well cleanned. High price for tha staying and every other service is sell appart. There is no all inclusive pack.

Excelent site viewing.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PabloCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

It's extremely disappointing leaving the comfort and amenities of your own home to stay in a place that doesn't surprise you at all. At a price of about US$ 1500 for three nights with three meals/day, beverage not included, one would expect a level of comfort, cleaning and refinement at least equivalent or superior to one's own home.

STAFF
Our disappointment started already on the check in. It took about 15 mins to the receptionist find our booking in the system. Then as we mentioned that we were leaving the hotel just after the check in because we had a personal appointment in that evening the receptionist giggled at us, and said that it was an absurd to check in and leave THAT hotel. What the well does she have to do with what I will or will not do during my stay!?

To attest the general uninstruction of the staff a huge overly sweated member of the staff approached my mother, that was occasionally with us at that time, and asked if she was a guest. As she answered that she was momentarily accompanying us the monstrous sweated attendant said that she would have to use an identifying wristband in order to walk around the lobby. He was freakly bizarre!
About the perspiration, there were other members of the staff that were swearing at drips through their faces. An awful scene that could be avoided by augmenting the number of employees and using more appropriate clothing.
Speaking of clothes, there is a lack of taste and care with the appearance of the staff members.

BED
Getting into the room we were faced with twin beds, even though in our booking we asked for a double bed. How did the staff cope with this issue? Coupled the two twin- beds together! Of course there was a gap between my wife and me in the bed. Just terrible!
Pillows were too thin and not enough in number (we asked for more two units). Blanket did not appear to be properly cleansed. Linens were OK.

ROOM
Acoustic isolation is awful. It was possible to listen people walking and chatting through the corridor and the scratchy noise of furniture being moved around in the upper floor.
Walls need new paint. Stained carpet. No cable TV.

BATHROOM
There was no window or any type of ventilation, so that smells and moisture wouldn't flow away from the room. Floor and walls tile finishing is poor.
Dirty corners and edges in the shower area. Hair over the floor. Fingerprints on the light ....... A mall's restroom is cleaner than the one next to the restaurant.

FOOD
Only a word to define it: mediocre. Eating saloons were ultra over crowded. Noisy and stunning babble and chattering of the excited and starving public was dreadful during meal times.
Menus had nothing at all of remarkable. Meats served were of lower class. Poor variety and originality of dishes and salads. Deserts were ok.
There were so many people that waiters were unable to deal with all the demands.

OTHER CONS
We have seen spider webs at many ceiling corners around the hotel, especially at the restaurant.
Payed wifi internet! US$2,50/h. That's so antique! Today we find free wifi spots anywhere!
There were a bunch of hundreds of screaming and rude kids all around the hotel.
The general public of the hotel consists of mid-upper middle class boisterous rowdy blathery people.
There is a constant feeling of mediocrity, unclassy and lack of refinement.

A FEW PROS
Thermaes and bath center is nice. Baths, massage and treatments are very good.
There are interesting Brazilian 40's and 50's decorative aspects like flooring and furniture.

CONCLUSION
We'd be in a better off situation if we'd spent this holiday at home. At least we'd have kept US$ 1500 in our bank account.
This is definitely not an option for a relaxation trip. It doesn't worth the money.

Room Tip: Send emails demanding queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DesmondandMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

Stayed one night for business. The hotel is grand - apparently, it used to be a casino back in the day. The foyer is grand - big and high ceilings. Check in was fine as was check out. Hotel location is fairly isolated - didn't seem to be anything around the area within walking distance. Rates were ok compared to rates in Belo Horinzonte and Rio.

The rooms were a good size and had a flat screen tv. Decore was dated, carpet seemed old. The bathroom had some mold by the shower and there were tiny tiny bugs crawling around - on the floor near the base boards and on the sink/counter area too.

The buffet was good and in a very grand room. A live band (two dudes playing guitar) was playing while we ate. There's a terrace and a pool and a games room with pool tables.

This probably was one of the better hotels in Araxa so I can't complain too much but the bugs kinda did it in for me there (given the price we paid and that I was there for business - me backpacking would result in different expectations of course).

Overall, hotel has a lot of potential to be a cool experience if it wasn't for the bugs!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gung_ho_in_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Araxa hotels
Fenix Hotel Araxa
#4 of 7 in Araxa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Cidade
Hotel Cidade
#1 of 3 in Araxa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Pousada Araxa
#5 of 27 in Araxa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taua Grande Hotel e Termas de Araxa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taua Grande Hotel e Termas de Araxa

Property: Taua Grande Hotel e Termas de Araxa
Address: Rua Aguas do Araxa, Araxa, State of Minas Gerais, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Araxa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Araxa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taua Grande Hotel e Termas de Araxa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tauá Grande Hotel e Termas de Araxá is a traditional hotel at a city in the state of Minas Gerais, Araxá, Brazil. The complex was build by the president of Brazil at 1944, Getúlio Vargas. It is an exuberant building, with an hispanic colonial style architecture. The gardens around the hotel were projected by the famous landscaper Burle Max, who had also worked with Oscar Niemeyer in many other works. The complex also has a lake and a great hiking trail through the grove of the property. Since 1944 this luxurious hotel gave to his visitors an unforgettable experience, so much by his glorious building, as the famous spa, offering guests special baths and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Taua Grande Hotel e Termas de Araxa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taua Grande Hotel e Termas De Araxa Minas Gerais, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing