We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Reasonably Priced and Great Staff Though Location Dicey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sao Bento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sao Bento
Ranked #50 of 118 Hotels in Belo Horizonte
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reasonably Priced and Great Staff Though Location Dicey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here on a business conference, local colleague had picked Hotel. Very nice and accommodating staff (Daniel at front desk was very service and guest oriented). U.S. travelers will find it a bit Spartan but it was clean and comfortable (make sure you ask for a room in the back to avoid street noise). Biggest problem is location, it is right in city center with no real restaurants within walking distance. Rate was reasonable (+/- $50 U.S.). I would not recommend this hotel if you do not speak Portuguese and are uncomfortable in rougher city centers.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    112
    53
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
28
52
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comblain-au-Pont, Belgium
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

...and that is about it... It is a decent though standard hotel in a dodgy neighborhood. I don't know where they got the picture from, as the hotel is just in a busy side street of the bus station. no church even closeby!

Do bring your earplugs, and try to get some sleep, as it can get noisy! the price is good; the staff is helpful and service is good, so thats where the third dot comes in ;-)

Room Tip: try to ask for a quiet room ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikskio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

I chose this hotel since I was looking for a cheap overnight place in close proximity to the bus station. The rooms are simple and could do with some redecoration but they are very clean and the beds are comfortable. Breakfast could be improved. Especially the water downed juices are barely drinkable.
This is certainly no place to stay several days but if offered exactly what I expected.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whereintheworldisgpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

We needed a one night stay close to the bus station so we could get a bus to the airport (far out of town) in the AM. The electric went out for about an hour and it may have been the city, not just the hotel. Odd to be in a large hotel with the electric off. Really hope no one was in elevator. We waited it out in bed while others milled in the hallway. The staff was helpful in directing us to a nearby fun shopping mall where we had a very good dinner. The neighborhood is sketchy but the people there are more beggars than criminals. It is like the neighborhood near the bus station in most US cities. We walked to the hotel from the bus station after touring beautiful Ouro Preto and arriving in BH by bus. The hotel is completely safe and clean, although very basic accomodation. The price is right.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

I stayed her for a couple of nights in August and have only good things to say about this hotel. It is located close to Belo Horizonte's main bus station and is in a reasonably safe neighborhood. The owner--Anthony Luiz--was extremely helpful and arranged a car & driver for me so that I could visit the churches of Sabara as well as make a stop at Congonhas before being dropped off at Ouro Preto.

The rooms are comfortable with all modern appliances. I asked for a quiet room and got one.
The breakfast was quite good.

Belo Horizonte is the gateway to all the beautiful colonial towns and churches of Minas Gerais.
You should definitely visit Ouro Preto, Mariana, Sao Joao del Rei, Tiradentes, and Congonhas. Spend a morning at Sabara which is a suburb of Belo Horizonte.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank tunai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

The location of this place is definetly its best attribute - it is an easy 5 minute walk from the bus station. Rooms and lobby are spacious, if a bit drab. For the price, though, value is decent. Breakfast is really quite good with a wide selection.

On the down side, you need to pay for and obtain a password from the front desk for internet. Definetly get a room facing the courtyard, as external rooms can be a bit noisy.

Very few of the hotel's staff members speak english, so if this is a must, it's probably not the place for you. They do have a couple of staff members with limited English skills (they may or may not be on duty at a given time), so it is possbile to communicate with the hotel via e-mail.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonymous1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

Staff: only some of them could speak English. But that is normal in Brazil. The hotel owner is very helpful. Room: I have been staying there several nights and in several room type. Some rooms are very new, some are old. Depending on the location of the room, some are loud, some are quite. So, you have to ask for the right one. Breakfast: despite of different room types, the bf – buffet will be the same, typical Brazilian breakfast. And on WE, there will provide also pao de queijo, directly delivered from the bakery nearby. Location: in the middle of the city, nearby the main bus station of BH. Some ppl might be worry about the area. I was very careful, so felt well there. Price: very reasonable. All in all: I really like this hotel. I suppose when I go back to BH, I will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiovanniBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belo Horizonte hotels
Ibis budget Belo Horizonte Afons...
#26 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
City Center
Sul America Palace Hotel
Sul America Palace Hotel
#93 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Guanabara Hotel
#113 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Belo Horizonte Liberdade
#31 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Brasil Palace Hotel
#96 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Lourdes
Ibis Budget Belo Horizonte Minascentro
Ibis Budget Belo Horizonte Minas...
#44 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sao Bento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sao Bento

Property: Hotel Sao Bento
Address: 438 Rua dos Guaranis | Centro (Downtown), Belo Horizonte, State of Minas Gerais 30120-040, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Belo Horizonte > City Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Belo Horizonte
#26 Business Hotel in Belo Horizonte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sao Bento 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer budget rates, comfort and convenient location. One of the best value hotels in Belo Horizonte, recommended by many international guides. Furthermore we provide free wifi internet, laundry service (uppon fair prices). Breakfast with more than 35 items and tributes/taxes are included on daily rates. HOTEL SAO BENTO is continually investing in our clients satisfaction through remodelings and improvements. We have De Luxe rooms with air conditioner, minibar, 22" to 27" LCD cable TV (including internationals channels), direct dial phone, digital safety box, AM-FM radio, indoor decoration, renoved bathroom with granite finish, hair dryer. Other cheaper types of rooms have some or almost all facilities above. Some rooms have also acoustic door and window, modern electronic lock (RFID 'tech') and microwave owen too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sao Bento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sao Bento Belo Horizonte, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing